December 21, 2014 | 1803 users online

Powder - Make Up For Ever - Duo Mat Powder foundation



image 0image 1image 2

rated 3.9(295 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.9
  • 69% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.8
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 on 7/24/2010 1:03:00 PM More reviews by dcappelut

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

Let me start by describing my skin.
I have a medium yellow undertoned (asian) skin, acne prone and combination with an oily tzone.
I bought this product in shade 209... (a little bit too dark for me actually).
1. I find the coverage quite buildable, and it can cover a lot! HOWEVER, the powder makes pimples look very obvious on the skin (like a moon's surface), especially when under the sun.
2. I was wearing a white dress one very hot, humid day and was SHOCKED to see the foundation has transferred terribly onto my clothes by the end of the day. It melts of my face after about an hour under the sun (it ran down with my sweat :S)
3. It will accentuate wrinkles when applied too much around the eyes. I am 16 and have no wrinkles but when I try to build the foundation it looks so cakey and unnatural, especially around my eyes!
4. For the price I expected much more quality in this product.
5. Oh and it broke me out! big time! so acne prone people out there... be careful!

the only pro about this is that it is wonderful at keeping my face fully matte!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/23/2010 1:45:00 AM More reviews by thelavenderninja

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Violet

I've tired many many powder foundations and this one is one of the best by far. First off, the selection of shades they have is impressive. I ended up getting 202 Translucent Beige (great for asian skin). It goes on so smoothly and the coverage is amazing. It's buildable coverage so I add more on day where my skin is not looking so hot. I even use this as a concealer with a concealer brush on places where I need it.

For a foundation, its not too pricy considering its something you use everyday. I totally love this product!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 7/12/2010 12:46:00 AM More reviews by juicy415

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

im nc30 and i got this in #207 and i must say its too dark for me the #205 its too light. this powder is buidable but a bit heavy and the packaging is cheap. i dont think this hold my greasy face. wish they had more color selection.. i won't spend my money on their powder foundations

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 6/22/2010 4:12:00 PM More reviews by NITU

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I will begin by saying, I really wanted this product to work me. I bought this product in the shade 207 and it was a perfect match to my skin tone. (I have a really hard time finding foundation shades.) I have oily skin and this kept the oils at bay. HOWEVER, this product completely screwed up my skin! It made me get the most unsightly dry brown gray patches around my chin. Sadly, it went right back to sephora.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/21/2010 12:48:00 PM More reviews by ISpendAllMyHubbysMoney

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I've been using this foundation for a while and thought it was probably time for a review. I have extremely oily, acne prone skin so it seems that finding a good foundation is nearly impossible for me. This one is close. Although, I have found that just like everything else, this does not help keep the oilies away. Because of my oily skin, the staying power of this foundation is not good. The only other con is the price, I wish I could find something cheaper that performed as well. However - it does NOT break me out and has decent coverage (you'll still need concealer for blemishes and dark circles). Also, it seamlessly blends into skin and it's nice to purchase at places like Sephora so you can get color matched. I will keep purchasing but will be keeping my eye out for a comparable foundation for less of a pricetag.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/14/2010 12:28:00 AM More reviews by Lnancy20

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This powder foundation is awesome!! I use to use mac studio fix but was too heavy on my face n made me look cakey n plus wldnt last nothing on my face by the 3-4 hr my makeup was gone. Luckily a rep from sephora recommend it this duo mat powder foundation n since then my face is flawless n no cakyness n makeup last all day n no blotting for me no more! Wld definitely buy it again

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/12/2010 1:14:00 AM More reviews by lilac819

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

YES! I would buy this product again!!! A little pricey tho ($32), but it is well worth it! I use this powder EVERYDAY with no liquid foundation. I use put on concealer and pat this on my face and I'm off. It gives great coverage and gives a matt finish. It does not break me out, however, Mac Studio tech does. Mac is a horrible product. So many people say that the break out because of mac products, so isn't that enough to say that Mac contains harmful chemicals? MUForever is a good brand, and I'm on my 3rd package. Shade 207 is perfect for me and it lasts about 5-6 hours before I need touch up again. Apply it with a flat top powder brush like the ones from E.L.F (I use this) or Sonia Kashuk for full coverage. One compact lasts me 4-5 months. LOVE LOVE LOVE!
BTW, Laura Mercier powder foundation is even BETTER, but it's $40 bucks.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 5/27/2010 9:56:00 PM More reviews by DulceCandy

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I noticed someone wrote that this product contains bismuth oxychloride, which it DOES NOT!! Check the ingredients. Anyways, I tried this a few months ago in winter and it oxidized on me! Powders never work for me I dont know why. I might try it again now that my oily skin is more under control but so far I've been LOVING my nars sheerglow!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/22/2010 9:20:00 PM More reviews by arbyf12d

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I LOVE this powder foundation. I'm not really into powder foundations, or actually, powder foundations in general only because they all make me look cakey. But, I was sold after the worker tried the HD foundation &this Duo Mat Powder to finish off with. I have TONS of acne marks &acne here &there &this just did the trick. Before using this, I've used MAC Studio Fix, Clinique, Shiseido, etc. This out of all.. lasted longer, made my skin look very matte, stayed on all day without me having to retouch &DID NOT make my skin oily at ALL. My skin's very different, I can say that.. it's oily after I've applied makeup, but after I wash my face, put toner &moisturizer, it's very dry. My T-zone tends to get really oily during the day if I've applied makeup &this powder foundation just helps a whole lot. Oh, how I love this powder. I use just this powder since I can't really be using liquid foundations since I do still have acne but, later on when my acne does clear up, I'm definitely going back to Sephora to get the HD liquid foundation. I hope this works as well for you as it did for me. &I also hope this review has helped also. =)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/17/2010 9:32:00 PM More reviews by Kavitacaviezel

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I love this product way better than MAC's Studio Fix and Lancome's Dual Finish. This gives superb coverage, even, silky coverage. No Pancake-face here. Gorgeous. I just love it. Will definitely re-buy.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No