October 20, 2014 | 2070 users online

Skincare - Face - Turmeric Mask



image 0image 1

rated 4.6(161 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.6
  • 92% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.6
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/31/2012 11:49:00 PM More reviews by bludvls849

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

Turmeric is incredible. I find that a thick paste of turmeric and honey applied overnight on a zit greatly reduces scarring and redness. Of course, turmeric stains absolutely everything, but I'm willing to put up with it for what it does for my skin!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/2/2012 11:49:00 AM More reviews by heavyboots

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I mix turmeric powder with a tiny bit of water using a q-tip and then apply it to acne scars with the same. I have tried leaving it on overnight, but I think it sort of defeats the purpose as you cannot will yourself to sleep on your back the entire night. I have marks on my right cheekbone, and I found that turmeric only transferred onto my ear by the morning, making it so difficult to remove. Usually, I put it on when I know I don't have to go anywhere the rest of the day, so I can leave it on for as many hours as I can stand. If you mix it with ACV instead of water, the smell definitely lingers, but with water, there is virtually no discernible scent. I take it off with water and soap, and a bit later, I use my Queen Helene mint mask on the same spots. Once it dries, I find that it takes off much of the yellow tinge left on my skin. I always wait at least 30 minutes after to try to wash it away because it cannot be done at once! You will only irritate your skin if you try, which is why you should only use this if you have nowhere to be! I notice a slight fading of my scars after using turmeric twice, so I will definitely keep using it. Rose hip oil is the only other product that has worked on my acne scars, I massage it into my skin for as long as I can (I usually watch tv while doing so, for about 30 minutes), and I have seen results after about 2 weeks. As another reviewer said, it is best to wash away the excess in a stainless steel sink, as it does stain otherwise! And if you don't have an Indian grocery near by, you can always purchase the McCormick spice in any chain grocery store - it's about $3 for 26 grams and a little goes a long way, and it is just as potent.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/30/2011 1:55:00 PM More reviews by mm6mm

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

in india women often use a mask of turmeric, yoghurt, and besan (chickpea flour). the yoghurt exfoliates, the turmeric cleans and disinfects, and the besan binds the whole thing together to make it a pleasant experience. the recipe i use is 1/2 tsp turmeric, 1 tbsp yoghurt, 1 1/2-2 tbsp besan. it leaves an instant glow, my hubby always comments on how fresh i look after i wash it off, and it literally peels of all the dead skin so that you can post a before/ after pic and you would see a big difference. it is the most effective mask for acne, and hyper- pigmentation due to acne or sun damage. if u add like 1/4 tsp organic acv (albeit it will stink, so do it only if u can bear the smell on ur face for 1/2 hr cause it wont go away <-- IMO) it will make the mask a million times more effective, if i cud bear the stink i would def put acv in each time i use it but even without acv it makes a huuuge difference in ur skin. use it!!! the recipe i put up will make alot of it, u prob dont need so much but i do have a tendency to pack it on my face and neck like crazy so for me its just enough..

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 12/27/2011 4:24:00 PM More reviews by nodown

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I've been breaking out like crazy lately and my usual products (Tazorac and an AHA gel) weren't as effective. I remembered reading about turmeric as effective on acne and decided it was worth a try. A bottle of the spice is only around $6 at the supermarket (and I'm sure it's cheaper if you can get it in bulk).



I mixed a tablespoon of turmeric powder with two tablespoons of plain yogurt and a squirt of honey. This makes quite a lot so I keep the extra in a plastic wrapped dark ceramic mug in the fridge. (It's easier to remember to apply it if I don't have to mix up a new batch each time.) By the way, it doesn't stain my fingers or sinks, etc. as long as I clean them immediately.



I applied a thin layer all over my face and added a little extra to the cysts. Then I left it on for about 30 minutes. I rinse off with warm water, scrubbing gently, then wash with a cleanser before using a microfiber cloth to dry off my face. The microfiber does an excellent job of lifting off the yellow stain the turmeric leaves behind, but might be too much exfoliation for those with delicate skin. In that case, I'd use oil to cleanse or a plain yogurt mask to lift the stain.



I didn't see instant results, but I noticed that my cysts were smaller, flatter, and not painful the next morning. I did not notice a big difference in post-acne marks until after the third night I did the turmeric mask. They were fading about as fast as they do when I use a lightening gel (Physician's Formula with hydroquinone), which is pretty great since the gel is expensive and HQ might pose health problems in the long run.



Warning: The mask won't just dry up your zits--it will do so for the rest of your face. This might be OK for oily-skinned folks, but for everyone else, I suggest limiting the use of the mask to a few times/week to give your skin a break. You can get rid of flaky skin with a paste of sugar+honey (and a squirt of aloe, if you have any). Apply the mixture to your face and gently scrub, rinse off, and apply a drop of facial oil (jojoba is good).



Overall, I'm happy with the turmeric mask and glad to have it in my skincare arsenal. Turmeric is not a miracle, but it's cheap and effective, which is good enough for me.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/12/2011 3:19:00 PM More reviews by sadybrady

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Turmeric is the most amazing, natural, healing (plant/spice) product the earth has given us. I too have spent years and money on fancy, overated rubbish and can honestly say a turmeric mask beats them all hands down.
I usually mixed with water, honey or lemon. Paint on with a cheap foundation brush, leave for 15 mins plus (the longer the better) a couple of times a week and the redness goes, spots coming retreat away and my skin is smoother. I had scars from spots and they have almost disappeared.
Hyperpigmentation and sun spots have gone and I am now so proud of my pale smooth skin I no longer care about tanning and wear factor most of the time.
Gettig rid is easy, milk or yogurt on some pads and then a another wash latter.
Cheap and natural and wonderful. Don't worry about staining, give it a go xxx !!

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 11/15/2011 10:15:00 AM More reviews by anisha12

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Black

OH.MY.GAWD!!! I'm 26...and I can finally tell the difference between bacterial and hormonal acne! Yea yea, now u guys will try n tell me its caused by t same organism, blah blah...but the treatments are permanent based on the cause! And all this while...i had occasional hormonal acne that disappeared with spot treatments from Clinique and wat not..with stuff lyk benzoyl peroxide, salicylic acid, etc. BUT when I had a recent breakout...after trying out stuff at a makeup counter, i got cystic painful pERSISTENT acne that was taking over my LIFE! I cudn't look at my face in the MIRROR anymore! My face was all red, bumpy, painful...yuck! Enter: Turmeric powder. Its pathetic how I'm Indian and i didn't think of this earlier...an English woman reminded me! ;) Turmeric is a great antibacterial...but I know its strong too...what old wives tales suggest is, u mix a 1/4 teaspoon of turmeric powder with 1 tablespoon of ground chickpea flour (called 'besan'/ chana ka aatta' in India) in water..make a thick paste and apply it over the affected areas. Preferably in the evening. OMG..the VERY NEXT DAY, all my acne were flat and there was no redness/ pain!!! I am SURPRISED at how GOOD this stuff works! Have been using it for 3 days now and my skin IS BACK TO NORMALCY with some dirty scars that need tym! I would SIGN MY NAME for this review! Its dirt cheap and 100% effective for bacterial acne!

Caution: u may experience some slight burning/itching/ even rash the first tym you use it...but with continued use, those effects vanish and it jus cleans your face. Also, Use it only once a day cuz too much of a good thing could cause drying of your skin.

16 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/11/2011 8:13:00 PM More reviews by clixe

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Violet

I've been using this for a few weeks now, and my skin has cleared up considerably. I was breaking out on my cheeks, and had a few bumps on my forehead that never went away. After making a paste with this and water and leaving it on my face for about half an hour, every other night, now my skin is finally smooth, glowing and clear. I don't even have any bumps on my forehead that I always had since the past two years! This slightly stains my skin, but as I do it at night the yellow tint is gone by morning. Also, a little goes a long way, and it's not expensive at all.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/6/2011 10:24:00 AM More reviews by sickofacne

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Ok, so I have used this twice now, mixing it with skim milk (heard its good for your skin too...calming).
The first time I almost freaked, cause I washed it off and I was YELLOW. But I then washed my face with my cleanser and it was gone. the second time I used this, I kind of broke out the next morning, but I wonder if my skin was purging? It tingles when it's on, and my face feels almost cool afterwards, like it's super clean.

I am going to keep up with it, and I will perhaps be bumping my lippies from 4 to 5dependant on the next month of usage. (that being 2x a week).


-UPDATE: December 18th/2011-: I noticed that everytime I use this, 2 days later, my skin purges ALOT. anyone else get this?

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/23/2011 1:53:00 AM More reviews by JoCh

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Turmeric deserves my first (and possibly only) review here at MA.

I have rosacea on my cheeks and am prone to cystic acne around my chin during that time of the month. My face broke out badly from a neutrogena sunscreen I wore last year and while the cystic acnes have long healed, they left dark acne scars that would not fade no matter what I did.

I have read studies about Turmeric's abilities to subdue inflammation along with many of its other health benefits, and wanted to see whether there was a review for it at MA. Lo and behold, many here are already singing its praises.

I use turmeric from a brand called "Sadaf", but I imagine any brand would do. I mix approximately 1/4 teaspoon of turmeric powder with 3/4 teaspoon of thick, unflavored yogurt. I mix it with a flat brush and apply the mask to a cleansed face, and leave the mask on for approximately 15 to 30 minutes. I simply rinse the mask off with cool water and put on moisturizer. I don't notice much staining on my face and I believe it is due to the yogurt.

I do the turmeric+yogurt mask about 2 nights a week and I am quite impressed with the result. The texture of my face has evened out, and the lighter acne scars on my face have lightened and some have even faded completely. The darker scars still remain, but please realize that I have only used the mask a handful of times. I have used many products that claim to lighten scars or even out skin-tone, but none gave the noticeable results in as short a time as this homemade mask has.

Turmeric and yogurt are very inexpensive, and I will continue to use them.

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/19/2011 2:47:00 AM More reviews by kus

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

When i was a kid we used to hear about the virtues of turmeric on the skin, its something that you take for granted when its been told by generations down. But recently i started getting huge cystic acne and nothing would work and i couldn't use tri luma anymore because am trying to concieve. So i gave it a try with raw "root" tumeric and Besan (gram flour) which i chucked into the mixer and voila ! within 3 applications, results are amazing my skin is sooooo smooth and the pain form the acne has vanished, althouth there still is a small bump. It might be my imagination but i have a feeling that by skin looks brighter and that the darker scars a little darker than the rest of my skin. Could it be that am getting lighter ???
Bottom line its cheap, efficient but such a messy hassle with the stain

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No