April 19, 2014 | 1115 users online

Treatments - Avene - Cleanance K



image 0

rated 3.8(222 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.8
  • 68% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.9
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 3/19/2009 8:50:00 AM More reviews by loveluxxx

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This product works really well for me, making my skin smooth after every use. It does a great job of keeping my oily t-zone blemish-free while erasing small blemishes from healed pimples. It also did not irritate my skin or force it to 'adjust' to a new product which I've experienced with other brands.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/19/2009 3:12:00 AM More reviews by carita

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I find it much better than Cleanance.
While regular cleanance did nothing, except provide a bit of moisturizing, Cleanance K has really improved my skin, although it still does nothing to prevent shine.
I have to say that this is the first AHA/BHA product that Iím using during a longer period. It cleared up my face. I get very few breakouts. There are also less blackheads.
The cream still doesnít feel too drying, but since Sisley Complexe aux Resines Tropicales turned my skin into normal again, I will continue to use Cleanance K occasionally to prevent pore clogging.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/11/2009 12:18:00 AM More reviews by dollyredshoes

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Works like a charm on my combination skin. Clears up less stubborn blemishes and refines my skin texture. I don't always get the tingly/stinging sensation but when I do, it's quite a sharp sensation for about 5 secs. Will definitely repurchase as this is my go-to fix-it product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 2/5/2009 10:07:00 PM More reviews by laura101

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I'm still on the fence about these products- i got the clearance K and the soapless gel in a pack with the thermal spring water (which i though was a crock of you know what- which it was but came free) and although the gel is good I'm not sure about the clearance K. I hate the smell, very acidic and stings still when it goes over opened pimples. its sticky which i hate, and I would NEVER use it after i had exfoliated and cleansed my skin... unless i had a death wish that day. since using the avene products my skin has gotten better- but not perfect. i still get break outs, like one or two BIG cyst like pimples at a time (like now- i;m refusuing to leave the house) and i still get an oily t-zone that has IMMOVABLE blackheads. So i'd probably buy it again because its the best I've used so far but... not completley satisfied. alot of cons.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/17/2009 5:10:00 AM More reviews by formerfatty

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral Hair: Other, Other, Fine Eyes: Green

This isn't a moisturiser but more of a treatment cream. It balls under make up so isn't really suitable for day wear unless you go bare faced. It's an AHA BHA cream to unclog congested skin. It doesn't sink in but leaves a film across your skin so is best used at night.
If my skin gets congested or too clogged I use this a few nights running to clear things. Blocked pores are opened up and blackheads easy to remove. I use this acid cream at night followed by a scrub in the morning to get rid of all the stuff it's dissolved/loosened and the results are great. It evens out any discolouration from healing spots too.
A good effective product and I have repurchased many times.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/15/2009 6:21:00 PM More reviews by babyboma

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

All in all I recommend Avene Cleanance K and I rarely review product but as someone who used to suffer from acnes when in my early twenties ('m 26 now), i feel the need to share with you all what works and what doesn't.

First - you need to understand what acne is and how Cleanance K works on them.

Based on the best book I read on the subject (Breaking Out: A Woman's Guide to Coping with Acne at Any Age: Lydia Preston, Tina Alster: Books), acne does not happen over night. It started with the building up of comedones (i.e. our oil secretion gets stuck in side the follicles and turned into a solid form), which blocks the follicles and stops oxygen from going in and out and anaerobic (oxygen hating) bacterias grow. When we're stressed, or at any given time, our body immune system will battle with some chosen follicles and the bacteria, secretion (that irritates our skin) in it, and that is what we see as acne. (you should get the book if you want a way more detailed overview and exceptions on the case).

So what we need to do is to *prevent* comedones from building up, and this is where Cleanance K kicks in by pushing the content from skin surface out and get rid of the comedones through the action of the BHA and AHA acid, BEFORE acne even happens.

Now onto the product itself.

*Before*: I have got back from a yoga retreat and my forehead was full of little pimples (probably due to my bang didn't get tied up during the practices and bacteria grew), and I always have a couple of little pimples/acne on my cheek. ALWAYS. Coverable by make-up, but it's very annoying.

*First week*: When I put on the product, it stings A LOT on the pimple/open wounds. But I was sordidly happy because I hate them, and secretly hope it'd work. The next day I woke up, I see a lot of little white heads coming out from the pimples and I was ecstatic (of course I planned to go no where when I started using the product as I know how acid works on skin). I resisted the temptation to squeeze them (to avoid scar) and religiously apply Cleanance K night and day. At the end of the week *ALL* the pimples on my forehead were gone, however I have about 3 more coming out from my jaw line, which rarely breaks out.

*second week* To make sure I completely stop having acne, I paired up Cleanance k with 2.5% benzoyl peroxide gel all over areas that are prone to acne, half an hour after I put Cleanance K on (since it can weaken K so I want to make sure it all got absorbed). As described, it'd be already too late to put benzoyl peroxide over acne when it happens, because the point is to kill the bacteria first before your body detects and attack them = acne. If you apply religiously both products on areas prone to acne, it should prevent that from happen at all whatsoever.

By the end of week two, even the stubborn pimples on my cheeks seem to all be going (I see no new one), although it still have some red-marks over.

*now* I'm now only in my week three, but I feel so much in control of my skin and I really hope you feel the same after read this comment (or the book). Re: balling-up make up: After I do my cleaning, I'd put a bit of moisturizer (Avene's obviously) and wait till it dries out then only apply very *little* amount of Cleanance K. Rub in your foundation/sunscreen very slowly and lightly, that should prevent ball-ups. But I do smear quite a lot of that at night. Note that your face might stick onto the pillow, so I do put a towel on my pillow and change it often.

I may come up to post and update, but so far I'm very happy with the results!

*disclaimer* I am not at all affiliated with any of the recommended products, the only thing that drives me to this long-winding comment is that acne can drive us crazy and people who don't have it, don't get it. But if we know about why it happens, life just gets so much more easier.

Good luck ladies.

19 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 1/12/2009 5:36:00 AM More reviews by teago

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Ive applied this twice today. When I first bought it, then about 4 hours later, when I washed my face for the night.
It does sting, more tingle for me, for about 1/2 hour and it seems the pimples get redder, but after about an hour or 2 you can already see the redness and overall appearance of acne is reduced.
I apply it to my chin where all my acne is then use Cetaphil Moisturising Lotion on the rest of my face.
It has definitely seemed less irritating than the Paulas Choice BHA gel did!

Back to add...I was wrong. This stuff never stopped stinging, I gave up eventually and threw it out.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/9/2008 1:07:00 AM More reviews by yanaaa

Age: 25-29 Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

It's really great. Apply it at night (make sure your hands are clean to have a fast recovery) and dab only a tiny dot to the blemishes and use your fingertips to smooth the gel. Wash your face thoroughly in the morning with a gentle cleanser, make sure the gel from last night is wash away. Apply the gel again in the morning if you want to. Make sure never to touch it with your hands! Repeat this for about 3-4days and you'll see a difference! My skin is cleared and i love this product, will continue to use it too!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 12/8/2008 11:37:00 PM More reviews by vit_c

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I just used this for 2 nites & hey its better than Idealist i feel - hasher though but if you want cleaner pores & are impatient - this is the way to go.

about the balling up - i feel that maybe if you left your skin wet, you'll apply less product, less balling up will occur as well. Its slightly heavy I would say - not the pretty nice texture Idealist has - & it will sting if you have open pimple wounds. If you can bear with this, its quite a good bet. Kind on the wallet too.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/25/2008 4:27:00 PM More reviews by edamameb

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

Silicon texture on the skin that sits there. Not make up friendly as it can cause your make up to ball up.
After a while I decided to use it on my arms instead, where I had a smattering of goosebump-like clogged pores (keratosis pilaris) and after 2 weeks of application they were gone. Overall I think this would be best for people with clogged pores or kp, and if you want to use it I suggest you use it at night, unless you don't apply make up.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No