Philosophy Hope in a Jar - for all skin types

2.8

1700 reviews

38% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water (Aqua), Lauryl Lactate, Behenic Acid, behenoxy Dimethicone, Glyceryl stearate Se, Glycerin, Behenyl Alcohol, Pentaerythrityl Tetracaprylate/Tetracaprate, Cyclopentasiloxane, Tocopheryl Acetate, Benzyl Alcohol, Retinyl Palmitate, Cyclohexasiloxane, Stearic Acid, Panthenol, Beta Glucan, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Xanthan Gum, Triethanolamine, Propylene Glycol, Geraniol, Limonene, Linalool, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Diazolidinyl Urea


on 3/19/2004 12:36:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love this. I NEVER buy the same thing twice and have gone back 3 times for this one. No greasiness, but completely moisturizing. My skin looks great.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 3/17/2004 1:57:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I hated this product- tried it a while back and actually gave it away promptly. The smell was terrible and it did not sink into the skin well at all. So many moisturizers offer great treatment benefits and have a nice texture and scent- why use this one?


on 3/17/2004 9:09:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I love this product. Since receiving it for Christmas, it has become my staple moisturizer. I use it in conjunction with Philosophy's Purity cleanser and my self is virtually flawless. It is veyr thick and after I'm done using it, my skin feel like it has taken a huge gulp of water.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/11/2004 1:41:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Philosophy's skin care products are truly disappointing (although I love their body care). First, this has lactic acid and AHA's. This was very gentle though. The texture of this cream is like a light soufle. I have dry skin and this didn't moisturize enough. Also, this has a noticable medicine scent that I couldn't stand. I'll stick to my Darphin Arovita C cream!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I am using this over Help Me and my skin is looking pretty good. Poors look a bit smaller. I have dry skin so I also bought the hydrate kit which includes the dry sensitive skin moisturizer by philosophy and I find that when I use that one my poors look bigger and I feel like I have thick cream on my face. This one does the job better its just right. Two thumbs up.


on 2/28/2004 7:49:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Other, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

O.K. got this disappointing moisturizer along with the purity cleanser. What is it with the smell? can't stand it! and where is the glow that was promised?
the texture is that of whipped cream, and just like glob of fat, it just lays there, i mean i could REALLY feel it on my face and it wasn't a nice sensation--i just had to go wash it off. I had high expectations with this "pharmaceutical" line, but alas, my skin hates it.


on 2/25/2004 7:01:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I really dont like this cream!! It leave my face greasy even I am very dry skin type :(
Fortunately it was a sample i got before going to purchase.


on 2/21/2004 1:18:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I got this as a sample and I was excited to try it. I washed my face, put on the product and thought "okay, we'll see how it works" and went to bed. As I was crawling into bed I wondered if my husband had gas or if I'd forgotten to change the diaper pail. I smelled my fingers and realized "Ewww!" it was the product. On top of that, my skin looked and felt no different than if I'd done nothing. I was surprised to have such a bad product from Philosophy.


on 2/20/2004 4:14:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I hesitated to try this at first. After pondering, I decided to get it. I got this one in a Starter kit.
I have to admit I love this moisturizer so much. It seems to suck up all the oil my T zone and give me the sheen all over my face. it doesn't overly oily. I just love my skin after applying this on. continued >>


on 2/17/2004 3:10:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I'm in total agreement with Joanne on this one. I could have written her review because we seem to have the same skin type, and we had exactly the same reaction to this cream. I think it smells like a soured product, possibly dairy...sour cream gone bad. Buttermilk turning rancid? And then my face broke out too, and I don't usually have break outs. It most certainly does not make my skin look "make up optional" and there is no rosey glow from using these products (I have "purity made simple" and the eye lip cream too...I like the eye/lip cream. It has no odor and is nice and thick.). I should probably post "Hopeless in a Jar" as a swap item soon.


Back to Top