November 27, 2014 | 1749 users online

Cleansers - Philosophy - Purity Made Simple (Real Purity Cleanser)

rated 3.7(2448 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.7
  • 64% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.8
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 on 12/25/2008 3:32:00 AM More reviews by Justify_my_Love

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I tried a bottle of this a few months ago after hearing so much about it and reading positive reviews. My first thoughts about it were that it was a decent makeup remover and cleanser. But it isn't a particularly good eye makeup remover (it did not "melt away" my mascara), it has a funky pepper- herbal scent that I can't stand, and it irritated my skin (my skin is not sensitive btw). I experienced some redness and bumps within a week of using it regularly. However, skincare is subjective. This may be your holy grail product. If you want to try this, try the small bottle of this for $10 before you commit to the bigger one :-)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/22/2008 2:28:00 AM More reviews by V4Valkyrie

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is definitely my HG cleanser/makeup remover. I find that buying the 32oz version with the pump on QVC.com is the best deal there is on this product. I use this every morning and night. It removes all of my eye makeup and even mascara with a little rubbing. It leaves my skin feeling very refreshed and clean, never dry. I have been using this for years, and have converted my friends to this as well. It is unbelievable because it feels so gentle on my skin, but does a great job of removing all of my makeup. I find that this cleanser also works great with my Clarisonic.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 12/19/2008 10:15:00 PM More reviews by Petalofarose

Age: Unknown Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I have excellent skin and when I got a sample of PURITY I thought it would just enhance my skin. PURITY got my skin the cleanest of any cleanser, as evidenced by a clean astringent sponge BUT it caused my combination skin to become VERY oily. My face is now broken out. I ended up throwing the sample of PURITY away.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 12/19/2008 10:20:00 AM More reviews by TammieK

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I get this in the huge 32 oz pump bottles from QVC and I love it. It takes off all my makeup and doesn't dry my skin out or make it all flakey. In other words, it's pretty gentle. One lippie off for the odd smell. At first I liked it. Now it bugs me a little. Not enough to stop using it though. :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 12/18/2008 11:07:00 AM More reviews by dharbo

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

I just can't get past the medicine smell this has. It's too strong. Although it says it a 4in1, makeup remover;cleanser;toner;hydrator, it made my skin dry and itchy afterwards. I do have to say that it does melt makeup and doesn't sting my eyes. But I love using toners. I use Cliniques #2 toner and I could still see dirt on the cotton ball. Just didn't work on my skin.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 12/18/2008 12:40:00 AM More reviews by Lissie24

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I loved this product when I was pregnant! I had gorgeous skin (for the first and last time of my life) and I credited it to this cleanser. However, now that I'm not pregnant, it breaks me out terribly! I know this works for a lot of people, so if it does, good for you! However, if you are using this and breaking out and don't know why, you might want to take a closer look at this cleanser. I will give it snaps where it is due--this is the BEST makeup remover I've ever tried!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 12/18/2008 12:02:00 AM More reviews by belletrist9

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I did use up a whole bottle of this, but it didn't WOW me. It's a nice cleanser. I liked that the smell was mild and that the formula was mild, but it didn't accomplish anything remarkable for me. I didn't feel like I got less acne because of it, and it definitely did not do anything for my blackheads. I got the best results when I mixed it with Soapalaya Soaps cleansing grains (soapalayasoaps.etsy.com), but have since discovered that the Purity honestly didn't make that much of a difference, so I'm only using the cleansing grains now.

Also, I feel like the soap in the cleansing grains, Bar Naked, does a much better job of removing makeup/residue without stripping skin than Purity does. I always still had stuff on my cottonpad when I applied toner with purity. If I was really well with the cleansing grains, I don't.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/17/2008 11:44:00 PM More reviews by eunice866

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have found my perfect face cleanser! I have dry combination skin - and this product works wonders. It removes all my makeup, and doesn't give me that squeaky-clean-stripped-tight feeling. It is hydrating and gentle, and very faintly scented. This is the perfect daily cleanser for me.

However, if you have oily or acne-prone skin, I would definitely not recommend this, as I believe the creaminess might make you break out even more - go for the foam formula!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/16/2008 9:47:00 PM More reviews by Noboho

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I reviewed this a few years ago and I had to rewrite it entirely. My opinion of this cleanser has completely changed for the better. Back then I gave this two lippies. My skin at the time was much more sensitive. I suspect hormones played a role in that as I was going through a lot at the time. I was having breakouts and I had to be super careful about what I used on my skin. I remember my first experience with Purity resulted in me dismissing it as just another product that broke me out. Now, I have given it another try after receiving it in a Philosophy Skincare set for Christmas. Now I can't get over how wonderful this is! It removes makeup like a dream! It does NOT leave my skin with blemishes. I find it doesn't give me any issues with dryness that many reviewers have mentioned. I love the creamy/milky texture and how smooth it feels on my skin when I'm cleansing. It removes every trace of makeup on my skin as well as heavy duty mascara! I use this and then follow with my Burt's Bees Garden Tomato Toner and Philosophy Hope in a Jar moisturizer. My skin looks beautiful and the texture has become smoother. Prior to using this again, I had been bouncing around from one makeup-removing wipe to the next. Then I would cleanse and my makeup still wasn't removed entirely! Purity truly makes it a one step process and for that I am genuinely grateful. I feel like I'm being much gentler and kinder to my skin because I no longer tug and pull at it with wipes. Now I'm not as worried about premature wrinkling due to all of the roughness. I will be using this as long as they make it. Holy Grail product!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 12/16/2008 8:50:00 PM More reviews by stephhamilton

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I like this, my skin can be oily on the t zone and very dry on my cheeks so a lot of cleaners can be too harsh and drying. Purity made simple cleanses my skin without drying it out or causing break outs. It lasts for ages and is very easy to use. I've noticed since I've starting using this a lot less blocked pores on my nose and less blackheads. Lots of people comment on the smell but I really don't notice it much. I will purchase again!

Is this review helpful? Yes No