September 17, 2014 | 1987 users online

Palettes - Urban Decay - NAKED

rated 4.6(2160 reviews)

  • Write a Review
Pin It

RELATED PRODUCTS

NAKED2: http://www.makeupalley.com/product/showreview.asp/ItemId=148781/NAKED2-/Urban-Decay/Palettes

NAKED3: http://www.makeupalley.com/product/showreview.asp/ItemId=167248/NAKED-3/Urban-Decay/Palettes

rated 5 of 5 on 12/2/2013 8:33:00 PM More reviews by GlisteningSheen

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm Hair: Black, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

Price: £32.40 from Debenhams UK. Considering the number of shadows and the fact that theyre more or less full sized and the freebies I think this is great value for money!

The Freebies:
Sample size of the UD Primer Potion which makes the eyeshadows last longer and delays creasing on my lids.
A single ended Good Karma shadow brush which isnt bad quality and I do use for patting shadow on, just wish it was double ended with a blending brush on other side..

The Packaging:
The eyeshadows come in a beautiful rich chocolate brown sleek palette with a magnetic closure so it just snaps shut. I think the actual packaging is cardboard thats covered in brown felt like material with gold foil lettering. I keep my palette within a makeup case as the felt fabric does attract dust and the gold lettering chips pretty easily which is a bit disappointing.
Inside there is a mirror in the lid, which I do feel could have been larger. Despite the magnetic closure, the palette doesnt feel all that secure when shut so whenever I travel with it I dont simply throw it into my suitcase for fear of it opening and ruining the contents. I usually travel with the palette in a toiletries case or makeup bag.

The Product / Eyeshadows:
Overall the palette is warm toned which suits my complexion very well but I think these colours would suit most skin tones. Having used the palette for several months now, I feel the range of colours is more extensive than what I first thought upon purchase. The colours range from very pale pink champagnes to gold and various brown tones through to brown toned pinky plums and blue toned grey. I find the colours to be very complimentary and have no problems creating a day or night time look from this palette alone. The two matte shades are great blending colours.

The texture of the shadows is very buttery and smooth. Whilst theyre not powdery and crumbly as such, I have experienced a little fall out with some of the more sparkly shades like Sin, Sidecar and Gunmetal. All of the other colours apply beautifully with no real fallout issues. The pigmentation is great! The shadows are very true to colour. There is a mixture of textures / finishes within the palette ranging from matte, satin, shimmery to sparkly / glittery.

This is definitely my most used palette

Sheen xxx

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/30/2013 9:36:00 PM More reviews by belle0596

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I love the neutral colors especially with the ability to go with smokey eyes.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/30/2013 3:26:00 AM More reviews by rnicole12

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love this eye shadow! I am seriously a make up hoarder and i haven't bought any other types of eye shadow in years because i have everything i need in this pallet. I still haven't got bored with it and doubt that i ever will. LOVE LOVE LOVE!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/29/2013 11:01:00 PM More reviews by abikerin

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

These shadows are sooo pigmented! A little goes a long way. You can create so many different looks with this palette and it's easy to take with you when traveling. I just take this and I can transform my look from day to night. And I rated this a low pricing because ,though it is a lot of money, you get a lot of shadows for the price. If you think about it, it's a lot less than a singe MAC eyeshadow. And the primer potion that comes with it works very nice. And not to mention the brush works well too, but only for applying, not blending or smudging.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/26/2013 10:39:00 AM More reviews by ihoardmakeup

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium Eyes: Green

This product was actually the first eyeshadow palette I ever bought :) I loved it when I first bought it- of course, I had nothing else to compare it to. Now I've tried my fair share of brands, and UD still has some of the best quality shadows around. I almost never hesitate to buy a UD palette because I know the pigmentation will be there, so at worst, I won't like/use every single color. I still love and use this palette, but I took off one lippie for packaging. The gold lettering starts to fade over time. I haven't hit pan on mine yet, and I've had it for over two years! (I don't use it daily, but I've gotten some pretty good mileage out of it!) For a beginner or pro, this palette is great! Overall, I wouldn't hesitate to buy another.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/25/2013 11:45:00 PM More reviews by MonicaTerese

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I got this about 2 1/2- 3 years ago when it first came out and I have used atleast one color from this palette every day since. I'm almost out of the colors virgin and naked, but the rest still have a while to go before I even hit pan. I got it when it was $48 so I'm not too excited about paying 52 in order to replace it, but this lasts me so long that I will when the time comes.
I recommend this is you're looking for a good quality neutral palette that has a lot of brown and bronze based shades. I tend to favor the original naked over my naked 2, which is mostly taupes, because I find it to be more versatile. This is a major staple in my collection.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/24/2013 6:52:00 PM More reviews by Makeupbyamandam

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I am a sucker for eyeshadow pallets. First they are convenient. When you have to go to work in the morning, it's all right there. There is no digging for specific eyeshadows while you have 57 other things to do when you are getting ready. But this. This is beyond convenient. All the shadows compliment each other. They are super versatile. Everything you need is right there. Yes they are all shades of browns and nudes in a warm tone, but you can create everything from a light everyday look to a dark and smokey look to a sophisticated and romantic look all from this pallet. I have been using my original Naked palette for about a year now and I use it nearly everyday, and haven't hit pan yet on any of the colors. They apply beautifully and blend really easily. I recently used this on a client for her wedding and she looked breathtaking all day long. I usually use this with my very favorite Urban Decay Primer Potion and there is never a crease in sight. The colors are all super pigmented and are buildable as well which allows for a more dramatic and intense look or a more subtle and romantic look. I am never at a loss of what to do with this palette. The possibilities are limitless. I have tons of different shadows and different pallets, but I find that I reach for this one about 90% of the time. I love the packaging on this. It's slim, feels comfortable in your hand (I like to fold the lid back on it to prop it up when I am using it) and the magnetic closure keeps everything safe and cozy. I have traveled with this quite a bit because it's so versatile and slim (which is usually against my policy because I am usually worried I will lose or damage my expensive stuff) simply because I cannot stay away from it! I would (if I ever get through it!) repurchase this again in the future.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/24/2013 12:55:00 AM More reviews by Narieh14

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I can honestly say I have used every colour in this palette 10+ times!!!! Best purchase ever <333

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/23/2013 12:41:00 PM More reviews by beautylatte

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Green

What can I say that hasn't already been said in 2,000+ reviews? I love this palette! I consider this an incredible value. I have used mine every day for two years and haven't come close to hitting pan. While neutral, I can create so many different looks with it, with as little or as much intensity as I want. "Buck" is the perfect matte brown for my crease, and "Virgin" works as an amazing shimmery brow bone highlighter. With all the other shades from light to dark, you can take this with you anywhere and create a complete eyeshadow look. I happen to love shimmery shades on me so the fact that there are only two matte options in this palette doesn't bother me one bit.

My biggest gripe, like so many others, is the fallout that comes with "Sidecar." It's such a beautiful shade and doesn't even need the microglitter. I've learned to work around it by applying my eyeshadow first, then cleaning up and doing my foundation and the rest of my makeup. I don't notice a lot of fallout from the other shades though!

Only other cons are the brush it comes with...for me it makes the color "pill" during application so I use a different brush. Also I might be one of the rare few who doesn't like the UD primer. It just doesn't last for me. I find it comparable to the $1 e.l.f. primer actually for those who do like it and would like an inexpensive dupe.

Despite the few cons I have, this is an essential makeup item for me and I will never be without it!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/20/2013 2:51:00 PM More reviews by AdrienneStarr

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Pure indulgence coupled with sheer decadence is the best way to describe this palette. From the velvety-chocolate packaging to the 12 beautiful shades...I adore this gem without a doubt. Initially, the $52 price tag deterred me, but my bestie gave me a Sephora gift card for my birthday which motivated me to take the plunge, and I am glad I did. This purchase was a bit backward, however, because I copped the NAKED2 first and took a liking to it and was curious to get a feel for its precursor. SATISFACTION! There are three shades that are my faves: (1) Buck, (2) Naked, and (3) Gunmetal. These three combined create a sultry, smokey eye that I can't get enough of, and I am actually wearing it as I'm typing this review. Some may feel as I did about the price point, and rightfully so, but TRUST me you will not be disappointed if you are into nudes and neutrals. This palette offers plenty of versatility with its wide array of briliant shades, they are extremely pigmented so a little goes a long way which is an even greater attribute because this extends the longevity of your palette. The packaging is super SEXY and CHIC with the brown and gold...not to metion the mirror and brush included. Urban Decay was justified in slapping a $52 price tag on this baby because you definitely get your money's worth. I would not purchase this again tho because I am waiting for the NAKED3 to launch and I cannot use the shades fast enough before something new comes out. That's the ONLY reason I wouldn't repurchase, but if for whatever reason there was no other NAKED by UD then i would absoultely cop again without question. With the holidays coming soon, ladies, this is an opportune time to hint around to your man or whoever your boo-thang is that you have been scheming on this and would appreciate it as a gift!
Great find...
~A. Starr...stamped:-)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No