April 17, 2014 | 1970 users online

Toners - Neutrogena - Alcohol-Free Toner



image 0

rated 3.6(331 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.6
  • 64% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.6
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 8/10/2009 4:58:00 PM More reviews by NikkiDZ07

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other Eyes: Hazel

I have been using this toner for about a week. I have very acne prone/ combo skin and have started using epiduo, and you are not supposed to use irritating products with it. I bought this because it is alcohol free and I feel like I have to have a toner or my face isn't clean. It removes left over make up after I wash my face. A lot of people have said they don't like the sticky feeling it leaves. I have not actually noticed it. I also don't mind the smell, but I would prefer that everything be fragrance free. The bottle is pretty big, but I'm not sure it will even last a month with me. I would like to find a cheaper alcohol-free toner, but until I do I will keep buying this.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 8/8/2009 6:19:00 PM More reviews by Jamiiee

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I hate this toner with a passion.Yes it cleans almost all the dirt out of my face but when I use it I have this kind of 'burning' sensation.Even though it's ALCOHOL FREE.And after I start using it my face becomes sticky which I hate cause it feels like I haven't throughly removed the dirt.The smell is alright.The packaging sucks.When I pour it out it gives out a little amount and literally I have to sorta shake it to get it out.I'm sticking to my Olay Toner which leaves my face smooth,soft,and soothed.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 7/29/2009 12:55:00 PM More reviews by Loci80015

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Oh how can they sell this for sensitive acne-prone skin? HOW? So many ingredients that are comogenedic. I saw increase in breakouts when I started using this. I couldn't understand why until I saw the ingredient list. Yuck!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/17/2009 5:21:00 AM More reviews by kimm28

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

One word- amazing. I've been using this for about 4 months and i'm on to my fourth bottle. For ages i've been trying toners which have alcohol in them, including good old witchhazel - but they always made me broke out. but i've noticed that since i started using this my acne-prone, sensitive skin has been clearing up alot. It's also left my face extremely soft:)
I actually like the smell, not that if it smelt bad i wouldn't use it anyway ;) i swipe it over my face using cotton pads and i can see all the gunk it's taken off , even if i've just washed my face - somehow it'll still pick up dust and what not. I use it in the morning and in the afternoon (after face wash & face wipes) to take off makeup.
Some people have mentioned that it leaves your face sticky - it does, but i like it, haha. It acts sort of like a primer and helps my makeup stay on longer cause of the "sticky" effect. I know this must sound pretty stupid but it's true, it helps to keep my makeup on, haha.
I bought it for around $10 AUD and one bottle lasts me about a month. I think that's pretty reasonable; i'll be buying again and again and again !

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/12/2009 4:11:00 PM More reviews by aimeeb212

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I enjoy this toner. I've used it for a few years now &have gone through several bottles. I wouldn't say it is a necessity, but my skin is very oily &dry at the same time b/c of my topical acne treatments from the derm &I find this helps to control the oil a bit &just gets that extra grime off my Cetaphil cleanser didn't get. I only use this in the morning. Lately, I've been using the Stridex pads in the red box at nite. I find the scent to be delicate, old-fashined &pleasant. It doesn't contain any infredients like salicylic acid, but thats why I like it. I use Differein, Benzaclin &those Stridex pads &I don't need anymore active ingredients on my face. It has never caused acne or dried out my skin either, but I ususally apply some jojoba oil+moisturizer afterwards. If you're looking for an inexpensive very basic toner then give this stuff a try.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 7/1/2009 12:49:00 AM More reviews by bueller6426

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

Doesn't dry, tighten, or sting skin, however it also produces no noticeable results- I have used it for a month. Refreshing and decent scent. When I run out I will look for a better one.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 6/28/2009 4:33:00 PM More reviews by x0kerbear

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

My skin was always sensitive to toners containing alcohol and many that I have found that are alcohol free just have other harsh ingredients. That being said, I love Neutrogena's alcohol-free toner! It makes my skin feel very fresh when I use it and I've never felt sticky after using it. I generally only use it at night because I find that's all I need (to remove any excess makeup or dirt) and sometimes if it's really humid I'll use it to refresh and remove any excess oil in the morning after cleasning.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/1/2009 1:39:00 AM More reviews by daniellan83

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have very sensitive skin. I like this toner simply because it didn't break me out(like most other toners did). I don't think it does any magic really. But at least didn't do any harm to my skin as far as i can tell. So, I will keep using this unless I can find a much better alternative.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 5/29/2009 2:41:00 AM More reviews by fabulousjune

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

this toner left my face very sticky and cause me to break out! i found the smell wierd too

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 5/26/2009 7:02:00 AM More reviews by babycocox

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I'm neutral towards this product. I like the smell, and I like that it's alcohol free, doesn't burn or sting when I put it on... I do see a slight improvement in my skin when I put it on.. But I use it sporadically because I get put off with the way it leaves my skin feeling. Don't get me wrong, it's not like nasty or anything, but when I use this toner, I get this very slight sticky feeling on my face. It's not a bad product per se, but I would not purchase it again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No