October 22, 2014 | 978 users online

Liquid - Estee Lauder - Double Wear [old formula - REFORMULATED]

rated 4.0(2110 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.0
  • 71% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.2
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
    Pin It

    REFORUMULATED 2012 Please see http://www.makeupalley.com/product/showreview.asp/ItemId=159975/Double-Wear-Stay-in-place-Makeup/Estee-Lauder/Liquid for the current formulation of this product

    rated 4 of 5 on 8/12/2009 9:24:00 PM More reviews by slightlystarry

    Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    This is a reasonably good foundation. It offers moderate to heavy coverage, so those with skin discolorations will probably be able to get everything covered. I don't have major skin problems, so I tend to apply about 2/3 the amount what I would normally apply to my face with a different foundation.

    It keeps me pretty matte throughout the day and, true to its name, it lasts for a really long time. The only problem I have is that it tends to cake up/slide off, but only around my eye area (probably because I have oily lids). I fix this by skimping on the foundation around my eyes and applying only concealer instead.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 3 of 5 on 8/10/2009 4:14:00 PM More reviews by Iamsheherazade

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    I love my double wear – it gives me a soft-matte finish and does not budge all day. The colour stays true all day as well. It can be quite heavy – so apply it with a light hand. I use my skunk brush (MAC 187) to apply it which helps keep the coverage light. I didn’t have much trouble finding a match as the SA suggested a match – gave me a 10 day try it sample (which is great) and when I wasn’t sure made another suggestion with another 10 day supply. I found the first recommendation was the best. This isn’t cheap but my bottle has lasted me a very long time.


    EDIT: I am changing my rating as this looks masky on me. I'm not sure why I didn't see it or I just started applying it with a heavier hand??? So... make sure to use the lightest touch.

    ,.-~*´¨¯¨`*•~-.¸-(iamsherazade)-,.-~*´¨¯¨`*•~-.¸
    continued >>

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 8/9/2009 5:25:00 PM More reviews by AngelaQoQ

    Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    This is my all time favorite foundation. It covers well, controls oil well, stays on my oily skin for 9-10 hours, looks very natural and doesn't cause breakout. It's not difficult to remove it by Olay daily facials. Using a damp sponge to apply it, I don't feel it's heavy or mask-like at all. It's pricey, but a little goes a long way. Best foundation I've used among dozens of products I've tried in the past 12 years since I wear liquid foundation!

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 3 of 5 on 8/9/2009 3:21:00 PM More reviews by ixlovexecxxxx

    Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

    I began using this product a few months ago upon my sister's recommendation. It is a heavy foundation, but I have always been satisfied because it covered up all of my flaws.
    Lately, however, I began to realize that my foundation was not the correct color for my skin. After visiting various Estee Lauder counters and being matched by various 'experts', I still have not found the correct shade.
    Because I have extremely pale skin, I have tried all the lightest shades that the makeup artists thought would suit me. NONE of the shades matched my skin tone-they all were obviously the wrong shade.
    I am currently searching for a foundation-one that has all the benefits of the double wear-that will match my skin tone nicely.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 8/8/2009 1:04:00 PM More reviews by alexistaylor111

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

    i'm a make up addict always on the look out for something better.... after reviews read on the double wear foundation i thought i would purchase! this stuff is amazing! it holds so well on my oily skin- does not budge, quite easy to apply to skin. i don't need a concealer with this foundation it covers my spots well!! i wont be looking for another foundation because this one is fantastic and i can really recommend it for oily skins!!!
    UPDATE- i am still using this foundation and i will continue to use it as long as it is still available. the coverage is unlike anything i've ever used. Fantastic for spots, redness, pimples etc. I don't like using foundation all over my face but use this only on the areas that need covering up and this does the job perfectly!! 10 out of 10!

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 4 of 5 on 8/7/2009 12:03:00 AM More reviews by Mellc

    Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

    Love this foundation! So far it is the best I have found at naturally covering acne. I do not have to use a concealer, just a tad bit dabbed over the spot and it is covered! This foundation does make you look made up which is good with me, and my skin looks flawless when i wear it. People always comment on how nice I look when i wear this. It goes on a bit heavy and dewy but dries quickly to a semi matte finish.
    Only downside is i think it makes me break out a tiniest bit with tiny little whiteheads, although they go away pretty quickly. No bad acne for sure.
    Overall, given the awesome coverage, i can handle a few breakouts. Also do not workout in this makeup, it will break you out!! And lastly, make sure you have a good makeup remover to get it off, it seems to have pretty good sticking power.

    Edit: The finish sometimes seems a bit heavy and cakey. Otherwise still hasnt broken me out. OVerall pretty good foundation. Love this one and Cliniques Clarifying Liqued

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

    rated 4 of 5 on 8/6/2009 7:53:00 AM More reviews by Ninotchka87

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

    This took some time for me to get used to, because it's very liquid and I was used to mineral foundation. But I love this stuff. It gives an even finish and it looks natural, and it stays with you all day.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 8/6/2009 3:01:00 AM More reviews by pearlstuds

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

    I use DW in "Shell" for my combination, somewhat sensitive skin. Other reviewers have reported that it feels and looks cakey or goopy. I had the same experience at first and have found two remedies: mix a little with a spot of water on your hand to thin it out before applying - it takes a little extra effort to make sure it is fully blended, but it really takes away that heavy, unbreathable feeling. Another method it to only use a little bit where you need it - seriously, use like HALF as much as you would with any other foundation. This is what works for me. My goals are to tone down redness and hide a few breakout - DW does the job. I like to take a little out of the cap with my concealer brush to use as a concealer. If you have any wrinkles or fine lines, you definitely need a moisturizer under this product, otherwise it will settle right into them. This is not for you ladies with dry skin - best for normal, oily, or combo. I come from work straight to the gym and DW is completely breathable yet lasting for a cardio workout. Removing it takes some extra effort, but not too much. No need to exfoliate or anything, just a thorough cleansing works for me. The bottle is nice, but a pump would be ideal. Product lasts for ages, making it well worth the $.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 8/5/2009 2:56:00 PM More reviews by emmebaby15

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    My HG Foundation! I am shade Ecru 1N1. No other foundation gives such a flawless finish. It does exactly what it says - stays in place. It stays on all day, no top ups required. The double wear liquid combined with the double wear powder gives my a skin a flawless, professional finish. I can't tell you how many compliments I get on my skin since using this foundation. I have always disliked my freckles and this hides them without looking too heavy or cakey. Absolutely lovely foundation - best applied with a foundation brush as it dries quickly.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 1 of 5 on 8/3/2009 1:25:00 PM More reviews by Kemi1989

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

    I absolutely HATE this product (no offence) .....

    I have very sensitive skin...and i live in a very hot n humid country....
    and once i wear this foundation ---> OMG...its so sticky, THICK, uncomfortable...greasy....HEAVY LOOK.....and clogs my pores so bad that you can see the foundation has sinked into my pores....

    jus very gross. Yuk..BIG NO NO...

    currently using Chanel..The whitening one........and am very happy chappy :D

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No