December 20, 2014 | 912 users online

Mascara - Chanel - Mascara Exceptionnel



image 0

rated 3.6(246 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.6
  • 54% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.1
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 10/15/2008 12:31:00 AM More reviews by niwa

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

After using this mascara for 1 wk, I can claim it to be one of the best I've used. It took me about 5 applications to master the brush and also to dry up the solution as it was too wet initially. Now that i can use it properly, I must admit it to be quite simple. I literally comb my lashes, as a rotate it outwards. One coat only. The result is super defined, lengthened and voluminous lashes with no clumping or flaking in sight! BTW my lashes are naturally short, thick and very curly. So it's definitely good for short lashes. It will definitely be on rotation with Diorshow - standard, blackout and unlimited and Lancome Definicils.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 10/14/2008 9:35:00 AM More reviews by SuzyCutie

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Red, Curly, Fine Eyes: Green

I was got this as a sample, and I have to say buying the full size would not be worth the price tag. I like the way it coats and seems to grab every little lash, but the brush is a bit tricky to get used to and has a tendency to smudge. As far as length and volume, it really delivers, but not enough to make me want to cough up over $25 for it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 10/13/2008 8:11:00 PM More reviews by SamanthaCB

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I think the brush just did not work for me.

Pros: The most volume I've ever gotten from any mascara. Ever; Pretty Amazing. It can sort of make a curl, but this does not work so well, it can hold a curl though (with primer). Also, it doesn't smudge and was a subtle black. So it does live up to the name, on the box it says volume + curl and it does do that.

Cons: Not much lengthening at all for me. It also clumps up a little while applying, so it had to be combed out afterward. I also experienced flaking within a few hours after putting it on. Although the brush is slightly tapered, it was still difficult to coat the inner corner lashes because in order for it to come out well it, the brush has to be rotated and it wasn't working so well for those corner lashes.

Overall: I wasn't too pleased with the results. It was bearable but not the best. It was definitely not worth $28.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/13/2008 1:38:00 PM More reviews by lizw217

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I bought this on a whim and I LOVE It. I love the want, it's a little comb looking wand and it works. The mascara does not flake and when I use it I don't need an eyelash curler.
Only thing is it's expensive.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 10/12/2008 7:07:00 PM More reviews by Scout12

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Since Chanel's mascara Inimitable has become a strong favourite of mine I had high hopes for this one. Especially if it could live up to the promises of making lashes more curled as well as adding both volume and lengh. usually that is a bit too extravagant a promise to work, but we never give up hope, do we...;)

But this one is to me at least a bit of a disappointment. It does curl well and it gives a lot of volume. But the stayingpower is really so so, and it does both smudge and flake on me after a few hours... And considering that most mascaras launched today usually perform well when it comes to that department - I simply don't find smudging and flaking acceptable even though the result right after application looks good...

I also have another problem with this mascara. And that is the innovative brush... I like the description of it and the idea of it, but it just doesn't work for me... The brush is simply too big and the bristles are just too sparse for my taste resulting in a brush that picks up way too much color from the tube making it very hard to avoid color from getting all over the place and not just on your lashes...

Sometimes I have also experienced some clumping with this mascara, so it has not become a favourite of mine as you can tell... However apart from these things, that I happen not to like, the result on your lashes, if long hours are not called for, then this mascara will give you a set of nice looking lashes.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/9/2008 11:06:00 AM More reviews by PunkGlamQueen

Age: 44-55 Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I was an Allure tester for this product as well, and was looking forward to see if this could compare with Rimmel Magnifeyes as so far this one has been the best for me (and you can't beat the price -- frequently to be had at "BOGO" sales, or inexpensive enough at regular price.) My main problem has always been getting my lashes to curl and holding the curl. Rimmel was great in that dept. and better for me than the Diorshow I was using previously, so I was curious to try a high-end version again. In addition, my lashes seem shorter and sparser than in previous years so I also look for volume and lengthening.

I'm now completely hooked on the Chanel Mascara Exceptionnel! My lashes are so straight they point downwards slightly and even when using a curler the curl rarely lasted beyond a few hours. Magnifeyes made my lashes curled pretty much all day, but Mascara Exceptionnel makes the curl last until I take it off! As an example; I fell asleep one night on the sofa, forgetting to remove my makeup. When I went to remove my makeup in the morning, I noted that my lashes were *still* curled and as perfect as when I had first applied! No torture device lash curlers needed! The brush not only lengthens and gives me volume, but creates a fabulous curl that makes my lashes look like I'm wearing a set of false lashes!

My main regret is the price :( I hate spending so much on such a disposable cosmetic item, but I will spring for it as the effect on me is remarkable, even when doing just one light coat! Lastly, this stuff stays put on me, no flaking or running, but it is also a little harder to remove than other brands. However, for me, the pros far outweigh the cons, and I will be purchasing a full sized tube soon as my sample runs out!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 10/7/2008 1:00:00 PM More reviews by siouxie

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

I'm an Allure Beauty Advisor and tested this product for Allure. After reading reviews here, I see maybe you need to use "mascara primer" first? Considering the very high price of this product, I think that is crazy.

Yeah, it was very black very thick - would be great for night time. But product applied too thickly for my take and it took a lot of lash separating and clump removal on my part.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 10/7/2008 2:45:00 AM More reviews by jimmychoordam

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Other Eyes: Black

Hi all,

This is my story. I bought Exceptionnel, used it and put it away because it was clumpy I couldn't handle it properly and was therefore disappointed in the product. I left it for about a week or two then had an appointment with a Chanel makeup artist which i had booked before. I have a few Ombre D'Eau and wanted some more advice.

In that half an hour session I then told him I bought the Exceptionnel and that I wasn't using it because the result was so disappointing. He showed me how to use it to proper way and I haven't looked back since. I have long black lashes but they don't curl.

My routine now: I use the mascara base by Chanel leave it to dry and then use Exceptionnel. The result: NO clumping, seperated lashes, long, NO smudging AND curly in the most sophisticated yet sexy looking way.

Also have a look at the website www.chanel.com and click on Makeup on the right side under the header New click on Exceptionnel. A new window opens with Application Technique and Private Lessons. Trust me, for those who have bought and left it in the drawer like I did, take it out and apply it the correct way! You won't be sorry.

No more lashcomb and no more smudging on the upper lid whilst applying the mascara. Result: stunning! Enjoy ladies.

All the best xxx

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 10/6/2008 10:28:00 PM More reviews by longgoodnight04

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

UGH! For a chanel mascara I have much higher expectations! The brush first of all...just weird and awkward to work with. Second of all it is the most clumpy mascara ever. It just turns my lashes into hard crusty clumps. No good.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/3/2008 11:34:00 AM More reviews by july4th1982

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Ever heard the saying "more bang for buck"? This is soooo true with this product. Yes, I admit, $28 for mascara is definitely expensive, but it's so worth it. When you use it for the first time, you sort of have to get used to the brush and the way it's supposed to be used. But the results are worth it. First of all, 1-2 applications are completely sufficient to have an AMAZING set of almost false looking lashes.
I have to admit, about 4 months ago I started using Revitalash. Trust me, I was everything else but gifted in the lash department, I really needed it. And my lashes post-revitalash treatment, in combination with the Chanel Exceptionnel- WOW. I actually get stopped now, and asked if my lashes are real! The mascara curls, volumizes, never clumps, and lenghtens. And not only if your lashes aren't your best feature. This is really woth the money!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No