Calvin Klein Obsession

3.6

238 reviews

62% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 11/15/2005 3:52:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Obsession has been on the market for a long and I had not yet purchased it, however since I love strong perfumes, I thought I would give it a go. The packaging less and impressive, it looks like those rip-off perfumes that you get in pound shops with names like “Poizon” and “Possession.” The first thing that hits you about the scent is this kind of harsh slightly acidic tang which if you done a few sprays can grate the back of your throat. It does settle down and I found that with my warm body chemistry and very oily skin it fades to a pleasing if overtly musky base scent. However I would not wear it …rather overlay it with something bright and sweet once the tang has worn off. One thing though it does last, I put it on the morning and when I undress at night I can still catch traces. I wouldn't buy it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I don't really like strong fragrances but I acctually like this one in really small portions!! Like a tiny drop on the wrist and then rub it in... that way its not so strong but still spicy and nice, especially for winter.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/29/2005 5:20:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It was a hit in its day and a real attention grabber! I loved it back in the late 80's. I think this scent is passe. It's like a song you like and repeat over and over again. Then oneday, you just can't stand the notes. CK Eternity, along with its limited editions, will be around much longer just because it doesn't make such a strong statement.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/13/2005 8:47:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I wore this in college and liked it at the time, but I have to agree with the others who say its dated and its so 1980's. EVERYONE wore this and since it IS so strong, that's basically all you smelled for a good decade. Overkill.
Now, it just seems tacky and the opposite of subtle.

'Sexiness' invokes an air of mystery, a cefrtain aloofness. There is nothing mysterious about this...it SCREAMS "Here I am." If wearing pantyhose with open toed sandals had a scent, this would be it. TACKY.


on 10/4/2005 10:42:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

When a person has found her fragrance, she'll know. This wasn't mine. It wasn't most people's, but that didn't keep everyone from wearing it when it was THE in fragrance. I sampled a friend's and knew it wouldn't work for me. On her it smelled sexy, musky and low-key. On me it smelled like I had sweated and rolled around in the dirt. Just not my thing. On me, putrid. On those for whom it works, divine.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/12/2005 11:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

GROSS, that is all I have to say!


on 9/8/2005 10:22:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

OMG no, this is so strong it makes me sick, and think about there are women wearing this in the middle of summer.


on 8/28/2005 5:25:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I've tried to like this EDP, but apparently, it does not work with my body chemistry. The coriander and oakmoss drown out the rest of the fragrance. But I can't give it a terrible rating, because it often smells great on other women, especially when they do not apply it with a garden hose. Moderation, ladies....

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/16/2005 9:53:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have an enduring love for Obsession and I think it's one of the best fragrances in the world. Many fragrances have been inspired by Obsession, but none have achieved its individuality. This fragrance is pointedly feminine, and indirectly sexy. It doesn't scream "sex" but, instead, seduces. I wore this in the late 80s and I clearly remember shrugging my shoulders to get whiffs of it. It got compliments all the time then, and it gets compliments all the time now. I've noticed that neither Obsession nor Lou Lou inspire the instant recognition they once did, and I'm glad about this. I like hearing that I smell good rather than "Are you wearing Obsession?" Obsession, like Shalimar and Chanel No. 5, is romantically classy, and so absolutely pretty that nearly everyone can wear it. It does need to be applied with a light hand, though, or the powdery freshness goes away and a strong cologne-type smell emerges causing migraines. Obsession can be worn year-round, but it's best in cool weather. It's as comfortable with a little black dress as it is with jeans and a sweater. Top Notes: Mandarin, Bergamot, Jasmine, Rose, Orange Blossom. Middle Notes: Coriander, Geranium, Sandal. Base Notes: Vanilla, Amber, Incense, Vetiver, Oakmoss.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


on 8/6/2005 9:20:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

LOVE this fragrance, and always get stopped by people to find out what I'm wearing. . . .Will always wear this - as I try other perfumes, but always come back to this one. . . . .Guys love this scent. . . . . .

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1366 Reviews
Si
37 Reviews
Chloe (EDP)
341 Reviews
Gucci Guilty
127 Reviews
Light Blue
1411 Reviews


Back to Top