September 1, 2014 | 1963 users online

Hair Styling Tools - Tangle Teezer

rated 4.4(196 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.4
  • 85% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.9
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/30/2011 7:35:00 AM More reviews by Ihavequestions

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Grey

DUDE. This brush is seriously one of the greatest things --- beautywise --- that has ever happened to me. First, let me explain my hair and situation. I have the kind of hair that is fine but there is SO much of it. I remember in the 2nd grade there was a lice scare at our school and one of the mothers checking heads ended up giving up on me. Because it's *so* fine, it tangles really, really easily and I can seriously get into the white lady dreadlocks category *shudders* if I don't brush out my hair for one day. The amount of hair I would lose brushing out my hair at night was always staggering. I'd always tell my husband, "I lose SO much every day. How is it that I am not bald."


Well. That's what I DID say. UNTIL I WENT BALD. Okay, maybe not bald but post pregnancy hair loss is no joke, people. It's not even a little bit joking. I had to cut about 10" off my hair after it went from a glorious mane to positively see through and even then I've basically been wearing my hair up in a bun for 6 months because it looks awful. I was still brushing out my hair at night, still the regular amount breaking and coming out after the PP hair loss was over but now it was a lot more troubling to me, obviously.


I read about this on MUA and ordered it from Amazon for $9.50 with free shipping. When I got it, I could *not* believe it. First, it just glides through your hair and detangles it in just a minute or two. Now I'm not tender headed in the least but it's so gentle that I was convinced the first time I used it that it was basically doing nothing. Um, not so. Seriously, after just a minute or two ALL tangles were gone. Then, and more importantly for me, I lost, like, ONE hair due to loss / breakage the first time I used it. I cleaned it out after a week and there were like 20 in there maybe. My other brush there was a small wad daily. That was when I started calling this brush: "No hair left behind."


As I said, I'm not tender headed but after I realized how gentle this brush felt, I recommended it to my friends with long haired daughters. They've all said the same thing --- that it has changed things totally. Their daughters no longer dread having their hair brushed and detangled. I have no idea what makes this little piece of plastic so magical, but I am SO grateful for it. I hope they keep making this forever!

23 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 9/30/2011 6:55:00 AM More reviews by banjaxed

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine Eyes: Hazel

This did not work for my curly, but thin, hair. After brushing with this I have just as much hair falling out (if not more!) as with a regular wide toothed comb. I actually find a wide toothed comb much easier to use for my tangles as the tangle teezer doesn't seem to be able to cope with my curls. I also found it quite expensive (about 10 in Ireland) so I wouldn't recommend it, especially as you can get a wide toothed comb for a couple of euro!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/30/2011 5:11:00 AM More reviews by NikitaRose

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Grey

I have straight hair (that only needs half a day to get tangled again) and I only use the Tangle teezer when my hair is dry and it really is easier to comb through. There's a lot less hair on the brush after I'm finished and because of the simple design it's really easy to get it off the brush. Because it's plastic it's also really easy to clean. It comes with a manual that I also found quite informative.
I have it in pink and I just love how it looks, it makes brushing hair much more fun and something I almost look forward to. I'll definitely buy again and will probably buy a travel version as well. And to be honest I didn't think the price was that high, I got mine on UK amazon for 9 pounds and now that I know it works I would pay three times as much for it. For someone with really long hair like me it's definitely a must-have product.
The only problem (well, it's not really a problem) is that because it's so easy to comb through hair with the Tangle teezer I sometimes miss a knot or two so I need a regular hairbrush to tell me if any part of my hair needs more brushing.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/18/2011 8:46:00 PM More reviews by dali68

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Other

Love this product! My 6 year old has curly hair and cries when I use a regular brush on her hair. This brush really gets through all the tangles with minimal discomfort.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/18/2011 8:39:00 PM More reviews by xleahcarx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

Best hair tool ever! Seriously I have long hair and it gets tangled and knotted sometimes and this tangle teezer saves the day!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/18/2011 8:21:00 PM More reviews by meisfon

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

It really does wonder to my super tangly hair!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/7/2011 7:18:00 AM More reviews by Zara02

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

HG!
No doubt about it!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/26/2011 6:59:00 PM More reviews by uyai

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Coarse Eyes: Green

My hair is very knotty - I'll comb it and it will have tangles 2 minutes later. This tangle teezer keeps my hair tangle free for longer, and doesn't snag or pull at my hair as much as a 'regular' brush or comb. However, I will say that I think this will work best on straight or wavy hair. My hair is naturally curly and this brush just ruins curls...makes them all frizzy and lose definition. But when I straighten my hair it is the only comb I will use. Works great for combing through conditioner whilst I'm in the shower and makes dry hair look shiny. Like another reviewer I wish their was a handle though, it would make things a lot easier. I paid 10 for this (a piece of plastic!) which I think is expensive, but a worthwhile investment! I have noticed a reduction in general damage and split ends.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 8/26/2011 6:39:00 PM More reviews by gommiebears

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Dark, Cool Hair: Black, Kinky, Fine Eyes: Brown

Perfect for detangling my 4a-c hair type. My hair is prone to single strand knots but with some water in a spray bottle and this brush, I can clear out stray hairs from head. Love it to pieces. So far it hasn't damaged my hair.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 8/26/2011 4:01:00 PM More reviews by skizzerkid

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

An undiagnosed thyroid condition caused me to lose a ton of my hair and what hair I do have left was pretty delicate. Brushing was traumatic to say the least, I was losing a ton of hair (until my meds kicked in). Reading reviews of this brush being super gentle are what prompted me to order it right away. I was using a Spornette Mason Pearson knockoff, which I liked, but it really didn't do much to detangle.

My hair is long and super, super fine, so it tangles without any provocation whatsoever.

This brush, well, it restored my patience with my hair. It's not as thick as it used to be (and may never be), but this brush is super gentle, wet or dry. Because my hair is so fine, it *has* to be brushed/combed post-shower. This makes it so easy. It also massages the scalp. Sometimes you have to concentrate a bit on knots, but I never feel like its ripping them out, which is a nice change.

Another thing I really like: is that it's plastic. Sure, it's not expensive looking, and kinda looks like a curry comb, but you can wash it and it doesn't get that gross, linty look of most hair brushes. On the downside, the only bad thing about it is that I found it awkward to hold, especially at first. I dropped it all the time. I might be nice if it had a handle or something to hold on to. This doesn't, however, bother me enough to take off any lippies. This is HG. Best brush I have used.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No