July 31, 2014 | 1647 users online

Eye Primer - Urban Decay - Eyeshadow Primer Potion - Original (UDPP)

rated 4.3(5848 reviews)

  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 12/31/2013 10:27:00 PM More reviews by Meril

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Green

I've never been much of an eyeshadow person, but eyeliner is an absolutely indispensable part of my routine. But my eyes are, shall we say, a little problematic. Oily, double lids combined with deep-set eyes and an active lifestyle mean that I've literally spent years trying to find some way to keep the damn stuff where I put it. I've tried setting it with eyeshadow, translucent powder (over and under the liner) - you name it, I've tried it. And let's not even go into the bag full of rejected eyeliners I've gone through, each promising long wear, but each and every one of them inevitably ending up smeared across my under-eye area, eyelid, crease, and browbone, sometimes before I'd even left the mirror.

I've always been a strictly drugstore-only girl when it comes to makeup - I'm on a student's budget, and couldn't afford to get sucked into an addiction to more expensive products. But I got a Sephora gift card for Christmas, and the first thing in my shopping bag was UDPP. I'd read all the rave reviews about it, but thought it couldn't be *that* good. I'd been disappointed so many times that the best I was realistically hoping for was something that would at least keep my liner sorta in place for five or six hours. And, hey, with $20 of Santa's money to spend, what did I have to lose?

And, wow, was I wrong! not only does it lock my eyeliner in place from 7:30 AM to midnight, but on most days, when I go to take it off, it looks as fresh and vibrant as if I'd just applied it. This is a real game-changer for me - now I'm free to go and re-visit all the shades of liner I loved but had to set aside when they wouldn't stay put, and I never have to worry about the dreaded raccoon-eye again!

There has been a bit of a learning curve with regards to application, though. It comes with just a squeeze-tube, not the wand shown in the photo above, so learning how big a dot I need to squeeze out has taken some time - too much, and it slides everywhere (especially into my lashes) and makes a mess, but too little, and it doesn't have enough staying power to combat my legendarily troublesome eyelids. I find that a glob about half the size of a pea is just about right for each eyelid.

Price-wise, I guess it could be worse. I wouldn't want to be buying a tube a week or anything, and it is definitely the most expensive product in my makeup bag (drugstore-only girl, remember?), but I get so much bang for my buck that I consider it money well spent. I'd be over the moon if they came out with a more budget-friendly price (my L'oreal BB cream is about half the price, and for a little more product, too), naturally, but as it is, I'll use it sparingly but repurchase until they stop making it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/31/2013 6:23:00 PM More reviews by kayjay287

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I am of the poster child when it comes to oily skin, and at the end of the day my eye makeup either gave me the raccoon look or was wiped off completely. UDPP has been a godsend. I'll put some on my lid and under my eye, and the eyeliner and shadow stays put all day. Even after I wash my face, my eye shadow looks only slightly faded and I have to use eye makeup remover to get it off. UDPP goes on light and smooth. Mine doesn't have the wand in it like the picture above shows, but I like that I'll be able to squeeze out the last remnant of product as I run out. I used to use the Trish McEvoy eyelid primer, which was cakey, dried out quickly, and packaged poorly so as to leave alot of inaccessible product in the bottle. I still have a brand new bottle of the it, but have cast it aside in exuberant favor of UDPP.

For all you other oily-lidded sisters out there, check out the Urban Decay Cannonball mascara as well. That and UDPP will be your BFFS.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/27/2013 10:10:00 AM More reviews by misscherstar

Age: 30-35 Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

Madly in love, you only need alittle bit because it goes along way!! I had for over 6 months and use everyday, make sure to blend as soon as you apply so it won't dry up on lid.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 12/22/2013 7:14:00 PM More reviews by rockstar00

Age: Unknown Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine Eyes: Brown

I'm in the minority on this review of UDPP but I don't like it. I have tried it a few times and it just doesn't work for me. I can feel it on my lids (it feels uncomfortable like I know it's on) it makes my eyes feel "tired" and I only get relief once I wash it all off my lids. It works okay as a primer but what is the use if it is not comfortable. I walk right on by this at Sephora.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/22/2013 11:18:00 AM More reviews by lashandbrow

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

I tried to replace you with Fergie Take On The Day.

I will NEVER stray again.

For those of you who are having problems with it looking cakey or chalky. You need to moisturize your eyes in the morning and at night!!! Failure to use a good eye cream will result in chalk with ANY primer. I learned this the hard way.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/22/2013 8:32:00 AM More reviews by RobinR

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is a wonderful product. Everyone agrees but one thing I always use it for also is this; I have oily eyelids and some days I don't wear shadow, just liner. I always, always put this on then cover with a little Honey Bisque, oily lids are dealt with!
Love the stuff....

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/21/2013 5:03:00 PM More reviews by Sara44

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love this eye primer!

When I bought it I loved it right away, it made my eyeshadow my vibrant and easy to apply. Also the staying power was incredible, after I washed my face the eye shadow would still be there.
To be honest I realized how much I loved it when I ran out and had to use eye shadow on it's own (naked palette 2) it was still great but the colour wasn't as vibrant and faded after a few hours. Overall a must if your an eyeshadow junkie!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 12/21/2013 1:31:00 PM More reviews by lovelymallie

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Other, Coarse Eyes: Blue

There's so many reviews of this, so I'm just gonna make it short.

- It's really great, but too expensive. The elf eyelid primer is just as good, but much cheaper.
But if you want a good quality primer, and wanna pay for it, this is it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/21/2013 1:13:00 PM More reviews by Spackard84

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This primer is amazing! Your eyeshadow will not budge all day!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/19/2013 7:51:00 AM More reviews by Anera

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Green

I love this stuff. I bought it based on the MUA reviews and am happy I did. By the end of the day, while everything slides off, my eye make-up stays strong! I'm loving it, and will repurchase it. You don't need much, and the saying power of an eyeshadow is much more prolonged with UDPP then with MAC's Painterly. Painterly tends to crease, or, since I have oily eyelids, vanish from my eyelids entirely!

UDPP: worth the price.

Is this review helpful? Yes No