October 26, 2014 | 1529 users online

Primer/ Corrector - Smashbox - Photo Finish Light

rated 3.4(414 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.4
  • 54% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 2/11/2011 4:46:00 PM More reviews by MelissaH35

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I was a bit sceptical about trying this primer as not alot of people give it a good review..so glad i tried it!! I love this primer!! So light and glides on so smooth but makes my make up last all day!! I use estee lauder double wear and it makes it look flawless..so impressed the only thing i would say is that it is a bit pricey however a tiny little sample pot loasted me about 2 weeks and could have lasted longer if I hadnt used it showing my friends how amazing this is! love love love

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/8/2011 12:22:00 PM More reviews by nikkohli

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse Eyes: Green

I used the regular smashboz primer for a long time and finally moved on to the light version. I like it much better. It feels lighter and less greasy. This combined with my Mat Velvet gives me a smooth, oil free appearance for 8+ hours. I only need to blot once during the day.

The one downside is the price....I am still on the hunt for an HG primer that isn't close to $40! A little does go a long way though--the sample bottle costs half as much and has lasted me more than a month.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/6/2011 10:23:00 AM More reviews by Hyt831

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

Good primer!! The feel of this product is so smooth and silky that its unbelieveable and it dries out matte. which is what pretty much disappointed me, a primer that dries out so matte and smooth on my face that doesnt hold up the oil control! :( I had to blot my face after 2-3 hours, which isnt as bad, thats why I gave it a 4. the packing looks great and feels great but cheap at the same time :/ but it works well. the only that that bothers me is that whatever that was left at the end of the opening of the pump becomes very soild, and it gets mixed into the rest of the product, which makes it blend horribly; but other than that, the primer it self blends very well! :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/4/2011 7:58:00 PM More reviews by athena_xxx

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is my HG for primers...truly amazing. It creates a soft, flawless canvas to put makeup on. It really does fill in the lines. It's a bit pricey but you really don't have to use that much at all to get your whole face. I've also noticed that my skin has looked better and been softer since I started using it....maybe its the vitamins in it?? Either way I absolutely love this product and will definitely be buying it again

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/26/2011 7:14:00 PM More reviews by mistylovesnikras

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I adore this product. It minimizes the appearance of my pores and it allows me to wear MMU in the winter without my dry patches being picked up and exposed! This product has helped my MMU last in humidity and harsh winter. This does help keep shine at bay and it is an absolute HG item for me. I just adore this primer!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 1/22/2011 12:51:00 PM More reviews by annaeJ

Age: 36-43 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

Thought it would be nice because they said the other version is oily. I guess I would need that oil! This stuff accentuates every flake on your face and dries it out. Nothing goes on smooth. I tried it with mineral and liquid foundation. Both had bad results.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/18/2011 10:04:00 PM More reviews by lasteluv

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This primer really works well for my oily/dry/combo/acne prone skin. It locks in my foundation, powder and blush so well and it looks good for hours. I use about three pumps. It makes my skin feel great. Will probably repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 1/7/2011 10:25:00 AM More reviews by elisawest

Age: 25-29 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

This is nothing like the clear original one. It does absolutely NOTHING. Smells like glue - you put it on your face and it is no different than if you hadn't used a primer at all.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 1/5/2011 10:25:00 AM More reviews by english82

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

EDIT: After adding this product to my routine approximately three weeks ago, and being so satisfied by the results, I began developing the absolute worse breakout of my life over the weekend and into this week. I wake up with new red pimples in places I have never even had pimples before: near my eyes, on my neck......I was in tears last night over this. I am literally covered in pimples and they are primarily in the places I would use the primer. Being that it is the only new thing I have added to my routine in the last few months, the primer has to be the culprit. I am doubly sad: I loved the results but I am now quite literally covered in acne. I had three pimples prior to this weekend......now I can't even count. Please, please, please.....if you are acne-prone do not use this primer. Maybe it won't be the same result for you, but is it worth the risk?


Original post: I've only been using this product for a week or so, but I am completely fascinated by the results. I had given up on primers because either they broke me out and/or had no effect. I have used Rimmel, L'Oreal, and a few others over the years and they all felt heavy and oily on my skin.

Last week, my boyfriend was getting his hair cut at Ulta and I was browsing and I put a little of this on my hand and the difference between the hand with the primer applied and the hand without it was shocking. The hand with primer looked FLAWLESS! So I bought the sample size and I'm blown away by the results. It feels weightless, and improves the coverage of my foundation by 200%. I normally have to liberally apply concealer to blemishes, but I only have to apply concealer under my eyes and on one or two stubborn pimples now. And the staying power rocks. As long as I continue with no strange breakouts, this product will become a permanent staple of my routine, regardless of price. You don't have to use that much anyway, so I imagine it lasts a while in the regular size. I will be buying the regular size ASAP!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 1/5/2011 2:45:00 AM More reviews by kissjacksparrow

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I only tried the sample size of this, so I cannot comment on it's long term use, and didn't have enough product to try it with all my different foundations I keep in rotation.

I wanted to try this because a lot of silicone based primers don't work well with my skin. This, I believe, is supposed to be better for oily and acne prone skin.

-Hard Candy primer made me oily and break out
-Lorac oil free primer didn't seem to do anything
-Rimmel fix & perfect didn't seem to do anything for me either.

As expected, it worked much better for me then did most other primers. It has light consistency, like a serum. It glides on and makes skin smooth. It didn't make a HUGE difference, but it was an improvement over nothing.

While I did like it, I think it is way to expensive. For the price, I want it to be amazing. It's $36/oz at Sephora, which is really expensive! I would only buy it if it was majorly on sale, or part of a kit or something.

I will keep using the Oaly Regenerist Serum for sensitive skin, which give similar results and has some great good for you skin ingredients, and it costs much less - $20 for 1.7 oz. Thats more then 1/2 the price!

Is this review helpful? Yes No