April 19, 2014 | 1243 users online

Crème - Revlon - ColorStay Whipped Creme Makeup

rated 3.9(1111 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.9
  • 69% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.1
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 10/20/2013 9:16:00 PM More reviews by briloveschocolatebunnies

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I was really hesitant to purchase this. I'm very acne prone, and this makeup does not advertise as non-comedogenic. It also is very creamy (hence the "whipped" name), and upon looking at it, you'd think it would be a disaster if you are acne prone. But I've been using this for months, and my skin has never looked better.

So first, I was happy that it doesn't break me out. But more than that, the texture of it glides over the skin and doesn't crease. It blends easily, and has the perfect amount of coverage (moderate). Goes on very well with fingers, in fact, I prefer it to a brush or wedge. It really does last all day---and for me, if I set with a bit of powder, I don't have to touch it up at all. The color selection also is very nice.

It really feels strange that the foundation I always come back to is this one---and that I prefer it to some of the higher end brands---but probably the best part about it is that it looks great in photos. Maybe that's because it has no SPF so you don't get that white cast from flash, but it really gives this nice "velvet" type of finish that isn't too dewy (which would like shiny in a photo) but isn't too matte either (which I really find aging). Be sure to wear SPF underneath if you plan anytime in the sun though.

I highly recommend giving it a try. It's too bad there aren't smaller sample sizes of this to try----once you purchase this, it will last you a long time! Oh and check out the many YouTube tutorial clips about applying this---I found this helped me.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/18/2013 6:14:00 AM More reviews by ibangal

Age: 30-35 Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This creme is amazing. I was taught that i should stay away from cream makeup as i have very oily skin and i live in tropical country. But i read good reviews about it so decide to try it out. It is pricey in Malaysia(USD20) but its worth it. I come back from work and the makeup is still there. With most brands my foundation will slide or get cakey, this one didnt. I look the same as the time i put it on in the morning.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/12/2013 4:54:00 AM More reviews by bubbles62165

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This product has really turned my skin from red, freckly and dull, to beautiful, smooth and flawless in less than 5 minutes. I use my fingers to apply this product and that gives medium coverage but if you apply it with a brush or sponge, it gives full coverage. This product stays on for at least 12 hours with no problem and no touch ups. My skin has not reacted to this product once.
I love how smooth this product feels on my face and when you go and check your face in a mirror about an hour later, it looks better than when you first applied it! It just sinks into the skin to give a healthy, bright glow.
I would definitely buy this product until it is discontinued!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/12/2013 2:19:00 AM More reviews by prplepolkadotz

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I have this foundation in the color buff and its a perfect seamless match for my slimline. Its been a battle trying to find that in itself. This foundation has the texture of pudding..I have very oily acne prone skin. Though it didn't cause me to break out it only controls my oil for about four.hours till I need to blot. I have lots of red spots on my face and purple/red acne scars all along my jaw line and let me tell you lol when I solly this foundation I don't even need concealer!! I just fan a little extra on my problem areas and im good to go! I feel like this foundation is so close to my HG that I will repurchase. I just wish oil control was a teeny bit better.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/11/2013 4:00:00 PM More reviews by TiffanyChic

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I used to be a die-hard Maybelline. Dream Matte Mousse wearer for about 5 years until I woke up and said "hello? You don't have oily skin. It doesn't work for you!" So I bought this after watching several tutorials and raves about it and I am in LOVE. Definitely will be repurchasing. Best used with fingertips but a sponge gives it a more airbrushed. finish. But the packing is bulky and unhygenic. The price is a little much but since a little goes a long way I won't have to worry about repurchasing. for a while. But am I the only who gets a tingly feeling where you sweat most when wearing this? Or when you begin to wash it off your face?

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/9/2013 7:48:00 AM More reviews by NikkiduP

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

This is a high quality long lasting foundation. Revlon has really proven themselves to be on par with some high end brands (think MAC, Estee Lauder, Clinique, Clarins). This foundation does what it claims and is the best value for money.

Packaging
I like the jar. It looks classy and allows you to get just the right amount out with a CLEAN beauty blender. A little goes a long way so I think a pump would dispense too much and its too thick for a tube. Some people say it is heavy to carry around in a handbag but I find this foundation does not budge! You can apply it in the morning and walk out the door, leaving the jar at home.

Application
This may be tricky and requires playing around with. Personally I found a beauty blender works best with quick dabbing motion NOT streaking. The product can dry quickly so you need to move fast. A foundation brush did not blend it out evenly enough and I hated using my fingers because my hands required alot of washing afterwards (the colorstay is no joke). It leaves a semi matte finish and does not look cakey or fake provided you worked with a light hand. I do recommend concealer if you still need to cover blemishes, instead of piling on more product. I have dry skin, and foresee that not all dry skin girls will like this product. You need to moisturise well beforehand! And do not set it with powder. It will stay put on its own (dry skin). It does not feel like a mask but your skin can feel dry if you dont moisturise properly or use some kind of hydrating primer or face spritz throughout the day. In summer this may not be needed.

Staying power
By now everybody knows its long lasting but my most impressive moment came yesterday. I live in South Africa and we are just approaching Summer. It was34 degrees celcius (I dont know what that is in farenheit). I left the house at 10am, I was rushing around all day running errands, sat in my hot car (no aircon) for an hour during traffic. Heaven knows I was sweating! By 11pm when I went to wash my face, it looked EXACTLY the same as the morning. Not even the slightest fade. I also wore a white shirt yesterday and no transfer at all. Even when I purposfully rubbed the shirt against my cheek.

When to wear
This has no SPF in it and personally its too full coverage for those beach/pool days. I would wear this when I want to look my best or if Im going to be indoors all day or if I know Im going to out the house the entire day and cant touch up. The rest of the time I will stick with sunblock and concealer only.

Removal
A normal cleanser will not remove this stuff! You need to invest in a good makeup remover and probably cleanse your face twice afterwards. This has not broken me out but I can see how this might be possible if you do not wash it off adequately especially if you have coupled it with things like primer, powder, concealer etc. Ive experimented with a few makeup removers and the ones that work best in my opinion is dermalogica pre-cleanse (very expensive), Clinique take the day off balm (expensive) and Nivea cleansing wipes (cheap).

I hope this review was helpful. I gave it a lot of time and thought.

Xxx

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/9/2013 3:59:00 AM More reviews by MakeupRealist

Age: 25-29 Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I love this foundation, great for oily skin. The packaging could be better but overall it's a good foundation, goes on smooth, color looks natural and doesn't oxidize.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/6/2013 10:37:00 PM More reviews by disigney

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Hazel

This foundation is my holy grail foundation at the moment. I live in Florida, where it's 90+ degrees every single day plus 100% humidity AND I work at Disney World so I'm outside for about 8-12 hours a day.

I have really bad, oily, acne-prone skin. So it's hard to find a medium/full coverage foundation that isn't too heavy or won't slide off of my face the second it starts to get hot.

I can not stress how amazing this foundation is. It covers my acne scars and evens out my skin without being too heavy. The color range is also nice. It's not too yellow and not too pink. After setting this with powder, it will NOT move. I worked eight hours last week with this foundation on and did not need to touch it up ONCE even though I'd been in and out of the humidity all day.

I wouldn't describe it as "whipped cream" foundation but more so just a creme. It's not liquid but it's not "whipped" either.

If you're looking for a foundation that stays put in some crazy weather, or you have oily skin and need something that stays on? This is your best bet. While it is a bit pricey for a "drugstore" foundation, it's worth it. There's quite a lot of product in the glass container and a little goes a VERY long way.

Definitely recommend.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/6/2013 4:33:00 AM More reviews by sarah0711

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine Eyes: Green

I really, really like this stuff. I used the ColorStay Normal/Dry formula for about 2 years before this stuff came onto the market and I actually like this one better now, especially since the Normal/Dry formula has recently been reformulated and is now in my bin! I love the way this feels on the skin, it is so lightweight and easy to blend. I use either my fingers or my real techniques expert face brush and I always get a really smooth finish. I usually end up with caking around my nose if a foundation is no good for me but this stuff just sets so nicely and leaves a gorgeous satin/semi matte finish with medium coverage that still looks natural.

This stuff doesn't budge either, although I've only worn it for a maximum of 12 hours so I can't attest to the 24 hour claims. It doesn't transfer and in hotter weather when I am a little sweaty or oily this stays in place. I think if you were oily you would need to use a primer or blot because I am not particularly oily and I do find some shine coming through by the end of the day, nothing major though. I was worried that as whipped creme foundations are usually better suited to oily skin that this would accentuate slight dryness in my cheeks and the dehydration lines on my forehead but it absolutely doesn't!

I took 1 lippy off because when I first started using this I was using it every day and it did break me out a little, so now I only wear this on extra long days or when I am going out and want flawless skin. Packaging is also a little (unnecessarily?) bulky and quite heavy, this took up so much space in my beauty bag when I was travelling!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/4/2013 11:10:00 PM More reviews by 98724avs

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium Eyes: Blue

Out of all of the foundations I have tried, this is my favorite! I first heard about this when Jaclyn Hill (on YouTube) mentioned it in one of her videos and I am so glad that I gave it a try.
Pros:
- Smooth finish-- I absolutely LOVE the way this foundation looks. It's so nice and smooth.
- Long lasting--I have fallen asleep wearing this a few times (bad, I know, but things happen) and when I wake up the next morning, my makeup looks the same as it did when I fell asleep.
- Has a nice coverage
- No SPF--This would be good for anyone who is getting their picture taken with flash photography.
- The price--For how great this foundation is, I think that it is fairly cheap. It runs at $10.99 at Target.

Cons:
- The packaging--I don't like how I have to stick my fingers in the pot every time I need to get foundation, but this is the price I have to pay to have whipped foundation. Also, the way the packaging is, it makes it hard to match your skin color. However, I have noticed that the regular Revlon ColorStay foundation comes in the same shades so you could use that as a matching guide.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No