December 19, 2014 | 1656 users online

Cleansers - Noxzema - Original Skin Cream

rated 3.8(637 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.8
  • 71% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.4
  • Price: $

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 10/27/2011 11:03:00 AM More reviews by Stacela72

Age: 36-43 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

The girls at sephora tell me otherwise...but I swear that nothing cleans makeup off like noxzema. I am acne prone and fighting aging at all costs. Noxzema does not cause break outs and makes my skin soft. I use it every night.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 10/23/2011 1:28:00 PM More reviews by herbgurl82

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

As odd as it sounds, my love affair with Noxzema began as a child, when I found one of the old colbalt blue glass jars that they used to package this in back in the 60s buried in my backyard. I still have that glass jar on my desk as I type, as a paper clip holder... But onto the practical part of this review.
My grandmother used this and she always had great skin. I used to love this stuff, and always came back to it. Both the original formula, and the one with the added moisturizers worked very well for me as a teenager, and young adult in college. My mother bought me a new tub of it at Walmart recently, and I noticed that the feel of it in my hands was different. More of a mousse consistency, is the best way I can describe it. I dug my old container out of the trash, and compared the labels. Loh, and behold, they changed the formula! They added phenol, which is an eye irritant, and moved the gelatin up on the ingredients list, which is odd, considering the texture. It left a gritty film on my face. They should not be marketing this under the "original" label, as the formula has changed. That is very deceitful. I will not repurchase.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 10/3/2011 6:05:00 PM More reviews by maddie34

Age: 19-24 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

It works well but be careful.
.
Two ingredients, Ammonium Hydroxide and Propylene Glycol, are carcinogens. However, given how long this product has been on the market (since 1914), if it could be directly linked to cancer I highly doubt it would still be available. I wouldn't blame anyone for not using it for that reason, but it is FDA approved and, as far as I know, safe if used correctly.
.
That said, for me this worked exactly as advertised. I apply it to my face while dry, leave it on for a minute or two, and wash off with a warm washcloth. It cleared the blackheads on my nose as well as anything else I've ever used (Queen Helene Mint Julep Mask, ProActive, scrubs, peels, oil cleansing method, etc.). That said, be sure to use it in moderation. If I use it more than once a day, my skin will become very red and irritated. Use it at most once per day, reduce to every other day if you experience any irritation or redness.
.
I can't give this a 4 or 5 due to the harmful chemicals but it does work if you're careful with how you use it. It is certainly an aggressive treatment.

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/2/2011 2:09:00 AM More reviews by cedesb08

Age: 19-24 Skin: Other, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium Eyes: Blue

My HG cleanser, never breaks me out, it's something I can always count on.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/30/2011 8:52:00 PM More reviews by Tatrina

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I absolutley love this product! It helps keep my oily skin under control and I often use it on my nose to help with blackheads.
I've heard people say that because it tingles or leaves their skin dry they've stopped but what its doing it getting rid of dead skin cells and cells that are infected and penetrating into the layers of skin cells so when the fresh layer comes through, your skin will stay clear.
I use it before I shower as I find it is hard to get all of it off to my satisfaction. Or maybe I'm just paranoid that theres something on my face even when theres not.
I did get the newer revamped jar and I love the cobalt blue and silver lid. Its was 6-7$ Canadian so pretty inexpensive considering how much product you get.
However I do travel for cheer and school trips and I will be very soon purchasing the miniature travel-sized one for like $2 at my local drugstore.

I really encourage you give it a try and even just try the drugstore one as they will usually let you return it if it breaks you out (I know Wal-mart does for sure),

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/28/2011 7:19:00 AM More reviews by Tomboytogirlygirl

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

My HG face wash! I try other products from time to time just to see what is out there and I always come back to Noxzema. It doesn't cause me to breakout (and I am VERY acne prone) and it leaves my skin actually feeling clean and smooth! I tried using a Neutrogena naturals face wash and that one caused me to have a constant oil slick on my face (almost as soon as I rinsed my face) which, as a result, caused me to have AWFUL acne! I read other reviews of the Neutrogena naturals and found other women had the same problem. After just over a week of using this particular Noxzema, my face has cleared up about 98% and I never walk away feeling oily or greasy (even after several hours). BUY BUY BUY!!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/16/2011 1:04:00 PM More reviews by Chyna18

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

i use this product all the time... it has always been a great buy... it cleanses well and it makes my skin feel great i am 34 yrs old and ive been using it since i was 14 i love it... i will always recommend this product...

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/2/2011 9:07:00 PM More reviews by goodysleck

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I always come back to this product. I have dryish/combination skin with hormonal acne around my mouth and chin. I feel like this product really balances my skin and even clears up the acne quite a bit over time. Oftentimes, before bed, I don't even use moisturizer after washing my face with this. It's just... balancing.
Love it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/28/2011 12:59:00 PM More reviews by supergirlieque

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

I love using this to wash my face when I don't have a break out! I need BP or SA to clear up my spots (hormonal or due to chemical allergies from certain shampoos) but in between this does a great job. The smell is strong (menthol) but it makes your skin feel fresh and not too dry. LOVE LOVE IT!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 8/24/2011 5:42:00 PM More reviews by JonMoss

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Tan, Neutral Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse Eyes: Brown

While I love the smell and the feel on my face, sadly, this cleanser breaks me out if I use it every night. This may be perfect for dry or very dry skin. I swear I got a pimple every other day, the kind that darkens as it heals, yuck. So I will go back to using my Olay 2 in 1 pore minimizing cleanser. Perhaps I will use this once a week in combination with St Ives apricot scrub as an exfoliating mask.

Is this review helpful? Yes No