August 22, 2014 | 1074 users online

Liquid - Estee Lauder - Double Wear (old formula)

rated 4.0(2244 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.0
  • 71% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.2
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 on 8/18/2009 6:46:00 PM More reviews by Bunnybear9

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I have fair, neutral leaning towards slightly cool skin, and I could not get a good color match in this fdtn. Shell and Ecru looked okay in my bathroom lighting, but as soon as I walked outside they looked too pink or too orangey on me. The coverage is great and it felt light on my skin (I applied sheerly with a kabuki brush). It lasted all day with or without a primer- no ruboff, no meltdown in my oily t-zone. It did get a little dewey halfway through the day but nothing a little powder can't take care of. Great fdtn if you can get a good color match. Strangely enough I got a much better match in DW Light (intensity 1.0) even though there are fewer shades available.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 8/18/2009 2:57:00 AM More reviews by adorekittens

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Didn't really work for me.. felt heavy... Revlon color stay is way better... longer lasting than this and doesn't feel as heavy

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/17/2009 2:36:00 PM More reviews by apirro

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Great foundation! I have this in "Wheat" for my olive complexion and I love! Heavy though - I feel like I cant wear this everyday for fear of breaking out, but I wear on special occasions when I know the camera is coming out! Lasts ALL day.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/13/2009 12:58:00 PM More reviews by yunnyunn

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

As the weather changed from winder to summer, my skin condition changed 180 degree too. In winter, I have super dry cheek and oily t-zone especially the nose. In sumer, I have normal cheek and super-duper oily nose. So I have been in a hunt for mattifying foundation for couple months. Nothing, and I mean nothing that will keep my nose looking matte for more than 2-3 hours, max is 4.5 hours with Prescriptives new mineral liquid MU. Not until my friend who has roseasa, therefore super sensitive, told me she could still use EL MU w/out any problem, I thought I'll give EL's DW a try.

I went at least 3 times for color match at Macy's, and still not able to get the right color. I'm pretty sure DW doesn't have the perfect match for me, therefore I'm mixing it myself every morning. I have light/med skin, asian, my shades are: Bobbi Brown 3.5, MAC SF NC35, SF Fluid NC 25-30, Shiseido O40, Lancome CI II-10N, Teint Idole Buff 6W, Clinique Perfectly Real liquid 12, GA 5.5 (slightly too light), and L'Oreal True Match W3. For DW, I am between 2W1 and 3W1. I do 2 pumps of 2W1 and 1 pump of 3W1 to get to my perfect match. BTW, the pumps are from MAC, DW doesn't come with any pump.

The long lasting effect of this MU is insane! It was able to keep my nose from showing any shine for 6-7 hours, which no other MU could comare to that! Then, I just need to blot w/ tissue paper, then the MU is just as fresh as new. I also checked the Skin Deep website, DW has a toxicity rating between 4-5, which in my opinion is not bad. I have tried other low to no toxic MU, nothing works wonder, needless to say any long lasting effects.

At the end of the day, after 12 hours of wear (I do work long day), I still have a lot of MU to be removed. Since this MU clings onto the skin so "good", I need to make sure I completely remove all my MU. I use Neutrogena's towelette first, then Clinique's mild cleanser. Combining the two, I usually have hardly any MU left on my cotton when I apply the toner. So far, no break out, no weird spots on my face. I do wear Clinique moisture surge on my cheek to keep my face hydrated though, since DW is sooo dry. Moisture surge keeps my face baby soft, yet no shine at my t-zone! I am a happy girl!

I like this MU so much that I also brought the light version. Haven't tried it yet, but I will, and that will be another review.

Update: As I get darker in summer, I use 1 pump of 3W1, mix with tiny bit of 2W1, perfect match for my light/med asian skin tone, plus it lasts alllllllll day! I am loving this MU, and had recommended it to few of my friends. They like it alot too. I did have some break out soon after I started using it. But I kept using it dispite that 'cause I really enjoy the long lasting effect. And instead of cleaning with Neutrogena's towelette, I use J&J baby oil to clean my face. I rub and rub, make sure all the DW is gone, then wash it with Clinique's facial wash. No more break out. Yeah!!! This is defnitely my HG MU! So if you're looking for long lasting MU, try DW!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/12/2009 9:24:00 PM More reviews by slightlystarry

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is a reasonably good foundation. It offers moderate to heavy coverage, so those with skin discolorations will probably be able to get everything covered. I don't have major skin problems, so I tend to apply about 2/3 the amount what I would normally apply to my face with a different foundation.

It keeps me pretty matte throughout the day and, true to its name, it lasts for a really long time. The only problem I have is that it tends to cake up/slide off, but only around my eye area (probably because I have oily lids). I fix this by skimping on the foundation around my eyes and applying only concealer instead.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 8/10/2009 4:14:00 PM More reviews by Iamsheherazade

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love my double wear – it gives me a soft-matte finish and does not budge all day. The colour stays true all day as well. It can be quite heavy – so apply it with a light hand. I use my skunk brush (MAC 187) to apply it which helps keep the coverage light. I didn’t have much trouble finding a match as the SA suggested a match – gave me a 10 day try it sample (which is great) and when I wasn’t sure made another suggestion with another 10 day supply. I found the first recommendation was the best. This isn’t cheap but my bottle has lasted me a very long time.


EDIT: I am changing my rating as this looks masky on me. I'm not sure why I didn't see it or I just started applying it with a heavier hand??? So... make sure to use the lightest touch.

,.-~*´¨¯¨`*•~-.¸-(iamsherazade)-,.-~*´¨¯¨`*•~-.¸
continued >>

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/9/2009 5:25:00 PM More reviews by AngelaQoQ

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is my all time favorite foundation. It covers well, controls oil well, stays on my oily skin for 9-10 hours, looks very natural and doesn't cause breakout. It's not difficult to remove it by Olay daily facials. Using a damp sponge to apply it, I don't feel it's heavy or mask-like at all. It's pricey, but a little goes a long way. Best foundation I've used among dozens of products I've tried in the past 12 years since I wear liquid foundation!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 8/9/2009 3:21:00 PM More reviews by ixlovexecxxxx

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I began using this product a few months ago upon my sister's recommendation. It is a heavy foundation, but I have always been satisfied because it covered up all of my flaws.
Lately, however, I began to realize that my foundation was not the correct color for my skin. After visiting various Estee Lauder counters and being matched by various 'experts', I still have not found the correct shade.
Because I have extremely pale skin, I have tried all the lightest shades that the makeup artists thought would suit me. NONE of the shades matched my skin tone-they all were obviously the wrong shade.
I am currently searching for a foundation-one that has all the benefits of the double wear-that will match my skin tone nicely.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/8/2009 1:04:00 PM More reviews by alexistaylor111

Age: 19-24 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

i'm a make up addict always on the look out for something better.... after reviews read on the double wear foundation i thought i would purchase! this stuff is amazing! it holds so well on my oily skin- does not budge, quite easy to apply to skin. i don't need a concealer with this foundation it covers my spots well!! i wont be looking for another foundation because this one is fantastic and i can really recommend it for oily skins!!!
UPDATE- i am still using this foundation and i will continue to use it as long as it is still available. the coverage is unlike anything i've ever used. Fantastic for spots, redness, pimples etc. I don't like using foundation all over my face but use this only on the areas that need covering up and this does the job perfectly!! 10 out of 10!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/7/2009 12:03:00 AM More reviews by Mellc

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

Love this foundation! So far it is the best I have found at naturally covering acne. I do not have to use a concealer, just a tad bit dabbed over the spot and it is covered! This foundation does make you look made up which is good with me, and my skin looks flawless when i wear it. People always comment on how nice I look when i wear this. It goes on a bit heavy and dewy but dries quickly to a semi matte finish.
Only downside is i think it makes me break out a tiniest bit with tiny little whiteheads, although they go away pretty quickly. No bad acne for sure.
Overall, given the awesome coverage, i can handle a few breakouts. Also do not workout in this makeup, it will break you out!! And lastly, make sure you have a good makeup remover to get it off, it seems to have pretty good sticking power.

Edit: The finish sometimes seems a bit heavy and cakey. Otherwise still hasnt broken me out. OVerall pretty good foundation. Love this one and Cliniques Clarifying Liqued

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No