December 21, 2014 | 1823 users online

Eye Primer - NARS - Pro-Prime Smudge Proof Eyeshadow Base

rated 4.4(366 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.4
  • 79% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.7
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 4/28/2013 4:52:00 PM More reviews by ellejay1616

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is the only primer I have found that does not crease. It dramatically changes the wear of my cream eyeshadows and makes my powder shadow last for ages. I work in fast food so I am constantly surrounded by heat and grease and it holds up. My school is also a temperature disaster, as the heat/air conditioning is always messed up so the temp is always changing and still this primer manages to stay put! I wish I could wear my cream eyeshadows alone on top of this but the formula for the cream es is just not good enough. So I always have to top it off with powder es. Which is ok I don't really mind because I know it is not the primers fault. It is clear and has no colour so it is not so much of a correcting primer but regardless it is still fantastic.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/23/2013 11:16:00 PM More reviews by milipudding

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Medium Eyes: Black

Great eye primer. Texture is similar to my other 2 eye primer loves, the UD one and the Lorac one. Though I don't think this one dries out my lids as much as the UD. And it goes on white! Elongated the wear of my shadows about the same as UD and Lorac, about 5-6 hours before I see some creasing on my inner corners. Theoretically I would buy again, but this is so expensive for much less product so I probably would not ><

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/20/2013 8:35:00 PM More reviews by joiseygirl27

Age: Unknown Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

Great eyeshadow primer! I have super oily lids & have tried tons of primers- Urban Decay, Too Faced, Lorac, etc & this one works the best for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 4/17/2013 12:42:00 AM More reviews by spinacha

Age: Unknown Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Many people have found the NARS eye primer to be a wonderful, Holy Grail product, but it didn't work out so well for me.


PROS I experienced were:
- The product dries quickly when applied
- Helps maintain the true vibrancy and colours of your eye shadows (eye shadow colours are not dulled or altered whatsoever, if anything, they are accentuated)


CONS I experienced:
- Slightly tight, heavy feeling on the eyelids, like a sealant. It's not an uncomfortable or painful feeling, but firm enough that you do feel it and know it's there
- Blending eye shadows is more difficult
- Packaging is impractical for hygiene
- AND most importantly: when applying eye shadow using side to side motions on the eyelid with a brush (e.g blending), the skin of my eyelid does not "bounce back", but rather, moves/flops from side to side with the brush. Now I don't have hooded or mature eye lids, and I don’t have “loose” skin on my eyelids. I have never experienced this phenomenon with other eye primers (e.g. Urban Decay's Primer Potion, Too Faced Shadow Insurance, etc.). For some reason this only happens to me with the NARS eye primer. And it's not just eye shadow...when I apply eyeliner, the skin of my eyelid will bunch up in the direction that the eyeliner is being applied. It's a weird thing, and hard to explain...this is my primary reason for repurchasing this eye primer.


3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/14/2013 6:35:00 PM More reviews by emilyhannelx3

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

My HG eyeshadow primer:) I switch between this and UD primer potion, but being a NARS fan this ones my favorite. My eye shadow doesn't crease, smudge, or budge all day long! Enhances the shadow pigmentation and brightness. Glides on super creamy and a little goes a long way. Love the wand applicator for even blending.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/13/2013 11:20:00 PM More reviews by clarissa90

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

This is a great primer, but it works about the same as other brands for me such as Too Faced and Urban Decay. My issue with this product is the applicator. It is unsanitary and not as easy to use as a tube. I will not purchase.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 4/9/2013 4:12:00 PM More reviews by planetnars

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I have oily lids and I decided to give this primer a try about 6 months ago since Urban Decay primer seemed to mud my colors. I thought this primer was really great during the time I used it, though there were a few drawbacks. The first thing is that my lids would look a bit dry, I assumed this was normal and dry lids at least weren't oily lids. The other, is I noticed some of my eyeshadow didn't blend very smoothly over it. I knew it was the primer because I didn't have the same blending issues when I had used Urban Decay, or the shadow on its own. This helped my eyeshadow to stay in place all day and didn't seem to muddle any of the colors so I was happy to overlook that. However, recently I noticed my dry lids looked just plain crepey now after regular use with the primer on. They had become itchy as well. I found a new primer and came to realize what I was missing with the NARS. Overall, this is an average primer. It will keep your makeup in place and the product lasts a long time for the price but it's far from the best option out there.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/3/2013 6:16:00 PM More reviews by One1Cherry

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Other, Fine Eyes: Brown

This is the only eyeshadow base that keeps my eyelids from getting oily during the day. I have tried Urban Decay primer potion, Mac paint pot and they don't work on me at all. My eyeshadows would crease before noon! This actually kept my eyelids matt for most part of the day. I apply this at 7am and by maybe 6pm, i can see a tiny bit of shine. Not the usual coat of grease in the fold of my crease though.

This is fragrance free, a major plus for me. The texture is very lightweight and upon application, my lids feels dry and matt and does not feel silky/silicony like UDPP. It gives my eyeshadow a just applied look all day. Its also clear and colourless.

I would repurchase this forever, its really hard for me to find something that works. If this works for me, it'll work for anyone.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/2/2013 6:39:00 AM More reviews by jealouspony

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I have tried my fair share of eye primers and nothing seemed to cut it for my extremely oily lids. That is until I tried NARS. I will never go back to anything else after using this product. It works wonders for my makeup! I can finally apply eyeshadow without it creasing and looking like shit after two hours. This is worth every penny.

Only negative thing I have to say is about the packaging. I feel like it's a bit unsanitary, as you put the wand back into the tube after each use. I'm a bit of a germ freak, so I'm worried about bacteria buildage.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 4/1/2013 1:10:00 AM More reviews by graceybaby8

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I have slick lids that somehow gets oily throughout the day.
No matter what I do, no shadow, liner or mascara stays on... They always smudge!
I was a UD primer potion user for many years which worked fine. I also tried too faced shadow insurance in all of their types from the original to the lemon drop and which that made my eyelids oiler!!!
With Nars somehow with their formula my eyeliner stays and so does my mascara! No more smudging for me!
My only complaint is the packaging. I was it was a squeeze tube instead of the doe footed.

Update: ok I'm back to using my UDPP. I just couldnt stand the doe footed applicator. I didn't like the idea of sticking something on my eyelid and putting it back into the tube.
After a while, even when I religiously cleansed my eyes prior to applying this primer, I found my nars eye primer started to get a slightly different smell to when I first got it. And the white doe footed applucator became discoloured too. I would buy it again if the packaging changes to a squeeze tube... But for now, I'm sticking to my UDPP.

Is this review helpful? Yes No