October 30, 2014 | 1611 users online

Cleansers - Philosophy - Purity Made Simple (Real Purity Cleanser)

rated 3.7(2435 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.7
  • 64% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.8
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 6/18/2008 10:24:00 PM More reviews by kams64

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I've tried plenty of cleansers and this one is my favorite for evening makeup removal. It gets rid of even tough eye makeup with no stinging. All traces of sunsceen and foundation are gone. I had always used a foaming cleanser, but I quickly got used to no foam. My face feels cleaner with Purity than any other foaming cleanser. This stuff actually makes me look forward to washing my face! ;-)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 6/18/2008 11:06:00 AM More reviews by maureen2

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

My mom uses this cleanser and really likes it so I thought I'd give it a go. I had a ton of makeup on for an event and this did a great job of removing it! It gently cleansed my skin and left it soft w/no tightness. I prefer foaming cleanser but would use this again maybe at night just to remove makeup.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 6/18/2008 4:03:00 AM More reviews by mzxtine

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I just remembered that I used this prior to switching to H20 products to help with my skin. But this was about a month and a half before switching over... it smelled alright. Cleansing step was alright, too. I got a sample so not sure what to say. The MA helped me with a sample kit to try... let's just say it wasn't enough to convince me to switch over.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 6/16/2008 5:01:00 PM More reviews by bhimsey

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

i used this product for 4 days and, despite wanting it to be my HG, was unfortunately not. I have dry sensitive skin. It did not irritate my skin in any way so that is a positive but it did dry my skin out. My face felt very tight and actually started flaking because it was drying me out so much. It did remove all make up. So I wouldn't recommend for those with dry skin. But for if your skin is sensitive,it won't irritate you.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/15/2008 9:50:00 PM More reviews by malogale

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I LOVE this cleanser! It removes makeup completely and is great for de-congesting my pores! It is very effective, but not too harsh. For all of you who experienced poor reactions, did you give it a week or so? For my first three days of using it, I did break out and did get rough, red, dry patches. Day four, *poof* irritation went away as did all acne. I don't know what happened, but I've been in love ever since.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/11/2008 12:24:00 AM More reviews by bittersweet_delite

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

i LOVE this cleanser. Definatly my new HG. Super creamy but even on my combo-oily skin i never get oily from it. Removes all makeup and eyemakeup. The bottle lasts forever. I used the 3.5 oz bottle for three months, twice a day! My pores are tighter and my skin is clearer. definatly will be buying this again.

EDIT: Has anyone tried the new foaming version yet? I am very curious, because I love a foaming cleanser, but i am a little unsure of whether or not the actual product is more different. I am scared it will be really drying.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/10/2008 4:57:00 PM More reviews by SIPEDRO

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Hazel

This is a really great cleanser. It takes off all your makeup, even tough mascara. You can even use too much & it will never dry out your face. Definately worth trying. I think it works on any skin type. For all you foam-only girls, this does not foam up at all! It just has a really creamy feeling. Buy it! =)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/9/2008 3:06:00 PM More reviews by stonefoxxx

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love this cleanser! Very creamy, skin never feels tight or slick after using. Removes face makeup very easily. I bought the travel size ( i think is like 3.5 oz?) for $10 at sephora and has lasted me about 2 and a half months, and im not even half way through the bottle. I bought the travel size bc i wanted to try it first, but this is my all time favorite! i had been using proactiv for years, but decided on a whim to try this. The scent smells like Aveda products, herbal..which i happen to love. I feel so refreshed after using this and never makes me break out. My skin looks amazing.

love it! very satisfied.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/8/2008 11:16:00 PM More reviews by skeeto21

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Love it!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 6/8/2008 1:37:00 PM More reviews by shamuball

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I have ridiculously sensitive skin (reacts to weather changes- heat, humidity, etc.), so I don't like to try new cleansers. But the marketing team at Philosophy is just SO GOOD that I got sucked into trying Purity. Luckily, I asked for a sample from Sephora instead of actually plunking down $$$ for it. After 2 days, my face was itching like crazy so I dumped the rest down the drain. No more Purity for me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No