July 31, 2014 | 2008 users online

Lips - MAC - Lustre in Lovelorn



image 0image 1image 2

rated 4.4(151 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.4
  • 80% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.4
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 2/10/2004 11:06:00 AM More reviews by kristenlouise

Age: 25-29 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I *really* like the color of this lipstick. It's a BEAUTIFUL cool matte pink (think like Stila Snowbloom in a lipstick but a bit dustier) that's really glossy. It's a light shade but it shows up as medium against my PPP skin.

My only gripe is that it doesn't stay on long, but hey, it's a light lipstick. Nothing new there.

If you want to see what it looks like on a VERY PPP person, I'm wearing it in my picture that is named Mr. Toughie and me (I'm sitting on the couch with my cat).

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 2/3/2004 11:14:00 PM More reviews by Astyra

Age: Unknown Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Lovelorn is a bright bubblegum pink color that looked awful on my lips. Tried toning it down a bit with Spice lipliner, but that didn't work either. This was part of my Shademates 2003 lip palette, and the only color in there that I didn't like.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 11/6/2003 4:56:00 AM More reviews by kyttikat

Age: 19-24 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

Maccosmetics.com describes this as "an emotive blue pink". Quite frankly, I don't think that does this lipstick justice. Lovelorn is a soft, cool-toned pink that is very similar to MAC Coygirl blush. This looks a bright pink, but the lustre formula allows it to go on more naturally. It almost blends in with my lips, but gives them a spark of color that brightens my face in an instant. A touch of this and a dab of MAC Pink Swoon blush is my quick and easy pretty look. Add some mascara and a bit of lipgloss for added girliness. For brighter pink lips, Lovelorn is great with Chanel Starlette glossimer over it. The Starlette gives it depth and sparkliness and intensifies the pink. This paired with charcoal grey or black smoky eyes is a favorite look of mine for concerts and special occasions.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/6/2003 10:09:00 PM More reviews by heartonmysleeve

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is definetley a barbie pink on me. However, I love bolder shades of gloss/lipstick so I think it's perfect. I'm a MAC C4/NC35

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/25/2003 5:07:00 AM More reviews by kyttikat

Age: 19-24 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

Looking for a feminine pink lip that's not too porn star or supergirlie? Lovelorn's it. A beautiful clear medium pink that's a bit cool-toned. Wonderfully long-lasting color, and smooth formula (Lustre). Looks great with Coygirl or any other cool-toned pink blushes. A face brightening kind of lipstick. :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 8/21/2003 2:28:00 PM More reviews by Bonnie2842

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love this color for a fun, daytime look. A true, bubblegum pink without shimmer. This really brightens up my face, and looks hot with pink cheeks.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/16/2003 7:08:00 PM More reviews by ashleybabes

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I like this much more on me than in the tube. When the MAC MA recommended it I thought she might be mad! But it truly is a wonderful pink on me. BTW - Lovelorn looks absolutely fuschia in the tube.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/27/2002 5:33:00 PM More reviews by HollyE

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Not quite hot pink, not quite barbie pink. It's sort of in between. I was scared when I saw this color, because it's VERY pink. As it turns out, Lovelorn is actually the color of my lips, just a bit brighter. Very natural color on me, and it brightens up my whole face without looking "made up". I am a cool PPP, so it may be a bit much for people who don't really love pink or have warm undertones.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/26/2002 2:32:00 PM More reviews by bleuecommevous

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I purchased "lovelorn" a sheer muted light pink shade.

I was under the impression it would appear hot pink, but rather gave a very soft, youthful "pink-lipped girl" look for the face.
Beautiful! continued >>

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 9/6/2002 8:35:00 PM More reviews by AliceinWonderland

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This is a nice, very sheer pink lipstick. I would describe this as a bubblegum pink, but if you have reddish lips as I do, it goes on very sheer and barely noticable. I found by using spice liner, and doing Oh Baby lipgloss( a sheer shimmery bronze) it was a really nice effect. But this definetely won't be a repurchase I have to many lipsticks, and this one just didn't excite me enough.

Is this review helpful? Yes No