October 26, 2014 | 1581 users online

Moisturizers - Philosophy - Hope in a Jar - for all skin types



image 0image 1

rated 2.8(1669 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 2.8
  • 39% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.0
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 12/30/2003 6:03:00 PM More reviews by Kristie999

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I don't really notice a smell like everyone says. It has a nice whipped feeling on my skin. It is a great moisturizer and does the job. I've gotten 2 half size samples from ordering stuff from Sephora. I will probably buy the full size when I run out. Update: Have been using this for a few weeks now and I really like it. It may be me, but I think my skin is looking better and better! This may be my HG Moisturizer.UPDATE:
I still like this, but I have to say that it DOES smell like a wet dog. I can only use this during the day with makeup because the smell is icky. I do still love the texture and the overall affect it has on my skin. I will buy again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 12/22/2003 9:42:00 PM More reviews by aiyahbee

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Despite how nice my skin looked after putting this on, I couldn't stand the smell. Yuck.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/16/2003 7:22:00 PM More reviews by ciao_bella

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I love this stuff! I will never again use another moisturizer. I love the Purity Made Simple and thought I'd venture out and try other products; I have not been disappointed! I have seen an improvement in my skin since I've started using Philosophy products .. and my skin is now "makeup optional"!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/16/2003 5:00:00 AM More reviews by viciousviolet

Age: 30-35 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I couldn't care less about the scent of this product. It works. It works wonderfully. I have been using it for almost two months, and I will never use another eye cream. The fine lines around my eyes are completely gone, and it works wonders for making me seem bright and alert when I haven't had a full night's sleep. Just recently I've begun using it on my lips at night, and my lips feel softer and fuller. Hope in a Jar is worth every dime. I love this stuff!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/14/2003 5:00:00 AM More reviews by amswtr

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

I got a sample of this along with the Real Purity cleanser. At first when I used the moisturizer right after the cleaner I noticed it didn't soak in very well. I was dissapointed in it at first and the smell is god awful. I swear it smells just like a nasty wet dog but the smell does fade away thank god. Anyway I took a nap and when I woke up I looked in the mirror and I was amazed. My skin looks poreless and smooth. I have a lot of redness and it's gone! I look like I have soft silky baby skin! I'm so excited about this brand now that I plan on ordering a skincare set. This stuff did wonders for my skin, I don't care if it smells like a wet dog, i'll put up with it as long as my skin looks good. No one's going to smell my face anyway so it's all good.

UPDATE: I've been using the Philosophy Jump Starters kit now for almost a month and I can honestly say that my skin has improved. The redness I had has been reduced and no more flaky patches. This is definitely a good set for me. I'm so glad I tried it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 12/13/2003 1:01:00 AM More reviews by HOTSPOT423

Age: 19-24 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

Everyone is right about the smell. I recieved a sample first in a MAC container and assumed it was the container that made the smell. Its a not so nice mix of lavendar and plastic smell. Even so, a top notch makeup artist that works for ANOTHER high-end company recommended I use this product rather than his own brand. I'm still searching for a miracle!!!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 12/10/2003 4:12:00 PM More reviews by Saylavie

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

After hearing all the hype from QVC and Oprah, I ordered this I received Hope in a Jar as part of a QVC TSV. A little while after putting it on, I started smelling a really foul odor. At first I thought it was my perfume, but then I smelled my hands and realized it was the moisturizer. UGH!! It stinks to high heaven. I don't understand what all the hoopla is about over this stuff. It's an ok moisturizer, but it's not worth the $35 cost or the offensive scent! I've really come to believe that there is too much hype over Philosphy's products and they aren't anything special - just expensive.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 12/7/2003 1:44:00 PM More reviews by iluvmakeup41889

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Ughh This product was absolutley horrible! The scent made me gag so bad that i had to immediatley wash off my face!!! It smells like vomit and orange peels..eww~!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 12/6/2003 11:58:00 PM More reviews by sashka

Age: 19-24 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I don't understand how they can sell a cosmetic that smells this bad?

unfortunately, I couldn't stand the smell so I don't know how effective this is as a face moisturizer.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 12/6/2003 2:35:00 PM More reviews by stressedout

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I have to agree about the smell - it's really bad and the oil slick factor is way too much for me. Shiny face is unacceptable and this is all the cream did for me. One of philosophy's worst!

Is this review helpful? Yes No