August 20, 2014 | 2148 users online

Powder - Revlon - ColorStay Aqua Mineral Makeup



image 0image 1image 2

rated 3.1(194 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.1
  • 52% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 on 5/8/2011 12:38:00 AM More reviews by cici424

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

Regret purchasing this! I was going for the colorstay liquid foundation when I saw this as a new product and thought might be a light choice for summer. I got it in fair but have to build it waaay up to get a nice coverage. And the sparkle...hmm... It will probably work OK as a highlight or something but as a powder foundation, not so impressive.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 5/5/2011 4:51:00 PM More reviews by Georgiga

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I joined this site just to comment about this product, i HATE it. I used the old powder they replaced this for, for two years and loved it, i was disappointed when they announced they were taking it away to upgrade it from the 'aqua' powder but decided its probably going to be better. I have used it once and will never use it again. It goes on terribly,m has no coverage, you sparkle like I've never seen and its not realistic to use unless you want to look like Edward Cullen. I'm so angry about this product i hate hate hate it and now have to start the search for another good powder to use seen as they took a perfectly good powder that me and all my friends loved and used everyday for a long time. I do not recommend this product to anyone who takes pride in there appearance. That is $45.00 wasted on crappy glitter.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 5/2/2011 10:48:00 PM More reviews by jasminefire

Age: 44-55 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Pleasantly surprised by this one. Not the best coverage, but it feels wonderfully cool when applied, and the sparkles are very youth-enhancing. Color is quite good as well.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/30/2011 9:14:00 PM More reviews by AndreaReneeXO

Age: 25-29 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

This matches my skin tone perfectly, is very lightweight and makes my skin look flawless... until I step out into the sun!
As a girl on a forum I frequent put it 'I look like a sparkly fucking vampire!'.
I guess by 'luminous' they mean sparkly as all hell.
It's a shame, because this product would probably be HG status for me otherwise, even the little brush it comes with is surprisingly great quality. Normally brushes that come with products are cheap looking and horrible, but this one is good enough for me to actually use.
I also love the cool/wet feeling when you apply it, it's so unique!
I'd recommend only wearing this indoors, like if you go to a party or a dinner date.
If you go outside beware of looking like you're from Twilight.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/29/2011 7:58:00 PM More reviews by msmarielliejellie

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Black

I came across this product while looking for a good summer foundation. I've originally got my eyes on Revlon's Colorstay liquid foundation since I've read a bunch of good reviews on that one. However, after using liquid foundations for a really long time, I found that it did take a toll on my skin because it was just too heavy. I wanted a foundation that was fuss free and felt really light on my skin so I tried this instead. I've used a dozren mineral-based loose powder foundations before, all from drugstore brands and out of all of them, this one would probably be my favorite. It has a cooling sensation once applied and I give Revlon props for that, but it does give light-medium coverage so you may want to apply another layer on problem areas if you need to cover them up completely. One thing I also loved was the packaging. It's actually the most convenient out of all the others I tried (L'oreal and Maybelline) because you can slide the brush (which was surprisingly really soft and does the job pretty well) in and out the cap for fast application. (I found the L'oreal design a bit of an inconvenience since you had to unscrew the cap several times and trust me, I have had accidents where I'd spill the foundation everywhere). It does contain a hint of shimmer but nothing that would make your skin look like a disco ball. I haven't seen how it looks on pictures though, but it blends in perfectly with my skintone and it contains minimal SPF so I'm not really worried about that. All in all, I love this product as an everyday foundation, on night out though, I'd probably wear it on top of my BB Cream or as a finishing powder on top of a lightweight liquid foundation.
==EDIT==
I stopped using the powder because I became lighter after the summer. I bought a lighter color that matches my skintone perfectly and now I use the darker one as a long wearing bronzer. I still love this foundation! I've tried other powder foundations and mineral foundations in between but I've somehow gone back to this one. I do hope people will give it a chance especially since being named after such an iconic foundation (Revlon Colorstay), people are expecting it to be as good if not WAY better than the liquid one. Bear in mind that this is a POWDER MINERAL MAKEUP, which will give you light to medium coverage, unlike the liquid version which will give you a fuller coverage, because light to medium coverage is really what any powder mineral makeup will give you. I still stand by this product despite a huge number of bad reviews, and I hope Revlon will stick to making this because there are also a number of people, especially those like me who love their powder foundations, that find this product work for them.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/27/2011 5:13:00 AM More reviews by momohachi

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

The sparkles were no issue for me - it gives out a dewy finish in my case. I love how it feels so cool when you apply it. The coverage is medium and gives you a flawless look.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/25/2011 11:31:00 AM More reviews by Frae

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine Eyes: Brown

This foundation has a strange cooling effect when swirled on - it feels nice and I'd imagine will feel great in the summer. I'm not a fan of the supplied brush, however. It gets the job done, but it's not that easy to use and tends to want to retract back into the plastic handle it's stored in. In a pinch this works though, and would be handy for travel. I use a big fluffy mineral brush instead and love it. Gives nice, near-flawless, medium coverage. I say near-flawless because I have large pores and it does not hide these (but it doesn't claim to either). It will settle in my fine lines if I don't use a primer, but so does everything else.
The sparkles mixed in are subtle and give a kind of glowing effect - one of the things I like about this. I can't comment on the staying power in summer heat, but I'm hoping it's good because I love the way this feels.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 4/24/2011 9:51:00 PM More reviews by xxxstrzxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

This is by far one of the worst products I have ever used from Revlon aside from their polishes. The sparkles were not the issue for me, it was the coverage. It was like I put nothing on my face. It also failed to cover the slight redness I have in some parts of my face. This is for people who have flawless skin because it doesn't cover or even out skin.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 4/24/2011 9:46:00 PM More reviews by lusciouspreciousluv

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Other

I use this as a highlighter near my cheekbones. For that purpose only. For a true foundation, it is way too sparkly and provides very minimal coverage. The cooling sensation is neat. If I couldn't have discovered that it makes a nice highlighter, I would have given this product a 1.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 4/19/2011 12:02:00 PM More reviews by elainesmith

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

If I could give this product a 0, I totally would! It's HORRIBLE. sparkling, no coverage, enhances pores! And its so messy! What's wrong with the R&D department?

Is this review helpful? Yes No