January 27, 2015 | 1181 users online

Moisturizers - Philosophy - Hope in a Jar - for all skin types



image 0image 1

rated 2.8(1683 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 2.8
  • 39% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.0
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 on 7/16/2004 3:59:00 AM More reviews by skinderella

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I thought I buying a wonderful moisturizer from Philosophy, but to my dismay, THIS PRODUCT DOES NOTHING!!! I've never felt this way about a moisturizer before, and I've tried lots!! After I put it on, it just feels like I've applied some sort of cream onto my face that does nothing. I have combination skin and it doesn't moisturize or do anything except make my skin feel like there's a film on it. This was definitely a waste of money. P.S. The smell is kinda funky too.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 7/15/2004 9:50:00 AM More reviews by acnephoebia

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I really had a high hope for this one after reading all the raves about the cream. The smell DID bother me but I think it smells more like yogurt, not a wet dog or anything. I have normal to dry skin, but it didn't moisturize well enough. I didn't notice any difference in my skin tone, either.
Pass this one.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 7/13/2004 11:17:00 PM More reviews by ceciliathemuppet

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Oh my gosh.. yall were right.. wet dog scent- all the way!! P.U., I don't know what you're talkin about, reviewer before me, that it doesn't smell bad.. it is terribly rank! But on the good side my face does seem to be a little brighter, but I don't think I can hang with the awful smell long enough to see the real results. Woof!! (literally, I smell like a dirty puppy!!) I know I won't shutup about it but honestly, it's making my heart beat fast for some reason and I feel like I'm about to get sick. NOT worth it!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 7/9/2004 4:12:00 PM More reviews by rather_bohemian

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I'm not sure why so many people complain about the smell of this cream. I admit it's different but it doesn't bother me. It has a whipped texture that melts into your skin as you smooth it over your face. It is emollient enough for summer use and has not caused any break outs. I use it with the vitamin c powder in the day time. What I dislike about it is the lack of sun screen and having to scoop the product out or use your fingers. I am happy with it so far, it does seem to be helping improve my skin's overall look and feel.
UPDATE 9/27: I still think this is a decent cream but I don't love it as much. I will proabaly continue to use once in a while as a lighter moisturizer.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/3/2004 5:38:00 PM More reviews by my2boys

Age: 30-35 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Love this moisturizer. It's great for my sensitive skin. I get intermitant dry, scaly, angry red spots thanks to roscaeca, but I haven't experienced any of this since using it. Smells a little odd at first, but you get used to it after a while and the results are worth it. I will definately purchase this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/1/2004 3:57:00 PM More reviews by molly34

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

wow! my skin's never looked soo good! bye bye to dry skin, hello sexy soft skin! yay! tis a dream :D

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 6/25/2004 6:57:00 AM More reviews by irishgirl71

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

LLL, Combo-Sensitive-Mild Rosacea>>>I must admit that I am my own "lab-rat" and test many different products due to my neverending quest for the perfect skincare. However, the only reason why I decided to give Hope in a Jar a try was due to Emmy winning Makeup Artist, Kevin Bennett's recommendation on his website or maybe just curiosity? lol! Nevertheless, I am glad I gave it a chance. I found this moisturizer to be medium-thick in texture and very easy to spread. I was also impressed with how quickly to moisturizer sets leaving your skin with a silky-smooth finish that's not greasy. Due to the silicones in this product, you are left with a finish that is perfect for makeup as your skin feels "primed." I do not feel as though this is a miracle in a jar but it is one of the better moisturizers I have tried and I have tried many silicone based moisturizers..I haven't had any breakouts or rebound oiliness with this product. What sets this apart from other silicone moisturizers is that I do not feel as though the silicone is drying out my skin and my skin feels almost "cushy" for lack of a better word. Due to the fact that many people have trouble with silicones, I would suggest trying to score a sample first before buying a full size. Hopefully, you will be as lucky as I was and want a full size. In a nutshell, thumbs up for this moisturizer/primer!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 6/25/2004 1:32:00 AM More reviews by jlbff

Age: Unknown Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

YUCK!!!!! This stuff is AWFUL! Does it work? I have no idea because right after I put it on & started inhaling the smell, I started to get a headache and had to take it right off. TOXIC! I think my husband would've had to call 911 if I left it on any longer.


Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/21/2004 4:19:00 AM More reviews by bronzedsugar

Age: 44-55 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I generally don't use moisturizers on my face for the fear of breakouts however I decided to give this one a try and now it's my grail. I applied it at night and woke up the next morning noticing a dramatic difference in my skin. Such a nice glow. I liked how it sunk right in and my face was so soft, with NO breakouts. Been using this both am and pm and absolutely love it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 5/26/2004 8:29:00 PM More reviews by gerly1

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

This has to be one of the worst things I ever did to my face. It caused me to have major breakouts. In fact I have had no luck with this line at all. It made my skin so greasy and oily I'm still trying to correct the problems it caused. I do love the bath products and and Amazing Grace Is my HG for perfume, I hate there skin care. Way to expensive for what you get, and the trouble it causes.

Is this review helpful? Yes No