October 30, 2014 | 1581 users online

Liquid - MAC - Studio Fix Fluid SPF 15

rated 3.5(2610 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.5
  • 58% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 2/21/2010 3:46:00 PM More reviews by bobthebuilder1234

Age: 44-55 Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is my HG foundation. It gives me the best coverage, and even makes my skin look better than most foundations. It does go on a little cakey, but a little Fix+ makes it look dewy. The only downsides are the packaging and the fact that it does make my skin a little oily sometimes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 2/19/2010 7:14:00 PM More reviews by aalmu90

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

MAC can be so overrated sometimes. I bought this foundation wanting a slightly cheaper alternative to my all-time favourite Chanel pro Lumiere professional foundation. I read some of the reviews on here first, the good reviews outweighed the negative ones so I bought me self a bottle. The first thing that i noticed was that the consistency felt greasy, I literally felt that i was slapping car oil across my face. I can’t bear touching this with my fingers; I always use a brush or sponger to apply this. Even though the formula is oily, it managed somehow to expose my dry patches! My face was flaky, dry and dull. My makeup looked extremely caked on and unattractive! I was so disappointed, I mean for AUD $48 you’d expect this to perform well. I seriously do not have the time to drive 40 minutes to return this. I do like the NC25 colour match though, hence 2 lippies. I apply this now by mixing in a little with my GC tinted moisturiser, doesn’t look as bad. *SIGH* I hate it when big companies like MAC take their prestigious name for granted. I went and repurchased the chanel foundation again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 2/18/2010 6:40:00 PM More reviews by graznik

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I bought this foundation when I was desperate for a new one, and the MAC counter didn't have my usual foundation in.
I would say that this foundation is a bit "so and so". It gives medium coverage and does last me for quite some time. But it just looks way too powdery on. It doesn't look natural at all. The concealer and powder that I would put on afterwards would just end up looking cakey. It might work better for someone with combination or oily skin that wants a very matte finish, but this just wasn't for me. It behaved like any other random cheap drug store foundation...

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/17/2010 6:36:00 PM More reviews by VintagePhoto

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

HG! I've bought 4 bottles of this stuff, and will continue to buy this over and over again. I have dry, acne prone skin. Before I apply this, I make sure to exfoliate + moisturize well or else it can look cakey since its high coverage. I apply with my 187 for that airbrushed look. I get compliments on my 'flawless skin' all the time! Get the pump also.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/17/2010 2:59:00 PM More reviews by jellibellyz

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Other Eyes: Brown

when i got colormatched to nc30 at nordstrom..the makeup artist made my skin so flawless!!!! it covered every flaw effortlessly. i have really oily acne prone skin and my sis who was with me said my face looked so natural, dewy, and flawless...you do not need a lot to cover the entire face..the makeup artist used the strobe cream before applying the foundation and set it with msf in medium plus....i was kind of scared to use this foundation bc it had spf, and usuallt products with spf in it breaks me out and the reviews of the other women made me cautious..but so far no pimples!!!!

yes its way expensive than the drugstore but its not as much as the highend(nars, mufe, chanel, etc...).. it is full coverage, my bf said it smelled like band-aids, but i love it!!!! just make sure to blend blend blend blend!!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 2/16/2010 3:21:00 AM More reviews by briii

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

this foundation is perfect for covering up the acne it will give you. i know alot of people love this, but its not a good one for me. i dont have acne prone skin but ill get one or two pimples around my period, other than that my skins pretty clear and this broke me out pretty bad. i like the coverage and the staying power, but because it broke me out bad im sad to say i wont be buying it again. i guess im just one of the unlucky ones :( im sticking with my mac studio tech foundation. it hasnt broke me out at all :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/15/2010 10:25:00 AM More reviews by sylvxxx

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

Having used this product for about 2 weeks now i felt it was time i wrote a review. I purchased this against the advice of quite a few people who warned me that it would probably cause me to breakout. However being on accutane at the moment and needing a high coverage foundation, after trying every other foundation possible, i decided to give studio fix fluid a try anyway. I have to say i am so glad i bought this, so far i havent suffered from any new breakouts at all, i LOVE the coverage it gives, it literally covers everything but when applied correctly does not look cakey at all. I have very pale skin and have never been able to find the perfect colour match for my skin but NC 15 is perfect for me!
The only two cons i have are the price and the packaging. I feel that the pump should really come with the foundation, for me to buy both the foundation and the pump it cost me €36 which i think is a little steep. However despite that i will definetly repurchase again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 2/14/2010 4:46:00 PM More reviews by Jent77

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

If I can save anyone else from experiencing what I did with this garbage, I will. I have very normal, nonsensitive, prone to one or two pimples a month, and this stuff just killed it. I put it on yesterday and I noticed that it sucked the life right out of my skin. My sister said I looked like a slut and that I looked old with it on. My dad even noticed that I looked really dry. This foundation gave me cross hatching (like elephant skin) on my cheeks. I'm only 20! I left it on all day anyway just to see if it would settle in or something, but no, it left me with extremely dry corners of the mouth and I have some brand new pimples. This was recommended to me by the MAC lady and she even gave me the wrong color! I'm just so disapoointed with the quality of this makeup and the quality of the MAC employees. She paired the foundation with the mineralize skin finsih and that was OK, but extremely drying as well. You're better off paying much less for drugstore brands that aren't so harsh and completely change your skin in a day! I wish I could give this stuff a zero.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 2/13/2010 6:01:00 PM More reviews by chikky

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is my go-to foundation when I have problematic skin. Gee I wish I had blemish-free skin & use lighter foundations daily but unfortunately I was born in the gene pool of acne sufferers =(.


SO anyways, every now & then I break out from certain skincares, foods etc, I can rely on my studiofix fluid to cover them up while my outbreaks are healing.(If I sat there using concealer on the acne, I'd be in front of the mirror for hours).


Since this is a medium to full coverage foundation I probably wouldn't recommend using this everyday of the year because you need to let your skin breathe(unless you really buff it in). But it's good to have it handy in the event of a break out or a special occasion. =)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/12/2010 8:18:00 PM More reviews by VluvMac

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I love this foundation only in the winter.During the heat it makes me super oily which I tend to breakout more.I love the coverage on this foundation and I love the fact that I can put a pump on it.It also lasts forever another reason why its so worth the money.

Is this review helpful? Yes No