April 16, 2014 | 1482 users online

Liquid - Chanel - Vitalumiere

rated 3.9(522 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.9
  • 65% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.4
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 3/9/2011 6:09:00 PM More reviews by Charlotta800

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral Hair: Black, Straight, Other Eyes: Hazel

My ultimate HG foundation.

I have combo skin which can be really dry in areas BUT I also developed acne on my chin/jaw area last year so I can no longer use it in that area because it's not oil free. I just have to use a different one on that part of my face but it's a shame because the Vitalumiere makes my skin look so darn good and the colour match is perfect.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/9/2011 1:16:00 PM More reviews by eternallycrstn

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse Eyes: Hazel

UPDATE: Chanel has discontinued my shade - 05 Diaphane and the next shade up 07 ivoire is way yellow and too dark on my PPP NW10 skin, so once I run out I'll have to switch to something else :(





This has become HG really fast and I'm really pleasantly suprised.

I'm very pale and mostly neutral and just lean slightly towards the cool side (NW10) and have a hard time finding shades that work... Most are too dark, or pale enough but are either very pink or very yellow. Chanel in general doesn't have a great shade selection for either very fair and darker complexions, but after another PPP said she found a good match I decided to give it a go.

05 diaphane is a perfect match for me.

My skin is normal/dry and very acne prone and turns very dry in the winter.

Vitalumiere goes on like a dream, it feels like you're applying moisturizer instead of a foundation. The coverage is light, slightly more coverage than a tinted moisturizer... but it is buildable. It's not going to cover any blemishes or imperfections, so I do find I use more concealer than I have with other foundations.

A lot of foundations marketed for dry skin transfer everywhere, onto my clothes, my phone, my Dh! This stays put yet it extremely moisturizing and does not dry my skin out.

This is your glowy dewy my skin but better foundation. It evens out my skintone but looks like my SKIN and not like a mask. It is expensive ($55) but worth every penny.

If you have dry skin I would highly recommend it. Nothing else gives me such a natural glowy look as Vitalumiere. Will repurchase!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/2/2011 5:33:00 PM More reviews by lelestyle

Age: 44-55 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Green

This foundation is well worth the expense. I have problem skin, dry, little oily in the t-zone and rosacea which I have under control now but it was a problem at the time. This foundation seems to calm it down even more plus I get this radiant, dewy glow that I love. If you're into that type of look, this foundation is definitely for you. Very oily skin types would not work with this foundation but anyone who has combination skin could definitely benefit from this. I apply it with the Chanel Foundation Brush #16 and coupled with this foundation gives me a radiant look. I would get a sample first because Chanel's colors are rather tough to choose.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/20/2011 2:24:00 PM More reviews by jensmakeupbag

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

WOWZERRS!

I think I may have finally reached HG foundation status! Alert the authorities!

This foundation is the bomb (for you young people, that means it's awesome!)

PROS:
-doesn't go on flaky on dry skins
-dewy finish for the people with dry skin trying to find a glow
-to me has that "glow from within" finish
-glides perfectly on skin with a foundation brush (I use Clinique's foundation brush and it works beautifully!)
-love the smell, it smells like a Chanel boutique to me
-pump included that dispenses an even amount of foundation

CONS:
-E X P E N S I V E at $55 in the US
-cap is kind of flimsy and doesn't lock on well
-packaging is glass! not travel friendly!
-not for oily skin...very dewy!
-need a setting powder
-staying power is not all day

OVERALL:
If you have dry skin, with flaky patches (that you normally get wearing other foundations) then this is a perfect match for you. Be in mind that this foundation is made for dry skin so the dewy finish is a must, so matte lovers stay away. This photgraphs beautifully but it does not provide a full coverage. This is more light-medium coverage. If you're looking to find a high end foundation to give you that glow from within, Chanel Vitalumiere is the best!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 2/18/2011 4:27:00 PM More reviews by playsomevinyl

Age: Unknown Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Other, Medium Eyes: Brown

I like this foundation, but don't love it. The formula is creamy, medium coverage, and blends well. I have dry skin and it does not seem to exacerbate my dry spots. However, unless I set it with powder I look oily with this on. I wore this with a hydrating primer and heavy moisturizer and it lasted all day. Color selection could be better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/17/2011 5:54:00 AM More reviews by ems22

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I have only been using the product a little while, but so far it is a beautiful foundation and is well worth the price tag!
With normal/dry skin, as I have got older (I know I am still only 22!), I have found it difficult to find a medium coverage foundation which does not make my dry cheeks even worse! Previously using Clinique, which I only gave up because of boredom and it began to irritate my skin, I turned to Mac. This made me look so orange despite using the fair/correct shades! ELDW was the biggest mistake of all...but Vitalumiere is perfect.
It isn't too dewy finish, but is very good for dry combination skin. It has a lovely light texture, a very pleasant but faint fragrance, and offers buildable coverage. I see that the vitalumiere aqua has got better reviews, but for me, if you are looking for a more medium coverage this is the product for you!

Pricey, but well worth it when you add up all the money spent on rubbish foundations! And in my case, money wasted on expensive foundations!

I have only deducted one mark purely because there was not a wide range of shades (maybe thats just because I bought it from Boots in the UK) and obviously, it is pricey. But then again, it is Chanel!
xxx

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/8/2011 12:02:00 PM More reviews by kst3268

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium Eyes: Blue

In the winter time my face is extremely dry (even with my moisturizers!), so I use the vitalumiere and booyy does it help. It keeps the flakes away (which we all hate) and it just looks beautiful. I normally put 3/4 of a pump on a cd and with a regular foundation brush I apply dots on my forehead, cheeks, nose, and chin. Then I take my 187 stippling brush and blend it. A little hd powder on my forehead and nose and I'm good to go! Takes 5 minutes, and is super easy. The only complaint would of course be the hefty 55$, phew! But I have had it for 3-4 months now and there is only a centimeter gone (if measured from the top going towards the bottom). This foundation is definitely my go to winter foundation, love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/6/2011 5:07:00 PM More reviews by DizzyBlonde

Age: 36-43 Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I have really dry skin and for a long time have not worn foundation but after seeing the Chanel Vitalumiere on PixiWoo's You Tube channel I thought I'd give it a try as they mentioned it was good for dry skin. I am really pleased with this product, it is easy to apply, I use a Louise Young foundation brush and then smooth out any lines with my fingers, the coverage is buildable but I would say it is not a full coverage foundation, I do not like to use a full coverage foundation and for me the coverage is lovely, just right, it does cover but my skin still looks like skin if that makes sense? My skin looks lovely when I wear this foundation, it has a healthy dewy kind of look without being shiny, and it is brilliant for my very dry skin, like I said I have not worn foundation for a long time after being so dissapointed because the foundation would sit in my dry skin and look so horrible after a couple of hours. This doesn't happen with the Chanel foundation though, my skin looks lovely and the product doesn't settle in my dry skin like all other foundations I have used in the past.It has a light fragrance, which is not overpowering at all. The price is a bit expensive at 31 a bottle but I only use 1 pump for my whole face, if you wanted more coverage you could use 2 pumps, I have had this foundation for 6 weeks now and hardly any product has gone out of the bottle so although it is expensive, a little goes a long way and I think it will last me a good while longer. I am fair skinned and use the colour Limpede which is a brilliant match for me, if you want a lovely foundation for dry skin this is fantastic, nice coverage, nice finish, all in all the best foundation I've ever tried, I will definitely be buying this again :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/6/2011 3:11:00 AM More reviews by petisa83

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Black

This is the best foundation I have tried so far. It leaves my skin looking healthy and hydrated. I've noticed people complimenting my skin every time I decide to put it on. I have dry skin with a little oily t zone and haven't had any problems with it like other people had, but I would not recommend this for overall oily skin because I does tend to have more oil than other foundations. Also, I have been to a couple of events where there were pictures taken and it looks great!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 2/5/2011 12:32:00 PM More reviews by sherbyham

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Black

I think it is a great product for people with dry skin who like a light coverage. I like the way the product blends so easily and the finish is great, very natural and luminous. The colour Clair 20 is fine, just a tad deeper when it oxidises. I really like how it looks in the morning. Unfortunately, I have combi/slightly oily skin and I live in the tropics so by noon, after blotting and the product transfers, most of the foundation is gone. This is a quality product but just not suitable for me. I am thinking of getting the Mat Lumiere when I finish my foundations.

Is this review helpful? Yes No