October 2, 2014 | 1436 users online

Liquid - MAC - Studio Fix Fluid SPF 15

rated 3.5(2603 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.5
  • 58% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 2/24/2010 2:47:00 PM More reviews by TROLLsterStrudel

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Heavy coverage that can look cakey, but i just buff it in and it's fine. The color matches blow mines way too dark, but i just blend it in and it looks like a 'natural' tan. People always tell me how flawless my skin looks when i wear this. Kind of expensive but i have repurchased this many times. HG

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/23/2010 1:38:00 AM More reviews by richardb

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

So i bought this a week ago, and normally i would wait much longer to try a foundation out to make sure it doesnt break me out, but i just couldnt wait!

So i went into mac and the girl matched me to NC20, she put some on my skin and said "oh this is a perfect match, perfect perfect" so i bought it and wore it a few days. I then looked in the mirror by a window and realized my face was wayyy darker and much more yellow than the rest of me. I was kind of irritated that the lady matched me incorrectly but i just went back and exchanged it for NC15, which is still a tad dark, but hey its their lightest shade.

This gives an AMAZING finish, its a really soft matte look. It makes your skin look very soft and matte, almost velvety, yet in certain light it can look slightly glowy. its beautiful. It also photographs beautifully.
It also controls oil pretty well, even when my face gets super greasy it isnt as apparent with this foundation.

It stays on all day, and i havent noticed any transfer. I fell asleep wearing it today, and woke up 2 hours later looking the same.

Ive read many reviews saying its very cakey, mask-like, and makes you look very made up. All i have to say is that they must not be applying it right. I'm a boy and i can make this look natural, one pump looks pretty natural, and two makes you look flawless.
Its not cakey unless applied to dry patchy skin, nor masklike as long as you have the right shade and apply blush/bronzer.

I apply this with a sonia kashuk buffer brush and its amazing!

I will update if i see a worsening in breakouts, although my face is constantly breaking out so its tough to tell.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/22/2010 12:47:00 AM More reviews by OliveGreenSpring

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This foundation was my first mac product.. I have spent so much money trying to find a foundation that matches my extremely light skin tone, but I found it with studio fix fluid (I wear NW15.) This is more expensive than your average drugstore brand, but it's well worth it in my opinion. It takes far less product to cover. I have redness in my cheeks and my nose. With other products, I have to use so much foundation that I end up feeling like I have a cakey mask on, but with thisI feel like I have nothing on. Its also very easy to blend and has a natural finished look.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/21/2010 3:46:00 PM More reviews by bobthebuilder1234

Age: 44-55 Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is my HG foundation. It gives me the best coverage, and even makes my skin look better than most foundations. It does go on a little cakey, but a little Fix+ makes it look dewy. The only downsides are the packaging and the fact that it does make my skin a little oily sometimes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 2/19/2010 7:14:00 PM More reviews by aalmu90

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

MAC can be so overrated sometimes. I bought this foundation wanting a slightly cheaper alternative to my all-time favourite Chanel pro Lumiere professional foundation. I read some of the reviews on here first, the good reviews outweighed the negative ones so I bought me self a bottle. The first thing that i noticed was that the consistency felt greasy, I literally felt that i was slapping car oil across my face. I can’t bear touching this with my fingers; I always use a brush or sponger to apply this. Even though the formula is oily, it managed somehow to expose my dry patches! My face was flaky, dry and dull. My makeup looked extremely caked on and unattractive! I was so disappointed, I mean for AUD $48 you’d expect this to perform well. I seriously do not have the time to drive 40 minutes to return this. I do like the NC25 colour match though, hence 2 lippies. I apply this now by mixing in a little with my GC tinted moisturiser, doesn’t look as bad. *SIGH* I hate it when big companies like MAC take their prestigious name for granted. I went and repurchased the chanel foundation again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 2/18/2010 6:40:00 PM More reviews by graznik

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I bought this foundation when I was desperate for a new one, and the MAC counter didn't have my usual foundation in.
I would say that this foundation is a bit "so and so". It gives medium coverage and does last me for quite some time. But it just looks way too powdery on. It doesn't look natural at all. The concealer and powder that I would put on afterwards would just end up looking cakey. It might work better for someone with combination or oily skin that wants a very matte finish, but this just wasn't for me. It behaved like any other random cheap drug store foundation...

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/17/2010 6:36:00 PM More reviews by VintagePhoto

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

HG! I've bought 4 bottles of this stuff, and will continue to buy this over and over again. I have dry, acne prone skin. Before I apply this, I make sure to exfoliate + moisturize well or else it can look cakey since its high coverage. I apply with my 187 for that airbrushed look. I get compliments on my 'flawless skin' all the time! Get the pump also.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/17/2010 2:59:00 PM More reviews by jellibellyz

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Other Eyes: Brown

when i got colormatched to nc30 at nordstrom..the makeup artist made my skin so flawless!!!! it covered every flaw effortlessly. i have really oily acne prone skin and my sis who was with me said my face looked so natural, dewy, and flawless...you do not need a lot to cover the entire face..the makeup artist used the strobe cream before applying the foundation and set it with msf in medium plus....i was kind of scared to use this foundation bc it had spf, and usuallt products with spf in it breaks me out and the reviews of the other women made me cautious..but so far no pimples!!!!

yes its way expensive than the drugstore but its not as much as the highend(nars, mufe, chanel, etc...).. it is full coverage, my bf said it smelled like band-aids, but i love it!!!! just make sure to blend blend blend blend!!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 2/16/2010 3:21:00 AM More reviews by briii

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

this foundation is perfect for covering up the acne it will give you. i know alot of people love this, but its not a good one for me. i dont have acne prone skin but ill get one or two pimples around my period, other than that my skins pretty clear and this broke me out pretty bad. i like the coverage and the staying power, but because it broke me out bad im sad to say i wont be buying it again. i guess im just one of the unlucky ones :( im sticking with my mac studio tech foundation. it hasnt broke me out at all :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/15/2010 10:25:00 AM More reviews by sylvxxx

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

Having used this product for about 2 weeks now i felt it was time i wrote a review. I purchased this against the advice of quite a few people who warned me that it would probably cause me to breakout. However being on accutane at the moment and needing a high coverage foundation, after trying every other foundation possible, i decided to give studio fix fluid a try anyway. I have to say i am so glad i bought this, so far i havent suffered from any new breakouts at all, i LOVE the coverage it gives, it literally covers everything but when applied correctly does not look cakey at all. I have very pale skin and have never been able to find the perfect colour match for my skin but NC 15 is perfect for me!
The only two cons i have are the price and the packaging. I feel that the pump should really come with the foundation, for me to buy both the foundation and the pump it cost me €36 which i think is a little steep. However despite that i will definetly repurchase again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No