November 27, 2014 | 1537 users online

Gels/Soaps - Philosophy - Amazing Grace Bath, Shampoo & Shower Gel



image 0image 1

rated 3.8(292 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.8
  • 66% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.9
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 on 11/30/2006 9:38:00 PM More reviews by virginiagirl11

Age: Unknown Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

While I love my Hope in a Jar and Purity Made Simple, I am not a big fan of the Amazing Grace Bath, Shampoo & Shower Gel. For some reason the scent just turns me off a little bit and while the gel feels luxurious, it doesn't go very far. I'll finish using the small bottle I have but I won't buy it again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 11/29/2006 10:49:00 AM More reviews by westcoastgirl

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I like this 3N1 quite a bit. The fragrance is very nice and clean smelling. I use it as a shower gel and sometimes as a shampoo( and I am very picky about what I put on my hair) I always follow up with a great conditioner after any shampoo anyway so I have not found it to be drying on my hair. I would repurchase.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/25/2006 12:28:00 AM More reviews by SMMY

Age: Unknown Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I am posting in response to the unfortunate alarmist posting below. My bathroom has a dozen different Philosophy 3-in-1 gels, along with a myriad of other Philosophy products in it. I think that qualifies me to review these products, as opposed to just cutting and pasting spam-like messages in leu of a review, regarding Philosophy products. This is just a sad attempt to try to scare people. I believe there are plenty of message boards for this type of thing, so I would hope in the future, she would take this to a place designed for discussion and not a place designed for reviews.
I heartily recommend this product and hope no one takes the posting about Philosophy 3-in-1 products causing cancer seriously. Trust me, I'm an analytical chemist and there is no scientific evidence linking these products (parabens) to cancer. This is just a bit of ill-informed propaganda posted below. I <3 Philosophy and will continue to support this company through product purchases. I hope everyone else who loves Philosophy does the same, as we need to support companies with a strong set of ethics and great products.
And to keep on topic, I love Amazing Grace, such a wonderful light floral scent. This shower gel cleans without drying out my skin and smells great.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 11/4/2006 12:20:00 PM More reviews by purplegirlie

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Again, I love the smell. But it doesn't last longer than the shower! Also, I think this makes for a terrible shampoo; it dried my hair out, and even the lather felt drying. Amazing Grace IS an amazing scent, but this is not an amazing format for it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/31/2006 3:13:00 PM More reviews by powderblue18

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I love this stuff!!!!!! I don't use it as a shampoo b/c I'm too harsh on my hair and it can dry it out, but as a body wash, it's awesome. I always get complements about how good I smell. This is just a nice clean scent. I will always buy this!!!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 10/25/2006 12:58:00 PM More reviews by bkramer947

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Okay, here we go. Love the scent and enjoy the shower when I use this product. Lathers up well, though not as rich and lathery as Bath and Body Works similar products....but okay. I do find it drying on my hair so it is strictly for the body in my case. I feel the scent has ZERO staying power on me. I'd like if it was just a little lasting after the shower but nothing! It is a little expensive for the quality. I think there is a lot of hype for these products. They are marketed brilliantly. But if I am really being honest, I think there is better out there for less money and with longer lasting scents. I recommend people search out the dupes of this scent that are out there. You can get FABULOUS dupes of this scent and zillions others in shampoo, shower gels, bubble baths, body sprays, perfume oils, scrubs, you name it!! I will only do that from now on. I think they are truly superior and less expensive to boot.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 10/13/2006 10:55:00 AM More reviews by Glynnie

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

This one was too strong for me.
I used it as a shampoo and shower gel just once and the scent lingered all day(great for people who like this scent) and made me feel sick.
I really wanted to like it because of the many reviews I have read but I couldn't bring myself to try it again for fear of the same reaction.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 10/3/2006 9:22:00 PM More reviews by lishka

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I got the mega size from QVC and really wanted to love it, but sadly, I'm going to return it tomorrow. The scent gave me a headache (their "soap and water" scent does as well, but "Falling in Love" doesn't--go figure!). It also seemed to dry out my skin and made my hair feel like straw. I was very disappointed. I'll stick with Bath & Body Works for my shower gel.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/1/2006 12:39:00 AM More reviews by kiwithunder789

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Oh my heaven!! This smells so beautiful. I got a sample from Sephora and absolutely fell in love with it. Even after I had used up all the gel I kept the little packet around so I could keep smelling it :)! As some reviewers have stated, this smells quite different than the perfume (which I don't mind, because I did not care for it at all), so even if you don't like the AG perfume, you shouldn't be afraid to give this a try! It's lovely! The one minus, though, is that it's not a very good shampoo, but what the heck, it smells so nice it's worth it! Will definately purchase.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/29/2006 11:20:00 PM More reviews by Flitter

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

This is my absolute FAVE of all the philosophy scents!! I just can't get enough of it. I have not used this as a shampoo, but I just adore using this as a bath and shower gel. I have already repurchased on several occasions and will most definitely do so again! I just LOVE Amazing Grace!!! :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No