April 16, 2014 | 1418 users online

Liquid - MAC - Studio Fix Fluid SPF 15

rated 3.5(2511 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.5
  • 58% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.4
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 on 12/10/2009 11:23:00 AM More reviews by iris621

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Well...I really wanted to like this foundation having heard everyone raving about it..but it doesn't work for me.I used this in the summer and from after the 15 minute walk to my office, i blotted my face with tissue paper since i was a little sweaty and the foundation came off a lot...it was so disappointing. also, it tends to oxidize on my skin and makes it look very yellow, although the shade may be a tad too dark in the first place(i have fair asian skin and the ma gave me NC25).
i also got dry patches on my skin and sits in my pores at the end of the day. with this price, you can get much better.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/7/2009 9:54:00 PM More reviews by geministwins

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I have always used Studio Fix powder, and love it, but due to pigmentation changes in pregnancy I wanted to add something for a little more coverage. For starters, I have sensitive skin with acne scars, so I need something to even out my skin and "fill in" the scars. I love this foundation! It provides perfect coverage, and is really easy to blend. It looks really natural on, and provides good, long-lasting coverage. Some have complained about breakouts, but I've been using this for about a week now and so far my sensitive skin has had no problems, even with falling asleep in this stuff! My one and only gripe would be the packaging, (it's inconvienant to have to pour it out), but MAC sells a pump for the bottle to remedy this. I would definitely repurchase!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 12/2/2009 3:58:00 AM More reviews by Teex

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Medium Eyes: Brown

**Conclusion** This foundation has nothing that I can't get from a drug store brand. Feel bad I bought this and will not be repurchasing.

Bought this item before I discovered MakeupAlley. If I had known about this site, I would have asked for a sample and tried for a few days before I purchased a bottle after trying it at the MAC counter.


My skin: Eurasian. Normal skin type. Not prone to acne.

Staying power: Above average. Lasted all day, even when I was slightly sweating or running through the rain a bit.

Smell: Horrible! I personally think it smells a bit like paint. Can't believe I didn't notice this at the counter!

Coverage: I'd say, medium, but buildable to full.

Finish: Think this depends on your skin. When my skin was oily, I noticed that it had more of a dewy finish, but as time passed and my skin turned more normal (was on a course of a medication called Accutane/Roaccutane), the finish was... not so dewy.

Color selection: MAC has this foundation in many shades, but if you are on the pale side, or have problems finding a match in other brands, chances are you may not find a good enough match at MAC. NC20 is personally too yellow for me.

Packaging: Glass bottle with a screw cap. You can BUY a pump. Costs extra though.

Overall rating: 3/5
Feel bad that I paid for this item. Clogged my pores when I first used it, to the degree that I could pull out the foundation, which were in the form of small, almost see-through plugs in the pores on my nose!

Will not be purchasing this item again.
If you are interested, ask for a sample! :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 12/2/2009 2:55:00 AM More reviews by flawlessbackflip

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

on my search for a full coverage foundation, (i have many acne scars) i decided to get a sample of this. the color was alright (nc20) but it didn't cover as well as i would have liked. my scars were still noticeable. also, the staying power of this foundation wasn't too great, either. and i noticed that it would make my face burn for a few minutes after application. not the worst foundation, but not the best.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 12/2/2009 2:35:00 AM More reviews by poopinshmicken

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

PROS:
- Good coverage
- Lasted most of the day (though I rarely touch my face)
- Stayed matte for a good amount of time
- Generally better formula than any drug store competitor *cough cough REVLON cough*
CONS:
- Smells horrible! No really.
- BROKE ME OUT (after 1 month's use..and it was bad... tons of cystic acne... I stopped wearing maeup for 1 week to let my skin heal)
- Glass bottle packaging is awful to try to get product out
- I'm not that pale and I was an NC 15/20 so what do really fair people wear?
SUMMARY:
Not worth the money I paid. I like MUFE Mat + Velvet much better.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/1/2009 12:44:00 PM More reviews by xomarimua

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

As many foundations as i try i always seem to go back to this one or face and body. This ones the best though. AMAZING coverage, plus if you apply it thinly enough it looks really natural. It offers buildable coverage. Do it with a 109 brush and you'll love it too!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/28/2009 10:52:00 AM More reviews by keeleyxoxo

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I love this foundation but it does strt to look cakey if i dont use my Hyper Real foundation underneath , so i apply my primer then my Hyper Real then Studio Fix then set it with powder and add blush and bronzer. The HP Foundtion just gives me a really nice glow under my Studio Fix , i will be buying this again.....and again and probably again xxx

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/27/2009 4:59:00 PM More reviews by mimita

Age: 36-43 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Fine Eyes: Green

I was a little wary after reading many stories of breakouts, but so far - I've been using it for about two months now - I've only had my usual occasional blemishes. I'm about NC20, though NC20 is a bit darker, NC15 matches my neck better but is a bit too light on the face, and NW15 is a bit too orange. Maybe I'll end up buying NC15 too and mix them. It has really good coverage, but if you moisturize your skin enough it can look pretty natural. I really like preparing my skin with Illamasqua Matt primer (I think they work well together in keeping the oil at bay) and apply SFF with Illamasqua Blusher brush 1, setting it with a light dusting of loose powder. Two pumps are enough and at the end of the day it's still there. I still dream of THE perfect foundation, the one that 1) really looks like skin, 2) makes pores invisible, 3) doesn't melt like butter on my combination/oily skin, 4) matches my skin color perfectly, but until I find it this will be my foundation. Edit: Though I think in the meantime I've found my HG foundation in MUFE HD Invisible cover in 115, I still think SFF is a great foundation. I recently bought NC15 and started mixing the two shades in a little pot. It's not a big deal, maybe 1 minute more in my makeup routine. And the colour is much more balanced this way. I also started using it with Illamasqua Satin primer, since my skin has been drier lately. I think that Matt primer and SFF work well if you're really oily,otherwise SFF already has a pretty matt finish. So, if you are not that oily, the Satin primer is much better as a finish, more natural.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/27/2009 5:25:00 AM More reviews by laquiche

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Coarse Eyes: Hazel

This one is a good basic foundation, it doesn't make me break out but it doesn't keep my face shine free all day even with powder :(
The coverage is really good and my skin still looks natural.
The big color choice can be a problem because I think I've tried all of them before finding the good match for winter (nc25) and for summer (nc40 to 45 it depends on how I'm tanned)
For the price it would have been better to get the pump with it!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 11/27/2009 12:20:00 AM More reviews by shopw8oomuch

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is a good foundation to use on special occasions or when taking photographs. I used to use it on a daily basis and it caused me to break out. It's just too thick and heavy feeling for me although it provides awesome coverage. My skin is very oily and acne prone and it just doesn't agree with this for daily use. Too bad because it looks great when I wear it!

Is this review helpful? Yes No