April 20, 2014 | 1444 users online

Top/Base Coats - Creative Nail Design - Stickey Base Coat



image 0

rated 4.3(139 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.3
  • 79% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.1
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 2/5/2004 10:11:00 AM More reviews by Crystal9579

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

This is the second best base coat I have ever tried. The only one better is their Toughen Up base coat. This one keeps my polish on my nails for days longer than other brands I have used.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 1/16/2004 5:26:00 PM More reviews by mle35794

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This basecoat was pretty good. It didn't completely "anchor" the polish onto my nails for days like it said it would, but it worked better than most other ones I tried (Bonder, I'm looking in your general direction).

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 12/4/2003 5:55:00 AM More reviews by AprilH

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

OK I have to be in the minority on this one. I often get manicures at a JC Penney salon and the nail techs frequently use this. Quite honestly it doesn't make my manicure last any longer than any other base coat. I find I prefer OPI Nail Envy to this. Not sure why all the hype for this one.
EDIT: I just thought I would point out that I compared the ingredients for Stickey to the Nail Life Gripper basecoat available at Sally's, and they are nearly identical. And you get 1.19 oz of Gripper for $7.99 compared to about 6 bucks for .5 oz of Stickey at most places. So if you like Stickey you might look into the one at Sally's to save a few bucks. However I would also note that both Stickey and Gripper contain toluene and formaldehyde which can be rather hard on the nails.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/2/2003 10:08:00 PM More reviews by Gradle

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Green

WOW! I seriously wish I would have tried this basecoat sooner! This makes my polish last from 5 to 7 days with no chipping or visible wear......this is amazing stuff! Also isn't very expensive. Everyone should give this a try!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 8/17/2003 11:42:00 PM More reviews by Shells

Age: 19-24 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

This is the best base coat that I've ever used. I primarily use it for my toes...I'm bored with my nail polish long before it even thinks of chipping! :D This goes on sale once in a while at Trade Secret for $2 off (which is about $4 I guess) which makes it a great value. I do have some issues with the brush, I've had a couple of tubes where the brush had a tendency to splay beyond repair. Oh well. I love this stuff. :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 8/3/2003 4:16:00 AM More reviews by paleviolet

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Wow! This is the hands-down best base I have ever used. My hands are in water all day long, and normally polish turns into a chipped mess after a few hours. This made my polish last for 3 days without a single chip, which is a feat of astronomical proportions for me. I love it! I will continue to prime with this.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 7/28/2003 10:00:00 AM More reviews by Stacy

Age: 25-29 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I've used Stickey basecoat for a number of years now. I haven't found anything else that works quite as well. I won't call it the holy grail because my polish still don't last more than 4-5 days, no matter what I use, but Stickey keeps it on longer than the 2-3 days I usually get out of any other product. I have purchased this at Ulta, Trade Secret, and even Sally's.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/28/2003 11:42:00 PM More reviews by face_case

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

Really does help polish stay on longer. I will definately buy this again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 7/24/2002 9:32:00 PM More reviews by kimm

Age: Unknown Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

Really anchors polish to your nails. Dries very quickly and does what it claims to do.

Is this review helpful? Yes No