December 20, 2014 | 1693 users online

Foundations - Rimmel - Wake Me Up



image 0image 1image 2

rated 3.7(301 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.7
  • 67% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.1
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 8/14/2013 1:47:00 PM More reviews by eimear5sos

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This was so good. It went on easily on my skin and gave me a gorgeous glow. I got this in the "Ivory" shade. It looked natural on me. Price was great as Rimmel always is, it was 8.99 euro. I felt that the packaging was good and wasn't tricky too. I got a compliment when wearing this. Overall i was extremely satisfied with this. I will be buying this again and I would so recommend it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 8/12/2013 6:19:00 PM More reviews by akneil

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

This is a great drug store foundation. It is a good light to medium coverage, while not being heavy. It lasts well, especially when set with a powder or finishing spray. It isn't drying or oily, it's a perfect medium. Don't be fooled by the tiny sparkles, you don't see them on your face - it just looks like your skin is glowing slightly. I have acne-prone skin, and this doesn't break me out. It has good coverage for acne and hyper pigmentation, just use a little concealer as well. I use the wake me up concealer with it and I love the two of them together.
Also, it comes off easily when removing your makeup.
I will definitely buy this again, especially because of the great price. I recommend using the testers to figure out what shade you are - they usually have them at Shoppers and Walmart.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/6/2013 5:07:00 PM More reviews by clairejay1994

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I do like this product, I could have probably done with buying a darker colour as buying the lightest colour before I hit the beach and got a tan was a dumb idea.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/6/2013 11:24:00 AM More reviews by maiiiyn

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I bought this before realising there is a rave around it online.
I like it, affordable and good formulation.
It does have glittery particles in it, so it does limit the time of day usage, but it isn't noticeable unless your face is in direct sunlight and the onlooker is very close to ur face, face looks radiant from afar!
The reason I like this formulation; lightweight but has good coverage and does not feel "cakey". Alternatives is the Bourjois Healthy Mix Serum, you guys can try that if you have an issue with the glitter as the Healthy Mix doesn't contain glitter. Personally, I don't like Healthy Mix's lychee scent lol. The Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua is also similar without glitter and has a pleasing lotus water scent, but more expensive than the other two.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 8/4/2013 7:35:00 PM More reviews by carsena4

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I bought this foundation after seeing many beauty gurus on youtube rave about it, for me it is too sparkly which makes my skin look very unnatural when I wear it it is also thicker than I would like, I will not repurchase this and do not recommend it, I am dreading using the rest up

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 7/31/2013 10:19:00 AM More reviews by Shexxx

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I bought this foundation a few months ago and I am sadly not as passionate about it as others. Pros: -affordable -light weight -smells good. Cons: -way too glittery -not enough shade selection -cant wear in direct sunlight without looking like you've been to ke$has concert or something

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 7/27/2013 3:26:00 AM More reviews by silvermouse

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Black

I was so hopeful that this would be beautiful after reading all the glowing reviews. With my oily skin, I tend to gravitate towards foundations that are mattifying but I don't like the sometimes cakey, heavy look they give (ahem, Revlon Colorstay for combo/oily - mind you, the formula for dry/normal skin is excellent).

The shimmer (subtle though it is) put me off a little, but after reading reviews saying that it was barely noticeable (and Rimmel having a 50% off sale at my local Priceline) I took a plunge and bought it in shade 400.

First off, the pump-less tube irritates me but I soldiered on. It applies smoothly enough and indeed, the shimmer is not really obvious when applied on the skin. Freshly applied, it looks lit and natural whilst giving a healthy dewy finish. I was thrilled.

But then, by early morning, I noticed that my skin was getting really oily. I thought, maybe it's the warm day. It wasn't. Nor was it my primer (I've tried several different ones with this), nor my powder (Rimmel Stay Matte which works a treat with any other foundation), nor the aircon at work, nor the way I applied it. I've tried wearing this on and off with various different combinations of products and no matter what I try, I end up as an oil slick, which I don't get with other foundations. By the end of the day, this had disappeared completely, leaving me very disappointed.

For a similar price point, the Covergirl 3 in 1 foundation is an excellent alternative - it lasts all day, even without a primer and is very buildable. If you want that glow, just mix in a little liquid highlighter.

I would recommend against this foundation for oily skinned girls and will definitely not be repurchasing (in fact, Ive just ditched my 3/4 full bottle, I dislike it that much.)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 7/26/2013 10:14:00 AM More reviews by teatimeismetime

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine Eyes: Blue

I got a sample of this foundation but would definitely not be buying it.

This foundation is medium coverage and I quite like the bit of shimmer in it. It's not too glitzy, just enough for the whole 'radiance' effect. However, I'm quite fair, NC15, naturally so I decided I wouldn't be able to try it unless I was wearing fake tan and I had chosen the lightest 'Ivory' shade. The first and only time I've ever worn it was during the day, I was going out that night so had put on gradual tan the night before so my face was a lot lighter than my body. Perfect excuse to match just for the day.

It went on quite well, looked alright, wasn't too heavy for daytime. A few hours later I looked in the mirror and to my embarrassment (I had just been back from town) it had turned completely oily and oxidised and bright orange. I had never seen a foundation change such a drastic colour.

Wouldn't buy this for pale skin at all!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/26/2013 4:19:00 AM More reviews by Traywashere

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I really like this foundation! Tried after seeing a review by Tanya Burr and I'm glad i did. Wouldn't say its my holy grail foundation but for the price it has great staying power, a nice dewy finish (without powder) and covers imperfections really well. Towards the end of the day it makes my skin slightly oily even with powder but all in all, not bad. Will purchase again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/23/2013 1:40:00 PM More reviews by prettydark

Age: 36-43 Skin: Sensitive, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I got quite the tan on vacation and needed a darker foundation to suit. Tanya Burr had mentioned this and likened it to Bourjois Healthy Mix Serum which I quite love. I picked up #400 Natural Beige which is yellow enough to suit my undertones and cancels out any redness on the surface of my skin, all in all it's a great match. If I want to use this in the winter with my lighter skin tones, there may be some trial and error deciding on a shade.

I love the finish, it does look lovely and more satin finish than dewy, with medium coverage. I am using this as a 'summer' foundation, so I'm not using heavy moisturizers, no primer, and I'm not even powdering most of the time. It suits. I apply one pumpful with my fingers on clean lightly moisturized skin. I wouldn't want to use a brush to apply this.

I do not notice it rubbing off. I do not see glitter, and barely see any shimmer. I suppose, at some angles, I might see some microshimmer, but it's not an easy find. It 'hides' imperfections very well. The scent is lovely, the texture is smooth but not greasy, the packaging is great.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No