July 22, 2014 | 1908 users online

Treatments - Biotin (All brands)

rated 3.5(218 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.5
  • 64% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.9
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 on 8/28/2010 5:34:00 AM More reviews by schmath

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

My hair is the slowest growing in the world. It maybe grows an inch per year. That being said, I have very long hair (to my waist) and believe me it took years to grow out. I usually take good care of the ends because I dont want to cut my hair, knowing how long it will take to get back, but this summer I was in the woods at a camp and was not able to properly take care of it so it got pretty damaged. My glorious plan to save my hair was to start taking Biotin to grow it out a little so I could cut the damaged ends off without losing alot of length.
Now at the same time I have extremely sensitive, very acne-prone skin. I had just gotten off a year cycle of retin-a, benzaclin, and antibiotics that just tore up sensitive skin. About 3 months after going off that and using ACV and 10% bp spot treatment I had clear skin for the first time in 8 years and boy did that make a huge difference in my life- I didnt wear makeup for 2 months for the first time since I was 15 (I'm now 22). It was amazing. But then all of the sudden I had a bad breakout of small pimples that just persisted forever- I was devastated. I thought my acne was back for good and I would have to go on medication again and there was no hope after all. I tried really hard to find out what the source could be, but none of my experiments pinpointed anything until I thought of when I started taking Biotin, the same time I broke out. I immediately jumped here on MUA and found these reviews, and everything seemed to point to Biotin as the culprit. I am so relieved that I know that now, and I regret not checking MUA before i purchased it, its strange because I almost always check here before I buy anything. So i'll never take biotin again as far as I know and hopefully I will clear up soon. Will Update!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 7/7/2010 4:18:00 PM More reviews by RedNailz

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I took a multivitamin with biotin, plus a separate supplement. It is absolutely true that my hair grew more quickly and so did my nails. My nails were harder...but brittle, so they would break just as they grew past my fingertips. Not a big deal, because they grew back quickly, but it was still inconvenient. My hair still broke, just as it always has. I did get a few nasty huge pimples, but I can't blame that entirely on the biotin because my skin was starting to have issues when I began taking the supplement, and it takes a while to have an effect.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 6/26/2010 3:10:00 PM More reviews by Banjos

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I did not connect my increased acne with biotin until I started reading these reviews. Biotin is of the B-vitamin family and who would think it could influence acne but apparently it can. Biotin did improve my nails and helped my frequently shedding hair but I am going to stop it to see if my skin improves. I will update on this. So I may or may not purchase again. It is worth a try for hair and nails if your skin is not affected negatively.
Update: it has been 12 days since I stopped biotin and my acne is better. Too soon to give a definitive opinion, though. I will update at a later time with more informaton.
EDIT II: I went back on biotin (months later) and my acne flared up again so I am definitely leaning toward biotin being the cause.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/26/2010 2:18:00 PM More reviews by PinkFrosting27

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Green

I take Nature's Bounty 5000 super potency biotin. They used to be large pills but are now alot smaller, it's much much easier to take them now lol! Anyways I noticed a huge difference in my hair after 1 bottle(60 pills/60 days) so I purchased another bottle. After the next 60 days my hair had honestly grown about a good 6 inches, it was thicker and healthier and was just sooo nice to actually see results! My nails also grew faster and were stronger, that change only took about 2 weeks to notice. I quit taking them(this was a year ago) because I was happy with my hairs longer length then. I just started taking them again, this time I bought 2 bottles at once and plan to do another 4months and stop again since I want my hair even longer now! I still blowdryed and flatironed my hair the same as I always did while taking them too. They def were the reason my hair grew so much! I also would rec taking them in the summer, since some say hair grows faster in the summer months.

Seriously the best beauty buy I've ever made! :)

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/15/2010 2:45:00 PM More reviews by pinkdaisylove

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I really love this vitamin! I noticed my hair was growing out better and my nails were as well. It took a little over a month for my results.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/15/2010 2:38:00 PM More reviews by debragail

Age: 44-55 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I started taking 5,000 mcgs of biotin years ago because my hair was so thin. My beautician always said I had the same amount of hairs as everyone else, but the strands were much thinner. I went to a specialist in hopes that there was something I could do and he recommended biotin. He said I would know in about 6 mos. if it would work or not-NOTHING happened. Then I was sentenced to takng low-doses of methotrexate, a chemo for my RA and my hair just got pathetic-it was so wispy and I had so many bald spots. I told my rheumatologist and he prescribed 5 mgs of folic acid, which is as high a dose as anyone can take and FINALLY I got the results people were raving about with biotin. I still take the biotin, and I do not recommend huge megadoses of folic acid for anyone just wanting to grow hair. But for those of you who may be facing hair loss from methotrexate, you might want to check with your doctor about upping your folic. There are ridges across my nails from when I started taking the folic, they are in MUCH better shape, & NO bald spots!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/15/2010 2:10:00 PM More reviews by jelxxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

Makes my hair and nails grow faster and stronger. Wonderful stuff! I think that it is good for skin too. I used to bite my nails, so I got acrylics. That really damaged my nail beds. Now my nails are much thicker, so I don't even want to bite them. I also used to be addicted to scissors in that I would cut my hair short all the time. I am now growing it out after I have bleached it into oblivion, but I still get compliments about how good my hair looks. I blame this stuff :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/15/2010 1:07:00 PM More reviews by jolenelovesmakeup

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

An essential for me everyday! I love biotin and take 5000 mcgs daily for about a year now. My original purpose in taking this was to restore my nails after years of abuse with artificial tips. My nails have seen a great improvement in both growth and strength. I must say that it also benefits my hair too. Even my hairdresser has commented on the great condition of my hair now. I get highlights and my hair broke easily in the past, but with the biotin I see breakage much less frequently and I love how fast it grows. Also, I have never had a problem with breakouts.

Overall, love this product!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 6/12/2010 9:48:00 PM More reviews by mdbutee

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have been using this for about 6 weeks now and I have started to notice some significant changes in my hair and nails. I take two tabs once or twice daily. No break outs yet. I will continue to use. My hair was seriously shedding but now it is getting thicker and my beautician even noted how fast my hair has grown. My nails are much stronger too. A cheap, easy effective beauty aid!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/12/2010 12:31:00 AM More reviews by sweetbabylace

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

Taking 5 mg/day (pretty high dose)... I got my hair thickness back after abusing my body by changing bcp in too short a period of time(caused shedding, and never got full density back until now). Now I have my thick mane of hair again... plus, it is growing at a much faster rate as well. My nails are also growing faster. IT DOES WORK. It was effective for me, and my hairdresser even commented on how fast my hair is growing now. It took a full 2 months to notice a distance, but guess what?

Breakouts from hell as a result! I gave it a 3 b/c I know it works SO WELL and doesn't cause breakouts in everybody. It caused painful, itchy chin/jawline and back acne on me! Dreadful! I have always been somewhat breakout prone, but have been able to control it and never had it flare up like this!!!!! Acne from biotin cannot be treated no matter what you do! Proceed with caution...
UPDATE: Well, I stopped taking it for months and began again taking it only every other day. No acne this time! Strange... I switched from the vitaminshoppe brand to another brand that has a blend of 5mg of biotin+ other b's as well. My growth rate is starting to pick up, but not quite as much as before. I'm happy so far, though! If ur having acne from biotin, I suggest lay off for a few weeks then pick it back up to every other day. Drink tons of water when you take biotin!!!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No