April 19, 2014 | 1114 users online

Concealers - MAC - Studio Finish Concealer

rated 3.8(2057 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.8
  • 69% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 4/5/2009 8:06:00 PM More reviews by evemarie2

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I've been using this concealer for about ten years - I have never even looked for another concealer because I know it's the best - it gives great coverage and there is a colour to suit everybody.I use it every day and one pot usually lasts me over a year.Some reviewers have found it too 'cakey' but the trick is not to put too much on - it's better to build up a few light layers.I have never seen it marketed as an under eye concealer - I use YSL Touche Eclat for my under eyes but if I run out of that I use a bit of the Mac concealer instead. I just use a small amount and pat it gently onto the actual shadow - not the surrounding area - it works very well if it's applied like this if you keep it away from the creases it can't settle in! It is very thick and that's why it's better to pat it on a little bit at a time - the heat of your skin softens it and makes it look more natural.I wouldn't be without it now - it's good to have a reliable product that won't let you down - even when your skin does!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 4/5/2009 7:41:00 PM More reviews by Seraphic

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Well this concealer doesn't cover tattoos aand moles like it claims (Unless you pack it on and don't blend at all lol), but it definitely is medium-full coverage. It's not my favorite though, it's sort of dry and cakey, I have dry skin a the occasional pimple and when I try to cover it up it ends up caking up and creasing a bit as well. Also I hate this as a under eye concealer because I'm only 20 and I can't see any wrinkles in real life, but when I have this on it settles into the lines making it look like I have wrinkles! I give it a 2 for being able to cover minor discolourations, scars, redness but otherwise I'll try something else.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 4/3/2009 4:41:00 PM More reviews by LauraMichelle1515

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other Eyes: Blue

I didnt know how good a concealer could be until i brought this. Beofre i was using a rushing cover up stick from the body shop but when i finally did get this good quality concealer i would never go back. I love this packaging of this concealer, the little pot is great i carry it round in my purse for touch ups during the day. The price is kinda exspensive..around 10 but defiantly worth it and i'm sure it will last me well over a year. I use it everyday for under eyes and spots and redness and works great. I just use a powder to set it and i'm good to go.
Would definatly buy again!
EDIT: ANYONE WHO HAS ACNE/SPOTS/PIMPLES DO NOT USE THIS CONCEALER. I'VE BEEN USING THIS AND IT HAS BROKE ME OUT THE WORST I HAVE EVER BEEN!! NOT GOOD!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 4/3/2009 2:48:00 PM More reviews by marvin1

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I am giving this product a low rating in part because I have been using it for the wrong purpose. The MA that sold this to me told me that this is great for under-eye circles, she was so wrong. It is way too thick and drying for that area. This creases under my eyes and emphasizes the fine lines. Unfortunatenly I got this was before I started exercise indepedent judgment and I blindly used this for several years, thinking that it was just my application technique that was off. The colour that they sold me was also wrong, I am a NC25 and they gave me a NC15, which would always show up as this obvious white ring around my eyes. The concealer itself does offer very good coverage, I think that had I used this for acne scaring or redness it would have performed a lot better.


Anyway for those that are looking for an under-eye circle concealer, in my experience the Select Moisture Cover works better, because it is a lot less drying. Also, I found that for that particular area, lightness is not necessarily what covers, it is the right shade. Now I use a more pinkish shade, NW20, which covers the circles and blends in great.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/3/2009 3:04:00 AM More reviews by sabrinaxxx

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Other, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

This concealer works GREAT on me! It covers up my acne marks perfectly and blends well. My friends could hardly noticed any imperfections on my face which is awesome. hihi. definitely a go for me ! :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 4/3/2009 1:33:00 AM More reviews by becomingshadows

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have used this product for years simply because my mom used it. But this stuff is seriously overrated! It covers wonderfully, sure, but it is drying and creases like crazy. I will use up what I have and then hopefully find a good replacement. The price is decent, but the product is also just ok.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/31/2009 3:21:00 PM More reviews by Just_Sara

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

Great product!
Pros:
- Creamy and soft. But not too much.
- You get a lot of product. 7 gr(.24 oz)! My blushes are 7/8 grms.
- Covers wonderfully my dark circles. I have it in NW 20.
- Litte goes a long way
- Very good staying power.
- Very blendable
- SPF 35
- Product will last 24 months (According to MAC.) before it goes rancid. Thas a long time.
- Small packaging. I love that!

Cons:
- Boring packagaging?

I have not had any problems with this. Def recommended!!!

Price vs quality= excellent.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/28/2009 5:54:00 PM More reviews by Limeburst

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I got this today in NW20 (same shade as my studio fix) to cover some acne/acne scars. WOW! My skin has NEVER looked so flawless. The pot is soooo small, but i only need a little dab each time, so this will last a while.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/27/2009 11:46:00 AM More reviews by sylvialeexD

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Black

I love the packaging of this concealer. I have it in NC30 and it matches my skin PERFECTLY (this is my shade during the winter as I get extremely pale). I apply it with a concealer brush rather than fingers because I find that I use less product and it looks flawless! I only have a few blemishes so I tried to find a d/s concealer that would work, but all the concealers I've tried have not matched my skin tone or they don't conceal as much as I would like! The price is a little steep, but for the amazing results, I have no regrets.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 3/26/2009 4:39:00 PM More reviews by beebop808

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Cool Hair: Black, Wavy, Other Eyes: Brown

Horrible, horrible concealer for under your eyes. It is way too cakey as well as drying. I've been using this concealer for years, but not for the purpose of concealing dark circles under the eyes. I use it for concealing blemishes, old acne scars that never went way and so forth. The reason why I rated it a 3 is because most people look for concealers for the eye area, but not in this case. But other than that, I would purchase again for other uses!

Is this review helpful? Yes No