August 28, 2014 | 1448 users online

Mascara - BeneFit Cosmetics - They're Real

rated 3.5(1707 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.5
  • 54% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.9
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 1/15/2012 4:40:00 PM More reviews by Amalulu

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Having stubby asian eyelashes i generally have a very hard time finding a mascara that I love. I bought this mascara on a whim and it did exceed my expectations.

It did make my lashes look incredibly long. It also held curl very well. The downside was that it smudged slightly under the outer corner of my eyes after 8 hours of work wear. The tube didn't last very long and became quite gloopy within about 3 weeks. It's also qutie pricey. At least compared to maxfactor mascara that i have been using mostly for about 10 years.

All in all i would recommend. I would still repurchase, but keep as my 'special' treat mascara. I will stick to maxfactor for every day wear as they are reasonably priced and more long lasting.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/14/2012 6:49:00 PM More reviews by Charlesan11

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I am obsessed with this mascara. I am SO picky when it comes to mascaras. Once I find one I love, I stick with it. Previous favorites were L'oreal Voluminous in Carbon Black and Benefit's Bad Gal Lash. This one is better than both of those. Love it. Will definitely re-purchase when I run out!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 1/14/2012 12:32:00 AM More reviews by miluna

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This mascara worked very nicely at first, I liked the brush and it seemed to really elongate my lashes. But after a couple of weeks, I noticed that it doesn't seem to last and I end up having just stringy lashes at the end of the day. And the brush is almost dangerous, its soo stiff, I've almost scratched my cornea on it. But the worst part, even though I think this formula is not very long lasting, its almost impossible to take off. Will never buy again

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/13/2012 10:00:00 AM More reviews by Smallonion

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I was burnt out on mascaras - they all seem the same, even though every week a new drugstore one comes out promising XXXXL COLLASSAL LASHES!! I gave up trying them - they were all the same - nothing spectacular. Also, I was burnt out on Benefit. They always promise too much and in my opinion, most of their products don't live up to their promises. HOWEVER...I tried this mascara based on reviews that expressed how hard it was to remove. (That is a good thing to me - means it has staying power. I work a physical job, but still like to look presentable!). I love it. The formula is not clumpy and covers beautifully, and is very nice and easy to apply, first try. It lengthens lashes and stays on *all* day. Those of you who have trouble removing it - don't struggle with it, you'll lose lashes! Get an *oil based* makeup remover that says "removes even waterproof makeup*. That will make it slide off easily. I am really impressed with this mascara, and really surprised that I like it so much.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/11/2012 7:11:00 PM More reviews by amosner

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

when i bought this mascara, i wasn't really in the market for a new one. i had the DiorShow one already and it was okay, but i wasn't thrilled with it. i will admit though that i am a sucker for Benefit's packaging, and it just looked so goshdarned cute and enticing, especially with the way they advertised it.

i was very pleasantly surprised when i used it for the first time. the thing that really got me hooked is the combination of the great brush and a non-clumpy formula, which obviously translated to better looking lashes. it also really does lengthen them. i'm very pleased with it!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/7/2012 11:28:00 PM More reviews by annang

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Love the brush on this mascara, it really separates and applies the mascara evenly, coating each hair with the right amount so that it doesn't clump together. Each lash is separated and fanned out. That said, it coats the lash pretty evenly and thin. It does a little bit for thickening but I would not say this is a volumizing mascara. It is good for a really pretty natural, fanned out lashes look. It does more for defining and perhaps lengthening. The formula lasts all day and does not come off as easily as other non-waterproof mascaras. You do however, have to find the right cleanser to wash this off your eyes because with regular water you will just get raccoon eyes. Only down side would be that the wand gathers a lot of excess formula at the bottom and I have to wipe it off on the edge of the tube which gets a little messy and wasteful. I wish The end point of the wand were better designed so that formula doesn't collect on it in a big goop. Otherwise, I was really surprised by this mascara- it gives nice separated, defined, fluffy lashes. I would not say it gives your lashes a "wet" look though or that it particular does anything in regards to curling. It does not make my lashes droop though because the formula is on the dry side and not too wet so it gets a plus on that.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/7/2012 10:17:00 AM More reviews by scooter

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This has become my go-to mascara. I have dark brown lashes, but they're kind of short and skimpy. This stuff seems to lengthen and thicken them pretty well with one coat, and two coats makes them huge. I've found that it can be a tad clumpy, but it's nothing that can't be fixed with a good eyelash comb. No flakes and no smearing, and it doesn't irritate my eyes (I wear contacts). I'm not excited about the price since mascara is basically disposable, but I'll buy it again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 1/7/2012 3:44:00 AM More reviews by TacoFlavoredKisses

Age: 30-35 Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

It's not a bad mascara- if you're looking for length and definition. You don't get much volume, and it doesn't hold a curl very well. Also- this is a very wet formula- seems like it took a long time for it to dry, and even then, lashes were still pliable and flexible (which may be a good thing, IDK). I'll use it until it's gone, but there are so many mascaras out there, I have yet to buy a mascara more than once, with the exception of a few. No complaints here, just nothing amazing :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/6/2012 5:28:00 PM More reviews by fromstarstuff

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I have super sensitive eyes and can't wear just any mascara. Most of them make my eyes burn and turn red, and I get all red and irritated if it touches my skin. I like for my lashes to look dark and full, so I decided to give They're Real a try.


First off, I really like the bottle. Packaging isn't usually a huge deal for me (most of my makeup is in little jars, after all), but the shiny bottle is cute to me. The mascara doesn't have an off-putting smell like other brands I've tried. It goes on nice and black and stays that way. I really like that the mascara doesn't crumble off, and it stays put if I get sweaty or tear up. It does take a good bit of cleansing to get it off, though. I am able to remove it with my normal apricot oil, but I really have to work at it with my fingers for a while. I think if I tried to use a wipe/towelette, I'd end up losing lashes. It does take a minute for the mascara to "set", though, so I'm able to wipe off any that I accidentally get on my face without a problem.


The only thing I don't like is that an eyelash comb is pretty much mandatory. One coat is fine for every day wear, but when I want more of a falsies look, I have to use a second coat. The mascara makes my lashes very stiff, so a second coat is really hard to apply. If I do, I start getting spidery. If I run a comb through my lashes immediately after the first coat, it's a little bit better, but once that dries, there's no getting anything to remove the clumps. If it weren't for that, I'd rate it a 5.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/6/2012 3:26:00 PM More reviews by Natalya121

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I have very sensitive eyes and don't usually wear mascara anymore but I bought into the hype after having it applied at a counter and decided to purchase. I've worn it everyday for over 2 months and have had no irritation, even after long days at work.
I curl my lashes 2 or 3 times before applying as this does make my curl drop. I dab the end of the brush on a tissue before applying else it tends to clump. I only apply one coat, it lengthens and gives delicate volume if I apply a second it tends to flake alot and clumps easily. The brush is large so application is quick but sometimes painful if applying first thing in the morning, the bristles are long and tend to jab my eyes.
It's a lovely mascara which has lasted longer than I expected. It started drying out ofter about 6 weeks so I'm quite pleased. It will be my go to work mascara for the forseeable future.

Is this review helpful? Yes No