April 17, 2014 | 925 users online

Treatments - Biotin (All brands)

rated 3.5(206 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.5
  • 64% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.9
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 6/26/2010 3:10:00 PM More reviews by Banjos

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I did not connect my increased acne with biotin until I started reading these reviews. Biotin is of the B-vitamin family and who would think it could influence acne but apparently it can. Biotin did improve my nails and helped my frequently shedding hair but I am going to stop it to see if my skin improves. I will update on this. So I may or may not purchase again. It is worth a try for hair and nails if your skin is not affected negatively.
Update: it has been 12 days since I stopped biotin and my acne is better. Too soon to give a definitive opinion, though. I will update at a later time with more informaton.
EDIT II: I went back on biotin (months later) and my acne flared up again so I am definitely leaning toward biotin being the cause.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/26/2010 2:18:00 PM More reviews by PinkFrosting27

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Green

I take Nature's Bounty 5000 super potency biotin. They used to be large pills but are now alot smaller, it's much much easier to take them now lol! Anyways I noticed a huge difference in my hair after 1 bottle(60 pills/60 days) so I purchased another bottle. After the next 60 days my hair had honestly grown about a good 6 inches, it was thicker and healthier and was just sooo nice to actually see results! My nails also grew faster and were stronger, that change only took about 2 weeks to notice. I quit taking them(this was a year ago) because I was happy with my hairs longer length then. I just started taking them again, this time I bought 2 bottles at once and plan to do another 4months and stop again since I want my hair even longer now! I still blowdryed and flatironed my hair the same as I always did while taking them too. They def were the reason my hair grew so much! I also would rec taking them in the summer, since some say hair grows faster in the summer months.

Seriously the best beauty buy I've ever made! :)

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/15/2010 2:45:00 PM More reviews by pinkdaisylove

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I really love this vitamin! I noticed my hair was growing out better and my nails were as well. It took a little over a month for my results.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/15/2010 2:38:00 PM More reviews by debragail

Age: 44-55 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I started taking 5,000 mcgs of biotin years ago because my hair was so thin. My beautician always said I had the same amount of hairs as everyone else, but the strands were much thinner. I went to a specialist in hopes that there was something I could do and he recommended biotin. He said I would know in about 6 mos. if it would work or not-NOTHING happened. Then I was sentenced to takng low-doses of methotrexate, a chemo for my RA and my hair just got pathetic-it was so wispy and I had so many bald spots. I told my rheumatologist and he prescribed 5 mgs of folic acid, which is as high a dose as anyone can take and FINALLY I got the results people were raving about with biotin. I still take the biotin, and I do not recommend huge megadoses of folic acid for anyone just wanting to grow hair. But for those of you who may be facing hair loss from methotrexate, you might want to check with your doctor about upping your folic. There are ridges across my nails from when I started taking the folic, they are in MUCH better shape, & NO bald spots!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/15/2010 2:10:00 PM More reviews by jelxxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

Makes my hair and nails grow faster and stronger. Wonderful stuff! I think that it is good for skin too. I used to bite my nails, so I got acrylics. That really damaged my nail beds. Now my nails are much thicker, so I don't even want to bite them. I also used to be addicted to scissors in that I would cut my hair short all the time. I am now growing it out after I have bleached it into oblivion, but I still get compliments about how good my hair looks. I blame this stuff :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/15/2010 1:07:00 PM More reviews by jolenelovesmakeup

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

An essential for me everyday! I love biotin and take 5000 mcgs daily for about a year now. My original purpose in taking this was to restore my nails after years of abuse with artificial tips. My nails have seen a great improvement in both growth and strength. I must say that it also benefits my hair too. Even my hairdresser has commented on the great condition of my hair now. I get highlights and my hair broke easily in the past, but with the biotin I see breakage much less frequently and I love how fast it grows. Also, I have never had a problem with breakouts.

Overall, love this product!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 6/12/2010 9:48:00 PM More reviews by mdbutee

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have been using this for about 6 weeks now and I have started to notice some significant changes in my hair and nails. I take two tabs once or twice daily. No break outs yet. I will continue to use. My hair was seriously shedding but now it is getting thicker and my beautician even noted how fast my hair has grown. My nails are much stronger too. A cheap, easy effective beauty aid!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/12/2010 12:31:00 AM More reviews by sweetbabylace

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

Taking 5 mg/day (pretty high dose)... I got my hair thickness back after abusing my body by changing bcp in too short a period of time(caused shedding, and never got full density back until now). Now I have my thick mane of hair again... plus, it is growing at a much faster rate as well. My nails are also growing faster. IT DOES WORK. It was effective for me, and my hairdresser even commented on how fast my hair is growing now. It took a full 2 months to notice a distance, but guess what?

Breakouts from hell as a result! I gave it a 3 b/c I know it works SO WELL and doesn't cause breakouts in everybody. It caused painful, itchy chin/jawline and back acne on me! Dreadful! I have always been somewhat breakout prone, but have been able to control it and never had it flare up like this!!!!! Acne from biotin cannot be treated no matter what you do! Proceed with caution...
UPDATE: Well, I stopped taking it for months and began again taking it only every other day. No acne this time! Strange... I switched from the vitaminshoppe brand to another brand that has a blend of 5mg of biotin+ other b's as well. My growth rate is starting to pick up, but not quite as much as before. I'm happy so far, though! If ur having acne from biotin, I suggest lay off for a few weeks then pick it back up to every other day. Drink tons of water when you take biotin!!!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 5/6/2010 1:24:00 AM More reviews by valentina555

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

has made my nails stronger but done nothing at all for my hair which is already thick but has broken ends. 6-week trims are mandatory, so i am not leaving the growth all the way up to nature. in consideration of this, i do not notice faster growth than i have with this trimming schedule for the past many years

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 5/6/2010 1:07:00 AM More reviews by maxmommy2

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Back in November I bleached my hair into a mushy pulp, and had to chop it all off. Since then, I've been trying to grow it out and I figured biotin couldn't hurt...I've been taking 5000mcg for three months now and I haven't noticed a change in my head hair growth, it's still pretty slow. However, my arm hair has grown freakishly long, my eyebrows have gone crazy, and leg and *ahem* other hair is growing like a weed. I haven't had any problems with breakouts, and I will try to finish the bottle but I doubt I'll repurchase as this is making me a slave to the shave. It would be worth it if the head hair grew, but unfortunately the results seem to be from the eyebrows down. Yuck!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No