November 24, 2014 | 2007 users online

Toners - Bragg's Apple Cider Vinegar



image 0image 1

rated 4.2(642 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.2
  • 85% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.7
  • Price: $

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 on 6/18/2012 8:25:00 PM More reviews by izzi87

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

For those that use this as a toner/for skin concerns, did you get some peeling after using it?

I only started using it last night, diluted with half water and I noticed when I woke up that I had already started peeling slighty in those areas. I'm not red or irritated and shedding dead skin cells is a good thing, particularly because I am trying to get rid of some pigmentation but I wondered whether that is fairly normal and if anyone else has had good results with evening out skin tone/lightening pigmentation

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/15/2012 2:46:00 PM More reviews by cleo777

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

First of all, the product has to be used properly ie. you don't guzzle it down like a beer. Apple cider vinegar with "mother" which is the good bacteria that you need, this really helps to boost your immune system. A couple capfuls in a glass of water, or you can sprinkle it on salad or vegetables as well. When I'm getting a sore throat, I have it in my water and 9 times out of 10, my throat gets better. No cold! Nothing else works for me to help prevent colds, I'm serious. Forget Cold Effects, it's scraped off a factory floor overseas and stuffed into capsules (seriously, it was on 20/20!) I don't know how well it works for weight control, but it definitely promotes immunity which is great, if you live in a cold/wet climate like I do. And it's vinegar, yeeeah it tastes like vinegar--go figure. It's not that bad, and you can totally handle it diluted. Highly recommended. Oh, and only the apple cider vinegar with "mother" works properly, the stuff from the grocery store doesn't. Try it the next time you have a sore throat. Trust me, I'm a doctor! Ha! No I'm not but it has worked for me. :) So far as a toner, I wouldn't use it on sensitive skin. I believe it's better taken internally.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 6/15/2012 4:59:00 AM More reviews by eatmyshort

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Violet

I bought this vinegar based on all the glorious reviews. I genuinely believe in the healing properties of natural products. I wanted to do a detox and I was taking a table spoon of bragg's vinegar every morning. It made me feel sick , probably from the strong detoxification. I stopped and symptoms subsided. It is ghastly difficult to swallow this strong sour nasty smelling stuff down. As many previous reviewers described, there are stuff floating around in the vinegar. I believe these are the healthy stuff from the fermentation process. My teeth hurt and it's horrible tasting. I get stomach pain from the vinegar. Probably the excessive acid was corroding my stomach lining. I think lime or lemon can do the job without the awful smell.

For the skin and face, no matter how much I dilute this stuff, it made my skin raw and oozing. I can never get the fresh face look like I can get from lemon. Lemon works just as well but lemon leaves the skin soft , smooth, bright, and fresh looking. Apple vinegar made my skin look muddy and dry. I don't see vinegar doing anything to the extra blemishes. When I was using lemon, I just look fresh faced all the time even on days when I do not get enough sleep on over eat chips and doritos. Vinegar stinks for the longest time. Lemon will make everyone around you happy. I don't think it's a good idea to do this in the morning when you have to work or go to school. This is not going to be favorable going out into the public. The smell stays on your skin for a while.

I find this vinegar horrible tasting.

Lemon or lime works so much better both internally and externally. I will have to pass on this one. Luckily I only spent $5.00 for a small bottle .


You can shed off the pounds, get glorious beautiful skin, alkalinize your blood ph level, detox, get more energy, reduce head ache, feel more happy and upbeat simply using lime or lemon. Lemon and lime do not stink. Lemon is a lot more tolerable for sensitive skin and it not only made my skin fresh looking and clear but it also made my skin oh so soft! They are fresh and only cost a few dime. Sorry but Bragg's vinegar is a fail in my experience.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/15/2012 12:30:00 AM More reviews by Momentoxxx

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Honestly this is my first time writing a review for a product, but I was so please with the results that I thought that I have to share my experience. I suffer from super sensitive skin and eczema, which would flare up easily like when the weather changes. I have read alot of reviews of people using ACV for their scalp and toner, but I found out it works wonders on blackheads on my nose! First I used a scrub (specifically St.Ives Apricot scrub), rinse than use a cotton to dab ACV on my nose (warning: it might sting, and it is best if you dilute 50/50, but i used full strength. Most importantly avoid the EYES!) Rinse off after a while. You will not see your blackheads disappear immediately, but what I can say is that the black spots is visibly reduced and my pores have become smaller. So hurray!
Tip for toner:
Mix green tea and ACV in a spray bottle. Since I have sensitive skin, I mix it 1 ACV to 5 Green tea. I used it on my ezcema area which was red and swollen, the next day it has subsided.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/10/2012 11:20:00 PM More reviews by paf0009

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Medium Eyes: Black

I purchased Bragg's ACV at my local Whole Foods and tried it on my skin, but for some reason it just didn't work. Maybe I needed to dilute it more or less. However, on my scalp it has worked wonders. Before using it on my scalp, I was trying organic sesame oil and then I tried jojoba oil. Both oils (although jojoba worked better) did not resolve my dry, flaking scalp.
On the suggestion of a friend, I tried it on my dandruff. I dilute it 50/50 with distilled water which you can find at Whole Foods and put it into a spray glass bottle. I spray directly onto my scalp, avoiding to douse my hair too much in it (if it saturates my hair too much it makes it kind of dry, straw-like). I let it sit for about two minutes. Then I wash my hair and scalp with Acure Organics Lemongrass shampoo, mainly to get rid of the ACV smell which I don't like, but also to gently cleanse.
So far this has worked and just to let you know my scalp dandruff was truly bad. It would sometimes get inflamed and red and very itchy. The ACV seems to have calmed and healed my scalp. I still get tiny flakes and minimal itchiness, but nothing compares to before and especially to using the chemical-laden Head and Shoulders. Also, I don't find the need to use it every time I shampoo so I only use it occasionally during the week so it lasts for a while. All in all, great product!
Update: My hair is rarely dry or straw-like anymore from where I apply the ACV mixture. I attribute this to using the Acure Organics Moroccan Argan Oil + Argan Stem Cell Conditioner, so I no longer have to deal with dryness.
Also, I am using ACV on my face and it's working pretty well so far. I use a 2oz glass spray bottle; half distilled water and half ACV and I top it off with 2-3 drops of tea tree essential oil. I shake it and spray some onto a cotton cloth and apply to my face like any other toner. Since I started doing this, only at nights after cleansing, my skin is clearer, current breakouts are healing and I haven't had noticeable new ones. Some post-acne marks are a little less darker although I will update again as I continue to use. The smell is not as bad because of the tea tree oil and it kind of fades after a while. I think I will also experiment using green tea instead of distilled water; I will update on this as well.
UPDATE (1/2013):
I am still using the ACV mixture on my scalp and it's still working. Although I am not using it as often and I think I will dilute it more as the smell kind of lingers more than I can stand it. Also, I switched (for no particular reason other than to experiment) to Giovanni's Golden Wheat Shampoo and Giovanni's Deep Repair Conditioner. I have shampooed and conditioned w/o using the ACV mixture and my scalp is still pretty tame. Also, the last ACV toner I was using has changed since. I do not use tea tree oil in it anymore as I think it was a bit irritating (although I use it in the mixture for my scalp; it's TTO w Lavender Oil). I did try the green tea recipe and did not like it at all. I think it goes rancid pretty quick and even though I kept it refrigerated, it still smelled off so I quit that. At the moment, I use (in a 2oz spray bottle) 4/5 distilled water, the remaining 1/5 is split even with ACV and fresh lemon juice (from an actual lemon, not store bought lemon juice). So far this is working very well on my sensitive, acne-prone skin. The left side of my chin (where I had stubborn continuous breakouts) is calm. Most importantly, I think the lemon juice is providing my skin with much needed exfoliation and that is what is lessening the breakouts and post-breakout marks. I only use it at night, and I wait a couple to five minutes and apply 1-2 drops of Kahina Giving Beauty's Argan Oil. I pat it on lightly and that helps to set off some of the dryness associated with exfoliation. I have only been doing this for about two weeks but I will update later.....sorry for the long review but I hope it helps someone : )

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/4/2012 4:56:00 AM More reviews by Chicagobabe89

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse Eyes: Brown

Like coconut oil, apple cider vinegar has a lot of uses. It works great to clarify my hair. I wash my hair, and then I rinsed it with this. It made my hair feel really clean. I also have used it for bloating. I mixed one tablespoon with a cup of purified water and drank it fast. It really helped to relieve some of the pressure of discomfort I was feeling.

This product is great, and it lasts for a long time, so it's definitely worth the price. If you do consume it, please dilute it properly!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/29/2012 9:22:00 PM More reviews by MissBronx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

I have breakouts in my cheeks, forehead and jaw lines recently and I am getting married in three months. I have been tried so many products; proactive, environ, MD formulations, Dermatological, etc and went to facials, done extractions and lights as well, but none of them worked on my skin. I even tried the baking soda mask.
Then I came across to this article that ACV is really good on prone acne skin and many people had amazing results from it. So yesterday I decided to buy this Bragg’s ACS; 50/50 with water tried to apply on my skin as toner. With cleaned face, I applied ACV and continue with moisturizer. This morning I woke up I found out the pimples are getting smaller and dried up. This is only the first day or am I imagining since I want to believe it will work wonder on my skin.
I really hope this ACV is works on my skin since this is my last resort. I will still do the LED lights this weekend since I already bought the package. Hopefully with these combinations will clear my skin before my wedding day.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/21/2012 3:49:00 PM More reviews by Carrief311

Age: 36-43 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

I have been using this on my face for 5 days and so far it's been pretty awesome. I have acne and am very interested in finding more natural products... I have done the Proactive thing, Neutrogena, benzoil peroxide, salycilic acid, expensive dermatologist topicals and pills, etc... Many of these items work for a while but then stop; seems like your skin can build resistance to whatever you're using after 6 months or so.

Regardless, this ACV is cheap and natural and I can say with 100% certainty that my skin has improved over the 5 days I've been using it. I have slightly oily skin and thus have been okay using it 2x/day (no diluting) with a cotton ball after cleansing. I put on moisturizer after. My skin definitely has been doing some purging (ie. it's bringing all the clogged stuff to the surface) and my acne is lessening. Over the 5 days the purging has lessened, I believe because there is much less to purge! The blackheads on my nose are actually gone now! What remains are empty pores that look much smaller than they did before. I am actually pretty amazed with how great this stuff has been on my blackheads! I have noticed that on blemishes that the ACV is drying the spots up VERY quickly and the outer layer of skin is flaking/peeling off almost daily... what's left underneath is skin that actually doesn't look irritated or red like you'd think it would. It looks healthier! I am pretty darn thrilled... And apologies if my description above is a bit graphic or gross. I have had acne for over 10 years and I am just OVER it!!! ;-)

If you have dry skin, I'd recommend either diluting the ACV OR just use it directly on your bad spots (blackheads, clogged pores, etc.) and not all over.

The fumes do burn my eyes a little however it's a small price to pay. I usually put it on then just walk across the room as it dries/evaporates. Walking pulls the fumes away from my eyes so they don't burn.

I will continue to use then report back in a bit!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/18/2012 3:52:00 AM More reviews by shiherostar

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Other

Wow!
I have read about this for sometime, but I never really had bad skin until this past year. I am 29 and I have always had pretty good skin, but as of recent, my skin just started breaking out like crazy.
I didn't know how to deal with it, so I spent hours online and finally decided to try out some ACV. I am so glad I did.
I first started using it as a toner. At first 50/50 of AVC and water and now I actually use full strength because it doesn't harm my skin. I then started drinking a little bit a day in some water and it was rough, but I will do whatever I need to - to have clear skin. It works!!! In about a week, my skin is almost back to normal. The smell doesn't bother me that much because it goes away and if I can have clear skin, then I don;t care if it smells like poop. Seriously, it is worth it.
AVC is also good for other things as well. I know take straight shots of it. You get used to it.
And for less than $5 where I live! It can't be beat. I really hope that it keeps working for me and I hope people will start realizing that more natural products can do the trick. Cheaper products can do the trick. I spent years spending so much money on crap that doesn't work. I am sure we all have.
I am so happy I found AVC. I am looking for other more natural approaches for skincare from now on. I started using Coconut oil as an eye cream too and so far so good.
No more wasting my money on crap!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 5/15/2012 12:49:00 PM More reviews by KarenRoberts

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I give it a 2 star because it seems to be good for some people here. Unfortunately for me sensitive skin, it made my skin raw , oozing, uncomfortable, and red in sunburn way. Do skin patch test first before using it on fair sensitive skin. I wished I had done that instead of just using it from the bottle. The vinegar smell is so bad and it lingers on and on. No amount of washing or perfume can cover it up. I think lemon can do a better job without stripping the skin too bad like bragg's vinegar. Lemon also leaves my skin much softer and smoother compared to vinegar. It may worked for some but not for me. I saw membranous stuff floating in the vinegar which kind of scared me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No