December 22, 2014 | 1768 users online

Foundations - Lucy Minerals Foundation



image 0

rated 4.2(230 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.2
  • 77% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/12/2011 4:45:00 PM More reviews by kbugg

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

I may have found my HG! And believe me, I have tried almost every brand of foundation (high-end to low, both liquid and mineral) since the age of 16).

This stuff is wonderful, I ordered samples and then found my shades: Cream and Bisque (for reference I'm NC20). The cream is more yellow and I use it to cover up redness and around the nose and eyes, the bisque is my all-over color and is a neutral, not too pink or yellow. This foundation does give me a glow but not sparkly like BE. I bought one in the original formula and one in the silica, oil control since I use them together.


I really think the flat-top brush they sell made a huge difference in application for me. Was using old BE brushes that had been washed many times. For those of you that do not like this makeup, make sure you prep your skin (moisturizer, primer) and let soak in. This makeup will not look good if your skin is dry or peeling (as with any makeup).

If you have given up on Mineral foundation, give this a try, the samples are great and the formula is everything I wanted BE to be. The samples are very cheap ($1.50) and you receive the product very quickly in the mail (I got free shipping). They also have weekly specials...the eyeshadow and blush are nice too.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/11/2011 9:17:00 PM More reviews by cherryredtarts

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Skin type: sensitive, very oily, acne prone

I have been using a sample size for a little less than a month and even though I didn't get the exact shade that fits me, this foundation gives you a very beautiful glow. It evens out all the redness around the nose and the cheeks. You will most likely need a heavier concealer for blemishes and adding the mineral foundation on top of the concealer will blur out any discolorations. Even though I have oily skin, the foundation really stays on despite blotting so I can definitely say it is transfer-resistant.
Besides the product, my package came in a pretty short amount of time. I emailed Lucy personally about a concern and she responds right away. The packaging was so beautiful that I didn't want to even open it.
Definitely give it a try. One $1.50 sample has lasted me a little under a month and I still have more left.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 3/10/2011 12:27:00 PM More reviews by celticgal2

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I bought this based on some MUA reviews - I'm 50 and have combination skin - fair complexion. While the price was great - the product is not. It does not last thru the day even using mineral veil over it! It is also drying on the skin which is odd for my normal/oily skin - even my daughter who is 16 that has borrowed it stated it is drying. I do not get the "glow" like you do with bare minerals. So if you are looking for a good product - it is not this one.

I normally do not negatively review products but this one does not come even close to being like bare minerals. I've also used this with and without makeup primer and it does not matter - it does not last!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/7/2011 7:25:00 PM More reviews by rawrlexi

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Medium Eyes: Hazel

After reading all the reviews on Lucy Minerals, I decided to go to their website and see what all the hype was about. I was so happy they provided the option of cheap samples of all the foundation shades, so that I could try out a few different ones to find my perfect match, rather than buy and pray that the shade I chose would be the right one. I also have rosacea, so when I saw that this foundation was supposed to be extra great at covering up lots of red discoloration, I decided I definitely had to try it out. I just received the samples today, and was sort of disappointed at how small the samples were (the website said that each sample should be able to last about a week), but it isn't a huge deal, I just got tapped some product onto a clean surface and it made grabbing product with my brush a thousand times easier. Since I've been re-stocking my make up collection, I've been very sparse on make up brushes. I only have one powder brush at the moment (since I'm accustomed to using liquid foundation), which is the #41 Round Powder Brush from Sephora. The foundation was hard to blend into my skin and since my #41 is fluffy and not as stiff, I feel as if I had to use a ton of product to get it to cover up the redness on my cheeks. I don't think I blame the foundation though, I am waiting on a new, stiffer and denser brush that is better for applying mineral foundation, so I'm hoping with that I'll be able to use less product and blend better. I will have to say, that this foundation has great staying power. It's freezing outside (which means as soon as the cold hits my skin my rosacea flares up), and while most foundations can't cover up my irritated wind blown skin, Lucy's Minerals held tight and when I got home it didn't even look like I'd been out! So that's definitely a plus. I'll add an update once I try applying with a better brush.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 3/6/2011 3:29:00 AM More reviews by xxxPikadoodlexxx

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Green

O.K. I normally do not write a review after using a product just once unless it's absolutely incredible or absolutely horrible. I'm sad to say this product, for me, was the latter. I purchased 4 samples. 3 of foundation (Regular Fair, Light, and the OCC Light (I think this was the oil control version) and one of the "Snow White". I used OCC light on one side of my face and regular formula Fair on the other. I started out with an extremely light application and built up to the coverage I wanted. I give this product 1 lippie for being great at concealing redness with little product but otherwise it looked horrible. Both sides looked chalky even though I have good skin. I left it on for a few hours to see how it wore. I noticed almost immediately it settled around my pores and begin to slide off the tip of my nose. It made my pores look obvious and huge. Granted, they are large around my cheeks but they usually don't look that bad. Also, the chalky look never went away. The longer I wore it the more dry my skin looked. The worst part was washing it off. I use MD Forte II which is a glycolic cleanser which I know can burn but I have been using this product for over a year now with very little stinging. Tonight I put it on and it my skin started to sting and burn immediately. Putting the skin cream on was pure torture. I also noticed after washing it off I now have 3 zits forming. One on the center of my cheek, one on my forehead and one above my lip which is very unusual. The only place I ever break out is along my jaw and even that's rare. The only explanation is this foundation. The zits weren't there before I put it on. Sigh. I'm just glad it came in "try it" sizes and I didn't waste my $ on full sizes.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 3/4/2011 11:31:00 AM More reviews by xtina1120

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I like this product because:
- It does not break me out
- It's reasonably price

However:
-There is no match for my skin tone, for reference I'm an NC 35 and I have yellow undertones. Either everything was to light or to dark, I even tried caramel and it looked orange on me.
- I tried to build it to full coverage using wet and dry applications but it just looked off.
- I like a matte finish better than Lucy's minerals finish.

Overall it's a good foundation but the cons outweigh the pros so I won't be buying this brand again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 3/3/2011 12:27:00 PM More reviews by vanilka

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

Hmm... i really want to love this product, but...
+ good coverage
+ prize
+ natural ingredients
+ donīt break me out (BIG plus)
+ shades (if you are pale girl whit yellow/olive undertones - say hooray and order sample)

- sink in my pores
- not shiny, but too glowy for my

i prefer matte finish (this is general reason why i donīt buy again), but i donīt feel sorry or pity for money i spent (try me size). itīs great highlighter :-))

just try and will see

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/2/2011 4:26:00 PM More reviews by alishakee

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

If u see my profile..i hardly ever write a review..cuz I'm super picky about a product..and i don't want to always complain this and that product here at mua..
Lucy minerals...
OH.MY.GOODNESS!!!!
That is what i react when i tried their fdtn.
How can it be sooooo perfect?
Its light weight,yet gives u full coverage,
It makes my skin looks sooo naturally beautiful,yet there is no harmful chemical in it?????HOW ON EARTH CAN THIS BE POSSIBLE.
AM I DREEEEAMING???
I read that oily user doesn't really like it???i don't know why:(..
But it works great with my combination skin.
I pray that it will NEVER ever run out of business,as from now on i will ONLY use this fdtn as i HATE chemical in my fdtn!!
I have tried tons of fdtn..
Dior nude,Armani,clarins,bb cream,laura mercier,bourjois,guerlain,
And Mac,estee lauda,channel,lancome,,mufe,tarte..
I liked dior,bb creams,lancome,and mufe,..

But they all have chemicals..AND Lucy minerals BLOW everything away!!!!!
U can see I Never write any reviews for any of them (except Dior) as they do not impress me at all,or i can only say bad things about them so i rather save my time not writing it.(Unless a product REALLY piss me off ..lol)

I'm in love with it..and the owner Annie is super kind and helpful.. I mean SUPER!
I can't thank her enough.
I tried BE too!! Yuck!!! So chalky..so un-natural!!

I really have NO IDEA why on earth someone would not like it..
I am super picky about cosmetics..but i will give LM a score of...
100/100!!which is rare for a picky,perfectionist person like me!!
Im SOO happy my hunt for HG FDNT is literally ,OVER.
Thank you thank you thank you LM ^-^
I LOVE YOU!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 2/28/2011 12:26:00 PM More reviews by TiaR

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

NC35. oily, acne-prone skin. Started with creamy bisque...wayy too light. Ordered medium olive plus all the other medium samples. Medium olive is too yellow for me, not even really olive...(where-as i found EDM definitely had olive foundations). The others were WAY too pink. Or yellow. There is no neutral or inbetween, here, which I usually am. Maybe I'm hard to match. anyway, I can pull off medium olive by mixing it with some peach colour corrector. It's creamy, as everyone has described. Creamy and glowy and great coverage upon application. Feels lightweight and healthy. BUT OILY SKIN BEWARE: It breaks apart, melts, moves, sinks into your pores, creases, and shifts even with setting powder AND setting spray (by skindinavia). Actually, it's worse with setting spray because it gets more of a 'cracked' effect. Every 3-4 hours i have to go and "re-smudge" this foundation. It's the most annoying thing on the planet. I can't do that all day. Ahhh....c'est la vie. Good luck to others!

EDIT: In the winter this is pretty nice, because I'm not as oily. Playing around with a few colours again, will update...

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/27/2011 11:07:00 PM More reviews by snerd

Age: 36-43 Skin: Sensitive, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

First off, Lucy Minerals shouldn't be an unlisted brand. I am so glad that I stumbled upon the reviews here and finally found my HG foundation. I use the original formula in Bisque and it not only makes my face look flawless, but it is actually improving my skin. I have been using the makeup for a few weeks and I pray that they never go out of business.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No