MAC Matte - Kinda Sexy

4.2

187 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

A MLBB nude-y pink colour that is subtle and very wearable with a number of looks, whether it's a super smokey eye or an everyday, natural look. I find that putting a gloss over it gives my lips an extra oomph :)
The texture isn't glossy or overly drying - it's matte and just blends into the lips perfectly. I love this lippy.



on 12/10/2008 4:18:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Thanks to a wonderful MA, I have finally managed to find my perfect nude l/s. The endless fruitless search is over, the relief and joy is palpable.


For someone like me, with a pale, sallow complexion, those gorgeous nude pale pink l/s don't work. Those mauve based or brown based nudes don't work either. Time after time, I looked like a corpse dragged out of the morgue, or at best had a serious fever that could soon result in corpse situation. Now thanks to the peachiness of Kinda Sexy, I have Angelina lips (well, ok, just the colour, but it's a start!)


I used to face a tough dilemma before this HG discovery. When wearing heavy eye looks, I either opted for a deep lip too, or went with those corpse l/s contenders, or went natural (pigmented) lipped. So this left me respectively- drag queen, corpse, or unfinished. Now hallelujah I have found my ultimate everyday/ evening pouty nude lipstick and I couldn't be more thrilled. MAC, please never d/c this!!!!


one lippy off for being sooooooooooo drying.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/18/2008 4:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My first lipstick! I was very excited about this, and it didn't disappoint. I have really pigmented lips (they're so pigmented people are always asking if I was wearing lipgloss), and Kinda Sexy is just the thing I need to tone them down. It's a gorgeous muted pink on me, and goes beautifully with dramatic eyes. I love it, and I can't wait to try other MAC lipsticks.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/11/2008 2:48:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I had been given this by my sister but had stored it away and was rocking other colors. One day I saw someones blog about liking MATTE MAC lipsticks and thought Hey I have one. I tried it on and it is gorgeous I like to have a variety of somewhat the same color so am looking for anything close to it. But is is gorgeous doesnt wash me out. I have full lips and pair this with spice liner and maybe a lipgloss it looks very sex kittenish.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/20/2008 3:46:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Lovely product vor all NW's out there! Because this colour is on the warm side it complements any warm coloured skin and I am pretty shure also the more pigmented complexions. I love, love, love this colour - the third picture is a quick shoot of Kinda Sexy topped with Nymphette Gloss. Absolutely Gorgeous! The Flash is a little disturbing but the colour looks pretty even with flash on - which many others don't. If you are looking for a good nude colour with little coral undertones (they really make your face look wake up) then go for this one - you will be astonished what it can do for you even on pictures taken late at night. By the way - the NYX terracotta blush goes perfectly with it. Sooo extremely pretty and still natural, how amazing.
Edit: I had to take one lippy off because it is drying if applied several times - in the evening I have really dry flaky lips, what a pitty

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 10/5/2008 7:35:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This was my first lipstick purchased at MAC and it did not disappoint. A very gorgeous complimenting color for my N37 skintone and looks amazing with MAC's Wildly Lush Plushglass. It is a matte (a tiny bit drying) so the MA recommended using a lipbrush to apply. Very versatile for a natural look and smoky eyes. HG STATUS FOR ME !!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/7/2008 11:08:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is called a matte lipstick, but its really cream on my and not like other MAC mattes I've encountered, strange. The color on me shows up light/medium peach flesh color almost, I didn't see any cool, rose tones. But I am a MMM/GGG.


on 7/7/2008 3:47:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Got this off a swap so I can't really comment price-wise.

I hated this at first, cos' it came out a little TOO drying.. and it kinda just feels plastered on my lips. *However* I used a lip brush and the results were instantly different. The colour is perfect for a light look with a tint of colour. It *is* pretty drying since it's matte, but putting gloss over it or lip balm before will change that. :D

I'm really starting to love this lipstick more and more!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/26/2008 8:06:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I just love this! After trying Velvet Teddy and finding it just too beige for me I decided to try Kinda Sexy. This is definitely not a nude on me but it's still light enough to be considered fairly neutral while at the same time having enough color to light up my face a bit. I am strongly warm (C2, NC25ish) and this works really well with my skintone. Even with my strawberry blonde hair it suits me well. I LOVE MAC matte formulation because it actually stays on my lips for more than 20 minutes which is a huge issue for me with most lipsticks. I am sure I will be reaching for this one a lot. From L to R MAC Cherish, Kinda Sexy, Velvet Teddy, Twig
continued >>

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/15/2008 2:14:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I can't stop staring at myself in the mirror when I wear this lipstick! Love the matte formula - doesn't dry your lips out but looks super matte. The color does not wash me out! Any lighter and it would. It's a perfect peachy nudey color. Application takes a little work though - I use a lipbrush for sure and a nude lippencil is ideal. Really one of my favorites from MAC. Tried Honeylove also but that color was horrible (super grey/corpse like).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
Velvet Teddy
215 Reviews
Liquid Lipstick
Liquid Lipstick
26 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin



Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

42 reviews
image

Matte - Saddle

95 reviews
Back to Top