December 18, 2014 | 1362 users online

Liquid - Estee Lauder - Double Wear [old formula - REFORMULATED]

rated 4.0(2111 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.0
  • 71% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.2
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

REFORUMULATED 2012 Please see http://www.makeupalley.com/product/showreview.asp/ItemId=159975/Double-Wear-Stay-in-place-Makeup/Estee-Lauder/Liquid for the current formulation of this product

rated 4 of 5 on 12/25/2008 4:27:00 PM More reviews by lillyrayne

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

My skin has a tendency just to absorb foundations after two hours, base or no base. But not double wear! I love this foundation. I use a brush with it and it gives me even coverage and takes away the red. Becareful near your hairline though. I have to let it dry and then go reblend, because sometimes, even though its the same shade as my skin I can kind of see the foundation line. That being said, I still love it. My favorite thing is the beautiful matte finish. And it is MATTE. When I don't want matte, I put this on as a base underneath another foundation which will also add staying power to that one! If you have dry skin, buff up on the moisturizer. I think most long were foundations are a tad drying.
Packaging: Wish it came in a pump. I wish ALL foundations came in a pump though. I spill things easy

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 12/24/2008 12:26:00 PM More reviews by roroluca

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse Eyes: Brown

Very nice, medium to full coverage! Covers up blemishes and discoloration nicely, but since it gives a matte finish, it will accentuate any flaky/dry spots you have on your face.

Only reason why I wouldn't repurchase is that it's too expensive for a small foundation. It works well but I've used other drugstore foundations that work the same.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/24/2008 3:30:00 AM More reviews by veniicebeach

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I have been using this product since I was 15 years old, and I am now 19. And I really do love this product it last quite a long time, and it matches my skin pretty well. It looks really nice and I can go from a little bit of cover to full coverage, so I like the control I can get from this. It's really nice, I am in love with this!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 12/23/2008 10:02:00 PM More reviews by ljanelle

Age: 44-55 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

One of my favorite foundations. Great color match for my fair skin (shell), and great coverage that lasts without being cakey, or clinging to or emphasizing dry patches. I don't always want this much coverage but when I do or I want my makeup to last, this is the one I reach for.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/13/2008 11:57:00 AM More reviews by lorachelve

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

For anyone who is skeptical on this product, don't be!! I have never written a review for anything before but I feel that I should for this foundation! Like a lot of people, I have tried EVERYTHING. You name it, I'm sure I've used it. Mac, Loreal, Physicians Formula, Maybelline, Neutrogena, Smashbox, Lorac, Bare Minerals, MakeUpForever, Perfekt, Lancome, Benefit, Clinique, Cover fx, Bourjois, you get the picture! Unlike the other ones, this one does not cake, the color isn't too light at all (which I was worried about reading the reviews) and it makes my skin look flawless!!! I am so happy with this foundation, and finally, my search for the perfect foundation has stopped!! I've only had this foundation on for 4 hours, but so far so good! I have oiler skin and my skin still looks great! Please, anyone who has any hesitation, try it, you'll LOVE it!!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 12/12/2008 9:30:00 PM More reviews by bjcp1123

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have oily/shiny skin - this foundation gives me great coverage & keeps the shine away for most of the day. I've only been using it a few weeks but even in the cold weather, it's not too drying. I apply with a brush, it does set quickly so I only do a small area at a time using a small amount of product. This is the border of HG for me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 12/7/2008 6:02:00 PM More reviews by Margie23a

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I began using this about 4 months ago -- during the summer and even though I am fair skinned, the shade "Bisque" which seems a bit dark was perfect for me. I loved, loved, loved this foundation until....the weather turned cold and it literally hurt to wear this foundation. Becuase is it a long wearing foundation, and does such a good job at staying put, it felt like I had a slowly drying mud mask on my face. I have now switched to Lucidity which I am still debating over, but it does not dry out my skin lik Double Wear does. The price for Double Wear is a typical high priced department store foundation and one thing I don't like about it is the bottle -- just a glass bottle that I've almost dropped several times. I wish it had a pump which would make it much easier to apply, but then again maybe with the long wearing formula it would dry up in the pump. Who knows. I might try it again in the Spring, but for winter it just is not meant for dry skin. At least not mine.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 12/1/2008 6:41:00 PM More reviews by CharmmyTina

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

When I first purchased this product, I really liked it. But after several weeks I noticed my skin looked drier when I had this on, even after moisturizing. It covers well, and is buildable. But I think after I run out of this, I will continue looking for my hg foundation.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 11/30/2008 7:40:00 AM More reviews by bebe_girl

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

to me this is a superb foundation when paired with clinique pore minimizer instant perfector (when the two are combined, they make an excellent shine control!). it has a somewhat runny consistency and doesn't set off too quickly, thus, is easy to blend using your fingers or a sponge (i'd recommend using a sponge for more even application); lasts a very long time (lasting power is better than any other foundations i've ever tried); won't smudge off on anything; never streaks in an air-conditioned room; doesn't oxidize throughout the day; covers nicely (when used alone, this is medium to full buildable coverage, but when used after moisturizer, light to medium buildable coverage); and most importantly, doesn't break me out (it does say "non-acnegenic" in the packaging)! the finish is natural/dewy so you have to set it with a powder to get a matte look. also, this may accentuate flakiness, so if you have dehydrated or dry or flaking skin, make sure you moisturize well before putting this on. my only complaint about this foundation is their limited color selection. none of the colors matches my light asian skintone! it's really, really too bad coz it's such a great product. if only they had more yellow-undertoned shades for asians, this would easily be my HG foundation.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 11/26/2008 5:26:00 PM More reviews by HotCurry

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

A foundation worth every penny I spent on it! I use this in the shade "Bone (1W1)", and I have to say, it's a better color match than I've found, then even with Prescriptives! I have very fair, but quite golden skintones, and have never found a foundation both pale enough and yellow enough, but this shade is spot on! A wonderful matte finish on my very oily skin, while looking like actual skin! Provides a flawless airbrushed look, that can cover fully, or if applied sheerly looks totally natural. This is much better than MAC SFF, and better than the 3 Revlon Colorstay foundations, (and has much better shades). Also, unlike CS or MAC SFF, this does not oxidize even one little bit! Love the physical SPF (although wish it was higher). I apply over moisturized skin, using a proff. cosmetic wedge. What I love most about this foundation, is that I only have to use the tiniest amount for really decent coverage, so one bottle will last me 4 times as long as other foundations, making this a great value for my money. This has such a nice finish, that I don't need to set it, but usually do with Mac Blot or Px Virtual Matte. I recommend buying one of MAC's pumps, it fits perfectly on the DW bottle, and it will make getting the right amount of foundation out easier, and prolong the life of your foundation (since air won't be drying it out every time you open it to use it). Versatile and beautiful, and will forever hold a place in my makeup collection!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No