April 20, 2014 | 1799 users online

Crème - Revlon - ColorStay Whipped Creme Makeup

rated 3.9(1111 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.9
  • 69% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.1
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 on 11/10/2013 4:32:00 PM More reviews by justmigrating

Age: 44-55 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Pros: Not too difficult to apply. No smell.

Cons: Didn't blend as easily as I'd like. Found it hard to get the coverage I wanted (I have rosacea). Color was so-so. I am very fair-skinned and bought the palest (Ivory) and it was still a little dark for me. But the biggest issue is that this makeup rubbed off too easily.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/9/2013 5:01:00 PM More reviews by Skincaremaven

Age: 36-43 Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have used everything from Smashbox, Nars, MAC, etc- but I Colorstay liquid is pretty much my HG foundation, and I always regret straying. I had been using Ben Nye foundation for my contour and highlight shades, but the Ben Nye is oil-based and was not working out for my oily skin. I decided to see if I could use the whipped for my contour and highlight instead, and it's *perfect* without ruining the bullet-proof finish and endurance of the liquid foundation! YES!

I have started using the colorstay whipped as highlighter/contour instead of my cream foundation. I primer my face, apply the contour (caramel) and highlight (buff) first using an angled foundation brush. I then apply the Colorstay liquid (in buff and warm golden on the back of my hands) and apply the foundation and blend out the contour/highlight with the stipple brush. This is the technique I use:




Hint: I do add a hint of tumeric (yes, the cooking spice) powder to the BUFF shade to turn it into a very light yellow highlighter shade, FYI. It works! I grind up the powder super fine in a mortar and pestle and sprinkle in a touch at a time until it's a lovely light gold highlighter!

You do have to exfoliate well for the Colorstays to look their best, but that's true for any foundation. If your skin is on the drier side, wait 5 min or so after applying moisturizer and blotting off any excess to help that sink into your skin.



5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/7/2013 10:13:00 PM More reviews by tarener0421

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

so maybe it's a little early to give an opinion, but today is the first day in years I have been truly happy with how my foundation held up. This stuff is amazing. A lot of people have said that it is hard to apply, but for me it was pretty easy. I tend to have oily skin and most every foundation I have tried has TERRIBLE staying power. Definitely have never been the girl who can go from day to night easily. I have always needed almost a full face re application I checked at lunch and it was still in place and looking good, at the end of the day there was a very slight fading and touch up needed but it was minor and taken care of with a little powder (and even then it had nothing to do with shine). Application was really pretty easy for me. Dabbed a small amount with my fingers, stipple it in with a foundation brush and then buffed it in. my biggest negative was that it was tough to choose a color. The selection was not very big and I have very olive skin with very strong yellow undertones. In general I have very difficult skin to color match and most foundations seem to be too pink. I ended up with warm golden which luckily was a perfect match for my skin. The packaging is a nice glass jar but it is big and seems a bit bulky. The glass is pretty thick which I like, but it made hard to see the product when color matching...I lucked out with there being a few open testers at cvs. 100% recommend buying!!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/7/2013 9:06:00 PM More reviews by muzikmk18

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse Eyes: Brown

Oh my god, I have found my HG foundation! I have previously raved about the Rimmel Lasting Finish foundation but this one has knocked my Rimmel one out. First of all, don't love the packaging because it comes in a heavy glass jar that will be a pain to travel with. Also, it's unhygienic to use my fingers to get the product so I use a q-tip so the jar part doesn't bother me too much.

This foundation is probably one of the very few in the drugstore that doesn't contain paraben & talc and it has a bit of salicylic acid in it . It does contain a little less than the traditional liquid foundations - 0.8 oz or 23.7ml (compared to normal 1 oz or 30ml). It provides amazing coverage (it even beats out my Rimmel & definitely the Revlon Colorstay liquid) and it lasts very long. It's really nice for those who have combination/oily skin people since it dries to a really silky, powder finish.

I know I'm not the first person to mention this but the foundation looks better and better as I wear it through out the day (no oxidizing!) The name did sound a bit intimidating at first because I thought it was going to be quite heavy on the skin but it actually isn't. It does feel like you're wearing foundation but not heavy feeling at all. Surprisingly, it gives quite a natural finish considering the coverage it gives. Overall, I am very happy with this product - ingredients & coverage wise - so I will definitely repurchase!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/7/2013 5:29:00 AM More reviews by onebadassninja

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse Eyes: Brown

like many of the other reviewers, i used colorstay liquid for years. then i found colorstay whipped, and fell in love with the way its texture - the way it managed to look even more natural on my skin than the liquid, while still covering all but the most prominent of imperfections and actually staying on my skin, through the day and despite my ridiculous oil production.

the one thing that always held me back from calling colorstay whipped my 'hg' foundation was that it was too pink for my strong yellow undertones. i could never match any of the shades to my real skin. but i stuck with it, fixing the problem somewhat with yellow-toned loose powders and even going so far as to purchase yellow liquid pigment, but the pigment changed the texture of the foundation and made it wear differently (worse).

well, let me change your life, if you have the same problem: if you've ever thought to yourself, 'uuuuughhhhhh this foundation would be literally perfect if it matched my yellow-toned skin.'

say hello to TURMERIC. it is a spice. it's used in curry. a jar of organic tumeric will cost like $5 maximum. if you don't have any at home, go buy it immediately and mix into your foundation, caaaarefully and gradually increasing the amount. i wouldn't recommend mixing on a daily basis - turmeric is so yellow that it's beyond easy to end up looking like you have jaundice if you try to mix it with a small amount of foundation.

your best bet is to mix it directly into the jar. this will prevent a. having differing degrees of yellowness in your facial coloring on a day-to-day basis and b. save you a lot of time by doing it all at once. obviously this works with any foundation, but it works especially well for this foundation because it comes in a jar. i'd imagine the process would be more difficult with bottles, as the powder obviously doesn't disperse readily - it needs to be mixed in.

i don't have measurements for how much i mixed into my jar. just keep testing the color as you go, and you'll be fine.

if you have a mortar and pestle, you'd probably have even better results after grinding up the turmeric before mixing it into your foundation. i didn't do that and still got great results.

i hope this somewhat bizarre trick helps you to wear this foundation if you love it! goodness knows we have enough other factors to worry about aside from a foundation not being yellow enough.

bless!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/5/2013 11:10:00 PM More reviews by TheFoxxxx

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Other, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I am in love with this stuff! I went to a party a few days ago, I was dancing from 6pm to 1am and my makeup stayed in place the whole time. I was shocked! I get very shiny in my T zone, so I figured my nose would shine like a star by the end of the night. But when I checked, my face looked like I just applied it. I didn't have to drag my power around to touch it up. I couldn't believe it lasted through sweat. This product stays on and looks more natural than my MAC foundation. They aren't kidding about color stay! Worth every penny.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/5/2013 10:56:00 PM More reviews by erikanicole76

Age: 36-43 Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse Eyes: Hazel

This foundation by far is the best one yet that I have tried as far as drug store products go. A little of this goes a very long way. Some have complained about the application of it, but I have found it works best with your clean fingers or sigma f80. It melts right into the skin giving a flawless and airbrushed look. It covered acne scars, sun spots and even shrunk my large pores. I have oily skin and I swear this makeup kept all oils under control!!
I would highly recommend this to any and all that haven't tried it yet. It's amazing!!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/5/2013 9:10:00 PM More reviews by talia1

Age: 44-55 Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Green

First off I want to say this is a very nice foundation. Having said that I'd really like to address the problem most people seem to have with using their fingers. I 'm in my fifties, been there done that. I've tried many many foundations and tools in my lifetime. I find that sponges are just okay. Brushes tend to just push the makeup around your face. There is no better tool than your fingers. I almost never have breakouts. I wash my face thoroughly everynight. It should not be an issue using your fingers (concerning bacteria) unless you are digging a ditch or working in a sewer with your bare hands and then putting on makeup. If your face and hands are clean, you should not have a problem. Women have spent years listening to the hype that people who are trying to sell you makeup have been spouting "my makeup is more sanitary because it comes in a pump bottle". Honestly they are just trying to sell you their product. We need to be more consumer concious. The only tool you can use with this product is your fingers. I've never had a breakout with this foundation. Very little goes a long way. Gives wonderful coverage. Has great staying power and doesn't settle in fine lines or pores. Please lets get off this hangup we have about using our fingers. Our fingers are our friends! LOL

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/4/2013 10:54:00 PM More reviews by shka

Age: 25-29 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

This foundation is like a bb cream for me. I use it for those days when i need minimum coverage just to even out my skin tone. In the winter it feels a little dry so i apply it with fingers ( tried brush many times but it looked very cakey) basically together with moisturizing cream, first cream and while its still wet foundation. Unlike colorstay it looks very natural and last the same.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/3/2013 3:58:00 PM More reviews by RussiaDiva

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

I have very dry skin and live this foundation
It can be used for dry or oily skin. Its very natural and blends so nice and you only need a little bit at a time and can layer if needed.

Is this review helpful? Yes No