April 17, 2014 | 1431 users online

Pressed Powders - E.L.F. - Clarifying Pressed Powder



image 0image 1

rated 3.2(190 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.2
  • 56% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 2.6
  • Price: $

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 on 8/21/2007 12:48:00 PM More reviews by spiceandsugar

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have to say, I have used and liked several E.L.F. lip glosses and blushes, but this stuff is worthy of nothing but the trash can. I bought the medium shade. This is the cakiest, thickest, most unflattering powder I have ever used. It makes your complexion completely dull and dead looking! Once you get closer to the bottom of the compact, it's like a lot of the pigment is at the bottom. I went to apply the powder with the useless applicator that they give you, and it left some blackish streaks on my face. I thought maybe a piece of mascara had gotten on the applicator, but sure enough a few days later, it happened again. The pigment breaks down in their products. It happened with the concealer as well that was a disgusting orange color, and then started to separate in the container. Sometimes you really do get what you pay for. Yes this is only a buck, but it isn't worth even that much! There are some things you just have to pay more money for, and I think a beautiful complexion is one of them!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 7/25/2007 10:56:00 PM More reviews by solangehan

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

YUCK. Makes me even oilier and the color darkens to a very unflattering shade of brown and yellow. Even if it is $1, it's so not worth it. Other ELF products such as the lipsticks and glosses are a safer bet.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/1/2007 12:30:00 PM More reviews by rems

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I LOVE this powder. I have medium pores and it makes them semi-invisible. And it covers all of my redness and oilyness. My skin is acne prone and this prodect didnt make me bread out at all. Plus its cheap!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/27/2007 12:52:00 AM More reviews by amacher24

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

A good decent powder. Doesn't cause anymore breakouts, seems to make my pores seems smaller, and has good coverage. Plus it's cheap!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/13/2007 1:20:00 AM More reviews by argh05052006

Age: 19-24 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

This is by far one of the best powder I've ever used! I was really doubtful at first because it was only a dollar, but I bought it anyway. Unlike some of the other reviewers here, this powder didn't make me breakout or make my face orange. My face has a nice tan after using it, so it's perfect for the summers!! I'll definitely continue to buy this in the future.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/7/2007 2:44:00 PM More reviews by purplesparkle

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I bought this in Tone 2 and the color works well for me. Can't beat the price! The packaging isn't the greatest (the puff doesn't fit into the compact); however, I prefer to apply with a brush anyway.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 4/28/2007 10:34:00 AM More reviews by Terresa

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Although this won't be my "everyday" powder, I do plan to keep it in my bag for touch-ups when I have rubbed the foundation off of my nose. It has more coverage than most pressed powders I've used, and sometimes that's a good thing. The ingredients aren't great, so I don't know how they call it "clarifying," but as little as I plan to use it, that doesn't bother me. It's just a dollar, and if you're not prone to breakouts, it's a handy little size to take along with you. I got the "tone 1;" I'm a Stila B, MAC NC20, Px Cream, Alima N-2 and the color seems just right. The scent of the product isn't bad, although I don't understand why it needs to be scented. Not a bad product, but my expectations weren't too high.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 4/18/2007 9:19:00 AM More reviews by Pbbunnie

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I really can't say if it does anything for my skin. You can't use the pad that comes with it to apply it, or it'll turn out badly. I have tone 2, and it is...very orange. So what I do (once in awhile) i put my regular powder on than with a fondation brush* very lightly dust this over my face. it will give you a little color (brownish) but if add even just a little too much, you'll look like you've been using sunless tanners..... Worth a $1... but i still wouldn't buy it again

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/3/2007 7:18:00 PM More reviews by BSM7305

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Strangely, this is the only powder I have found that I can wear on low-makeup days in place of foundation--it goes on smoothly and has just the right amount of coverage. I tried Paula's Choice and Clinique products that claimed they could be worn in place of foundation--but neither could compare to this $1-buck treasure!! Worth a place in my makeup box.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/4/2006 8:33:00 AM More reviews by CronFest

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I agreetha tthe puff is useless, this must be applied with a brush, it covers my shine nicely--no break outs and the color looks good on me I use tone 1. Best as a finishing powder to "set" the rest of your makeup. I use theElf face brush and it works well. Two bucks total!

Is this review helpful? Yes No