September 20, 2014 | 1175 users online

Liquid - Maybelline - Fit Me Foundation

rated 3.0(1583 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.0
  • 47% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.2
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 on 12/31/2010 6:51:00 PM More reviews by hesperia

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Combination, Other, Neutral Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

I have to rewrite my review. Obviously 'coverage' is in the eye of the beholder, which is probably why some people define anything that is not clear water as having 'coverage.' Oh, well. To each his own.


I take 'coverage' to mean dissemble, cover, mask, camouflage, hide imperfections. Not as a synonym to 'even out tone.' Totally different things. If like me, you have imperfect oily skin that needs REAL coverage, you won't get it from this stuff. Moreover, it will make you an oily slick instantly. I use MUFE's HD setting powder - which mattifies almost anything - and this thing still shines through very quickly.


I think it would be more helpful if people were more OBJECTIVE when reviewing a product, rather than let the normal bias of their personal preferences interfere with the merits (or lack thereof) of a product.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 12/31/2010 12:49:00 AM More reviews by uraznbabygurl

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

Although I know that the concept of this line of makeup isn't new (L'Oreal's True Match line is similar as far as advertising), I had heard about this for a while and it intrigued me. Sometimes I run into the problem of mismatching my concealer when I don't use its coordinating foundation, or sometimes I end up buying a blush that's too light for my skin. So, this is indeed a nice idea especially for those who don't want to take too much time guessing which shades go together.


I was able to find part of the collection at my Target (I drove to my CVS, Walgreens, Ulta, and Walmart looking for it to no avail. GAAAH!). I noticed that not all of the shades were available in the display, but I'm assuming it will be complete next month when it's officially released. Furthermore, only the foundation and pressed powder were available in my display. Both were $6.99 and I purchased both. :)


I actually am quite impressed with their shade selection. Not many drugstore foundations have anything yellow/beige enough for my skin. I'm NC30 and I found 2 good matches good with shades 210 (Sandy Beige) and 220 (Natural Beige). I could get away with wearing both shades, but 210 is a much safer bet for me now that it's winter. I was also able to swatch 230 (peachy-yellow toned) and 235 (beige/pink). I would say that 220 may also match NC35's, and it's comparable in color to Classic Beige in Maybelline's 24 Hour Superstay foundation.


I was worried that this foundation may not work for me because I'm quite oily. Surprisingly, despite the satin/glowy finish, I thought it lasted for a decent amount of time given that I didn't wash my face or put any face primer on. Thus, I'm sure it would last even longer if I didn't skip those steps. I have since worn this foundation with a primer and a setting powder, and I still can say it lasted for a reasonable amount of time. I also don't have a whole lot to cover, so I found that the light-medium coverage was perfect for me. I used my fingers to apply it at first, but I experimented some more and now I prefer to apply it with a foundation brush. However, you can also apply with a flat top brush to attain full coverage.


Lastly, big kudos to Maybelline for the gorgeous packaging. If I didn't see the label on the cap, I would have guessed it was from a higher end brand. All in all, I feel like this foundation is definitely worth a try, especially for $7!


EDIT:
While I still like this foundation, I had to bump it down to a 4. It's WAY too much for my oily skin now that it's getting close to summer. Nonetheless, I still think it's the nice, lightweight foundation that I love :P


COLOR NOTES:
I took my MAC Studiofix Fluid in NC30 and compared it to 220. They are both similar in depth, but I would say that 220 is probably a tiny bit lighter than NC30. Also, NC30 is more orange whereas 220 is yellow/tan. Shade 210 and NC30 have similar orange-yellow tones, so it's worth checking/trying out if 220 looks too dark, beige, or olive on you in certain lights.

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 12/30/2010 9:23:00 PM More reviews by jasminefire

Age: 44-55 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

After breaking my heart by discontinuing my beloved original Age Rewind foundation, Maybelline has tried to kiss and er, made-up with this new offering. Fit Me 220 is close to perfect for my light golden Asian complexion, and it goes on smoothly for a natural, light-coverage effect. Not too greasy for my dry, sensitive skin, and it gets through the day with some resiliency. While it would be nice if it had a pump, the bottle is a thing of beauty in itself. A decent foundation, but there must be better.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 12/30/2010 2:45:00 PM More reviews by niqueee29

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other Eyes: Brown

I bought this about a week ago and i love it its great for everyday foundation it feels light and looks natural. I like it and recommended people to give it a try. For a drugstore foundation it does its job.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/28/2010 10:56:00 PM More reviews by itsjoyeeeboy

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

i have oily/ acne prone skin
i have a lot of acne scars and some acne
this foundation is amazing
i have used revlon photoready,neutrogena healthy skin, one step make up by stila and some other products
this is super light weight
and it has descent coverage
it has a nice fresh scent
and it doesnt irritate my skin.
it is very blendable and its easy to find your perfect shade
it goes from white to very dark.
there are 18 different shades.
it is about 7 dollars at target!!!!
the packaging sucks... as always NO PUMP but whatever its only 7 bucks
so i recomend this to anyone that wants a natural looking face
not a cake face ...
if u want to look like a healthy person u should buy this but if ur going for that pornstar cheap face then this is not the foundation for u... but if u need a lot of coverage i would recommend you the rimmel foundation

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 12/27/2010 10:38:00 PM More reviews by MsAshleyCrim

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

The consistency is very light weight with light to medium coverage. I wouldn’t consider this foundation to have buildable coverage- I tried adding an extra layer to my chin and cheek area but it offered little extra coverage. Surprisingly, the foundation didn’t get cakey when packed on. This is great because it makes the product fool proof! No matter how you apply it, it will provide an extremely natural finish (almost similar to a tinted moisturizer but better).

Many reviewers have mentioned that this product gets oily after a few hours and isn’t very long wearing. I haven’t had a problem with the foundation making my skin oily, but it does have a very satin, or dewy finish. Some women love this look and others despise it, so oily skinned ladies beware! Even when set with a mattifying powder this foundation will have a natural/satiny glow, so if you don’t like this kind a finish I’d steer clear.

As for longevity (the product doesn’t claim to be long wearing), I’d have to agree with other reviewers that this foundation doesn’t provide lasting coverage. I wore the product for about four hours tonight, and I could already tell the product was dissipating, or as I like to say “evaporating” from the skin. I made the mistake of wearing this foundation to work. When I looked in the mirror around lunch time, it looked as though I was wearing absolutely no foundation/powder etc. What a disappointment! It is because of this factor that I won't repurchase.

For $7.00 I think this is a good foundation for those looking for something to balance out their skin tone and hide minor imperfections. Paired with a good concealer, this foundation could provide a very healthy, radiant look. Also, I loved that the drugstore display provided small samples of the foundation. This made color matching extremely easy!

For those that enjoy the “no-foundation”, natural look, I’d give this a try. I’d especially recommend this to women with dry skin.I wouldn’t recommend this product to someone with oily skin. I also wouldn’t recommend this product to anyone looking for a foundation to last longer than 5 hours without touch up.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/27/2010 8:09:00 PM More reviews by tiffanyyzz

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I love this foundation ! Gives nice natural coverage. Very thin and light but still provides nice coverage. I apply this with a face brush. With a stippling brush it just doesn't look as nice in my opinion. I really like it tho. It was super duper easy for me to find my shade ! This is super duper new & the packaging is to die for. It doesn't hydrate or dry out my skin. I like how it looks dewy after applied. I don't need to set it with powder just because I love how it looks dewy and not matte. I like how it looks natural and it has spf 18! And the price is just absolutely amazing. I got this at target for about 6 bucks.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/26/2010 2:46:00 PM More reviews by jqsuared

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

I have been on a foundation quest for the last three months. I have tried just about everything...... From Tarte to Bobbi Brown, Dermablend, MUFE, Cargo, Too Face, everything. I think Sephora hates me now for returning so much. But nothing was working on my skin! I usually have combo to more oily skin, but now that winter is here, I have dry patches. I saw Maybelline's Fit Me foundation on a random trip to Target and I'm always interested in new products, so I snatched up the foundation and matching powder. The foundation bottle looked pretty high end, but you obviously can't judge a product simply by the bottle. The powder had typical drugstore packaging. Nothing to exciting. At the time when I bought this, I was using Peter Thomas Roth's foundation and was pretty satisfied with it, besides the cost. When I initially applied the Fit Me foundation, I used a small concealer brush to dab it onto my skin so I could buff it in with my Cover FX Foundation Brush, (which I could not live without.) I sorta stipple the makeup around my face and then I buff it in. So far so good. The consistency is rather thin, medium coverage but VERY buildable. So I applied a bit more the same way, stippled and then buffed. Once I achieved the coverage I was looking for, I grabbed a powder brush, sprayed it with UD Dew Me, and buffed my face to even everything out. The finish is a nice satin finish. It doesn't look cakey or orange, it looks natural. I am always concerned about having the foundation line, but I don't get that with this make up. I am VERY pleased with Fit Me and the price makes me even more happy. There are no strange smells to this product, no break outs, which I am prone to, and the foundation last for a decent amount of time. Out of pure ocd, I do check my make up and either blot or dust on some powder every 2 hours or so, even if I don't need to. So all in all, I love this foundation. I have been using it for 2 weeks without any issues and I intend to buy it again. I don't reach for the powder so much because I do have nicer ones. The only drawback is no pump on the bottle. I think a pump should be mandatory for all foundations. This is a great foundation and as picky as I am, I am totally pleased with it.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 12/23/2010 8:55:00 PM More reviews by kittywompus

Age: 44-55 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

I got this in 220 Natural Beige--the lightest of the medium shades. The color looks good, product applies nicely with fingers. Makeup is very thin but gives good coverage and blends well. I get greasy after 3-4 hours but, to be fair, this occurs with all liquid foundations on me. A pump on the bottle would have been nice but I will continue to use this. It's a good value for the price.

I also got the matching powder and that doesn't look the same. It goes on darker than the foundation and turns orange instantly. Bummer.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 12/21/2010 10:22:00 PM More reviews by jmebby

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

Rarely am I ever at Walmart, but I was there to pick up Hard Candy's Glamoflage concealer (which I LOVE!) when I ran into Maybelline's "Fit Me!" display. I was really impressed by the packaging, it looked so sleek and much resembled NARS. The display had testers of each shade, which was convenient because d/s brands don't usually offer testers. I was very happy with the color selection because most of the shades had a golden undertone which again is rare for a d/s brand. I'm about a NC42 right now and 310 was a PERFECT MATCH. The formula is a cross between NARS sheer glow and sheer matte. It's a has a denser consistency that sheer glow but it's a lot thinner than sheer matte. I applied this foundation in two ways, with a brush (standard foundation brush, a flat top buffer, and stipple -- three different occasions) and finally with my fingers. I found that if you want full coverage, go with the flat top buffer. The other two brush applications were eh to me. I really liked the way that the foundation looked when I applied it with my fingers though. I just dabbed two dime sized amounts and dotted around my face and smoothed it over like a moisturizer. It left a nice satin glowy, yet matte finish..weird, I know; but it's hard to describe.

Now for the cons. I have slightly oily skin but it's nothing too crazy. After two hours of wearing this my face was GREASY. The foundation had melted off completely. When I got home, I had three pimples forming. UGH! Such a nightmare. I really wanted to fall in love..

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No