October 20, 2014 | 1965 users online

Liquid - MAC - Studio Fix Fluid SPF 15

rated 3.5(2605 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.5
  • 58% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 2/16/2010 3:21:00 AM More reviews by briii

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

this foundation is perfect for covering up the acne it will give you. i know alot of people love this, but its not a good one for me. i dont have acne prone skin but ill get one or two pimples around my period, other than that my skins pretty clear and this broke me out pretty bad. i like the coverage and the staying power, but because it broke me out bad im sad to say i wont be buying it again. i guess im just one of the unlucky ones :( im sticking with my mac studio tech foundation. it hasnt broke me out at all :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/15/2010 10:25:00 AM More reviews by sylvxxx

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

Having used this product for about 2 weeks now i felt it was time i wrote a review. I purchased this against the advice of quite a few people who warned me that it would probably cause me to breakout. However being on accutane at the moment and needing a high coverage foundation, after trying every other foundation possible, i decided to give studio fix fluid a try anyway. I have to say i am so glad i bought this, so far i havent suffered from any new breakouts at all, i LOVE the coverage it gives, it literally covers everything but when applied correctly does not look cakey at all. I have very pale skin and have never been able to find the perfect colour match for my skin but NC 15 is perfect for me!
The only two cons i have are the price and the packaging. I feel that the pump should really come with the foundation, for me to buy both the foundation and the pump it cost me €36 which i think is a little steep. However despite that i will definetly repurchase again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 2/14/2010 4:46:00 PM More reviews by Jent77

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

If I can save anyone else from experiencing what I did with this garbage, I will. I have very normal, nonsensitive, prone to one or two pimples a month, and this stuff just killed it. I put it on yesterday and I noticed that it sucked the life right out of my skin. My sister said I looked like a slut and that I looked old with it on. My dad even noticed that I looked really dry. This foundation gave me cross hatching (like elephant skin) on my cheeks. I'm only 20! I left it on all day anyway just to see if it would settle in or something, but no, it left me with extremely dry corners of the mouth and I have some brand new pimples. This was recommended to me by the MAC lady and she even gave me the wrong color! I'm just so disapoointed with the quality of this makeup and the quality of the MAC employees. She paired the foundation with the mineralize skin finsih and that was OK, but extremely drying as well. You're better off paying much less for drugstore brands that aren't so harsh and completely change your skin in a day! I wish I could give this stuff a zero.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 2/13/2010 6:01:00 PM More reviews by chikky

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is my go-to foundation when I have problematic skin. Gee I wish I had blemish-free skin & use lighter foundations daily but unfortunately I was born in the gene pool of acne sufferers =(.


SO anyways, every now & then I break out from certain skincares, foods etc, I can rely on my studiofix fluid to cover them up while my outbreaks are healing.(If I sat there using concealer on the acne, I'd be in front of the mirror for hours).


Since this is a medium to full coverage foundation I probably wouldn't recommend using this everyday of the year because you need to let your skin breathe(unless you really buff it in). But it's good to have it handy in the event of a break out or a special occasion. =)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/12/2010 8:18:00 PM More reviews by VluvMac

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I love this foundation only in the winter.During the heat it makes me super oily which I tend to breakout more.I love the coverage on this foundation and I love the fact that I can put a pump on it.It also lasts forever another reason why its so worth the money.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 2/12/2010 5:31:00 PM More reviews by bri20

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

the only reason people like this foundation is because its MAC. i hate this foundation. i tried it and returned it the next day. it has nothing special about it and usually foundations dont break me out but the morning after using this i broke out. and that was only one day after using it, imagine what would happen if i kept it for longer. that woulda been a disaster. you can get such a better foundation at sephora, or even at cvs. revlon photo ready foundation is a great alternative for MUFE HD foundation, its only 12 dollars and it works SO much better than MAC. sorry MAC, i love your products but not this one.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 2/12/2010 10:45:00 AM More reviews by avapro

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

Nothing great about this product. When I first bought it, the color (NC35) matched my skin, then it oxidized and turned orange. It also gave me breakouts around my lip area. I think it's a poor formulation b/c my friend had a breakout when trying a sample of this from the counter. The Revlon Colorstay is very similar to this product, so why would I pay $20 more? I ended up cleaning out the bottle, getting pump and putting my Revlon Colorstay inside of the MAC Studio Fix bottle. So I guess the packaging is the only good thing about this product. MAC needs to stop relying on it's brand image to carry such poor products such as this one.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/11/2010 5:20:00 PM More reviews by Macjunkie702

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Tan, Cool Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love this foundation I been using it for two years after they discontinued the hyper real foundation.. :( but found the studio fix fluid to be awesome I just use a little strobe cream and it's very similar to the hyper real foundation ..Anyway .. Can't live without this foundation .. The only bad thing you need to buy a pump so you won't waste too much product a pump gives me the exact amount I need

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/11/2010 4:43:00 PM More reviews by iloverazzles95

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This is the best foundation i have tried yet, I've tried drugstore brands like Dream Matte Mouse, Dream Satin Liquid and Rimmel Lasting Finish to high end brands such as Esteé Lauder Double Wear. This gives full coverage and covers my breakouts so well. I apply it with my MAC 187 stippling brush and it gives an airbrushed finish. It has SPF 15 in it which is also great XD And last but definitely not least.....IT DOESN'T BREAK ME OUT :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/9/2010 10:51:00 AM More reviews by Erica01

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

The product itself is great. It covers nicely, does not looked caked on, and lasts for most of the day. It is easy to apply and blend in. However, it is expensive, running at $26 retail. :( and if you can get past that you must then deal with the horrible packaging. While the bottle is glass and it looks fine, the problem is that it does NOT come with a pump. So it will either take awhile to get it out of the bottle, or you have to go and buy a mac pump seperatly which is another $4-$6. I Think I will eventually break down and get the pump though.

Update: I have notcied that I am having trouble finding a shade for my extremely fair complexion.

Update: I have terribly dry and sensitive skin, and I have noticed that during the winter (I live in Northern Indiana where the winters are somewhat harsh) my skin is too dry for this makeup to blend with my skin...it just looks weird. I have noticed this with other brands, so its really just a problem with my skin (I moisturize a lot, but it is still pretty dry), but I noticed it first with this one long before I had problems with any others.

Is this review helpful? Yes No