December 18, 2014 | 1348 users online

Mascara - BeneFit Cosmetics - They're Real

rated 3.5(1838 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.5
  • 53% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.9
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 3/2/2013 1:30:00 PM More reviews by Cashmere

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Here comes another rave...It has been some time since I have posted a review...but I have to give kudos to Benefit. Like so many on here already, I received this as the Sephora birthday gift. I just told a friend I am headed back to Sephora or Ulta for the full size. In one description...70s PORN STAR eyes. LOL! I have used so many and have not gotten the effect that I have with this mascara. Not only does it add volume but it adds length as well. You can literally see the difference when applying it on one eye while comparing it with the eye without. It is what I look for in a mascara. I want my lashes to look transformed and this mascara delivers.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/2/2013 3:55:00 AM More reviews by jessmichellexo

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

This mascara is amazing! The product is not too wet, yet it's not too dry.. You do have to be a bit careful when applying it so you don't get that spider look..(Unless that's what you are into!) It doesn't smudge at all.. This was my first expensive mascara that I have bought and I was really scared I wasn't going to like it or that it would just be the same as my other regular drugstore brand mascaras, but I could really tell the difference, after wearing BenFit They're Real mascara I was getting tons of compliments on my eyelashes! However, it is a bit hard to apply mascara to the bottom lashes with this one.. but then again I am pretty unskilled when it comes to any kind of makeup!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/28/2013 10:32:00 PM More reviews by famouscigarillo

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Grey

I probably would never have bought this mascara because the price is ridiculous - however, I was lucky enough to receive a sample of it for my birthday from Sephora.
It's a great mascara! Defines the lashes and lengthens them without clumping. I like the wand - it's plastic (which some don't like) but when I apply it I feel like it really gets to the root of the lashes.
I asked my boyfriend if he thought my lashes looked any better/different and he said they looked "not real", funnily enough.
Don't think I'd re-purchase because there are just as great mascaras at the drugstore. :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/27/2013 12:59:00 AM More reviews by chrystnamigs

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Got a sample as a bday gift from sephora...its awesome. I always wear fake eyelashes which i still do wear cause i loveee this on my bottom lashes...but i also love it when i just want to wear mascara and no other eye makeup....then i have no need for my falsies. It is a little pricey but ive found with most makeup u get what u pay for...this is another great product from Benefit.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/26/2013 1:14:00 AM More reviews by aegriedl

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

I realize that my review is going to contribute to the hype for this product, but after using "They're Real", I needed to share my results. I received a deluxe sample of this mascara from my Sephora birthday reward and I honestly believe that it is the best mascara that I have ever used! First off, the packaging is adorable and a full-sized bottle contains 0.3 oz of product which is relatively reasonable considering the expensive price. Additionally, the brush has a a rounded edge in which one can easily add volume in a precise manner. Also, the brush is a thick with plastic bristles which work nicely in separating lashes. Secondly, the product itself is very rich in pigment and can build incredible volume and length. Normally, mascara brands which advertise a "false eye-lash" look hardly come close to actually achieving their guarantee; however, I can honestly contend that Benefit's "They're Real" mascara gave me eyelashes which looked false. Of course, I applied a few coats of the mascara, but I have never achieved such excellent results with a mascara. Thirdly, this product does not flake, smudge, or fade throughout the day. I always have issues with my mascara irritating my eyes throughout the day, but I have never noticed any of that with this product. In conclusion, I am extremely pleased with the performance of this mascara and I am absolutely willing to spend the $22 at my local Sephora as soon as my deluxe sample runs out. I would recommend buying the deluxe sample size first because they are only $10 for 0.14 oz. I suggest this because the full size bottle is so expensive that I would rather one test the product first before splurging on a single tube of mascara. Otherwise, I would recommend this product to anyone.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/25/2013 2:18:00 PM More reviews by Ella301

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

I Love Love Love this mascara, I recently got it as a "Birthday Gift" and I had been wanting to try it but it's out of my price range so I never purchased it. But now that I tried it out, I'm in love with it! I love how it doesn't weigh down my eyelashes after I curled them, and they add volume making them look pretty. They convinced me to go purchase the big tube in the near future! You guys need to try it out! Some people might complain about it but it just depends on everybody's lashes since everybody is different. I give it an A+

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/24/2013 8:46:00 PM More reviews by Miamituscani

Age: 25-29 Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is my new HG mascara. This mascara adds volume and length to my nonexistent lashes without clumping. I always thought that high end mascara weren't worth the extra cash, but this one is.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/23/2013 8:17:00 PM More reviews by emilybird

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

My HG mascara. One coat is great for everyday, two coats really make it look almost like I'm wearing false lashes. My only complaint is that the brush is a bit big. Wear is nice for me, no flaking and it lasts all day.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 2/22/2013 9:56:00 PM More reviews by liz91

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I got a sample of this free as a birthday gift from Sephora. It has a great brush, applied well, lengthened, didn't clump, I was happy with its performance, BUT I couldn't remove it with just water, the way I take off all of my favorite mascaras. I don't have enough time to deal with eye makeup remover, etc. Not impressed with Benefit. They also discontinued my favorite eye primer of all time, F.Y.Eye. I feel Benefit is going down the tubes.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 2/22/2013 8:57:00 PM More reviews by Mollieismehehe

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

This is my favorite mascara to date!! I really love Benefit mascaras!! I also love badgal lash. This is kind of expensive, but it gives my lashes length and definition without clumping or smudging. It lasts all day for me and I LOVE this stuff!

Is this review helpful? Yes No