July 24, 2014 | 1428 users online

Liquid - Estee Lauder - Double Wear (old formula)

rated 4.0(2235 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.0
  • 71% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.2
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 5/19/2010 6:59:00 PM More reviews by Shotgun

Age: 36-43 Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I LOVE this product! For years, I've had to blot my skin 3-4 times a day because of my oily skin. I've tried lots of different foundations, including Revlon's ColorStay, Clinique, Ultima II, Makeup Forever, etc. After reading a bunch of reviews online about Estee Lauder's Double Wear, I decided to try it. My skin's quite light (I'm an NC20 in MAC), so I ended up with Ecru. I tried Shell, but it was way too pink for my half-Asian skin (I'm half-Asian, half-Caucasian). This stuff lasted all day and felt great. I just dust some loose powder over it, and I'm good to go. Sometimes, if it's a humid day, I'll feel a little oily, but my skin doesn't *look* oily. I occasionally blot, but I need to do it only once, which is awesome.

I also tried EL Double Wear Light, and although I liked it, and the lightest colour is a slightly better match than the Ecru, I didn't like the coverage. I have some dark marks from old acne, and the regular Double Wear covers them so much better! In addition, I haven't had a single breakout since I started using this stuff. I do think you have to have pretty oily skin to wear this, as I imagine it would look heavy if you were dry.

The packaging isn't great as it's next to impossible to prevent contamination. A lot of other people have commented on the less-than-stellar packaging, too. I bought a pump from MAC (about $7 Cdn), and it works perfectly. Another thing I did is I bought Sephora's platinum foundation brush, and I use that to apply the foundation--it does a great job of evening it out and making my skin look pretty damn fantastic!

In addition to the packaging, I didn't give it a perfect 5 rating as the foundation is tough to take off. Usually I have to cleanse my skin twice to get it all off. Also, I don't buy my EL in Canada, I get it in the States. It's $43 Cdn and $34 US. Huh? Despite all that, though, it's totally worth it, and I plan to continue buying this (I'm on my second bottle, and am buying a third in a couple of weeks).

UPDATE: I've worn this long enough now that I can definitively say it doesn't break me out. I still get pimples at 37 :( but DW hasn't caused any. A total bonus for me! And the price has gone up! It's now $35 US. Sigh.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 5/18/2010 1:58:00 PM More reviews by Ververa

Age: 19-24 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

Yes, it offers a full coverage and stays on the face all day long. But, unfortunately, this product is not for me – I could not blend it properly (it dried too fast) and it looked so artificial on me. I also look unusually pale on the pictures where I'm wearing it (I think somebody on here mentioned that too!) even though a SA matched a shade for me. However, I gave this foundation to my mom and it looked really good on her.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 5/16/2010 10:44:00 PM More reviews by misscruella16

Age: 19-24 Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This wore off on me throughout the day and my skin isnt even that oily., and its not really full coverage either. I prefer Revlon Colorstay

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/11/2010 12:55:00 PM More reviews by carlafd

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

The BEST foundation. My HG. It is medium to full coverage and it can save your life when you have bad skin or break outs. It has an amazing staying power and when I wear it it remains looking the same for 16 hours. The only bad thing for people with drier skin is that it can dry you skin a little bit, so when my skin is drier I can't use it on a daily basis. One of the best foundations up there for someone who doesn´t have good skin but wants to look flawless. I think it works best with a stippling brush (like a 187 or something), because when I apply it with it it does look natural and airbrushed. If applied with a foundation brush (like a 190) can look a little bit cakey if you're not careful.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/11/2010 11:46:00 AM More reviews by JCMR

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This foundation is really good, you don't need to 're-touch' it at all and it covers a host of imperfections. No parabens either as far as I can see from the ingredients list.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/11/2010 4:38:00 AM More reviews by YourCoff1nOrM1ne

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I think i quite like this product, im nw25(sort of) and the consultant gave me ecru and i was pretty pleased with it, as long as i wore my Napoleon camera finish powder (look1) on top.

it lasts a good 6 hours or so, feels fine on and doesn't seem to separate on me at all, so that is a winner.

not a fan of the bottle, nor the price. Might just keep an eye out on strawberrynet for this one!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 5/10/2010 8:31:00 PM More reviews by Hothead

Age: 44-55 Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I agree with the prior review -- there is way too much hype on this product.

If I want to feel masklike, this is the product I would pick. If I want the wrong color, I will pick this foundation. EL has a lot of foundations, and this one, imo is not the best -- also I have found that it can occlude pores and thus create some skin distress (i.e. whiteheads and pimples). If you take any pictures with this product you will get a whitish halo effect on the pics... of course, photoshop will help it out but it is not a clean look.

not a bad product but not the best either as EL has some better foundations.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 5/10/2010 6:57:00 PM More reviews by labellemaldo

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I don't get the hype on this foundation. The color range is terrible. I'm an NC40 in MAC and nothing came close to matching my skin color, leaving a pinky tone to my face.

It also felt like I was wearing a mask on my face, an obvious appearance of a cakey foundation on my face. It reminded me of a porcelain doll, or the women from back in the 1800's in those big dresses. yuk!

Did it stay on my face as it claims to do? That's a definite yes! Unless you buy their makeup remover, that junk does NOT come off properly. I thought I got it all off the first few days but after I bought the Estee Lauder makeup remover lotion, woah, I was shocked at how much more foundation I removed off my face. It grossed me out as I am a fanatic about cleaning my face before bedtime.

In my opinion, a more dewey natural look is so much more attractive than the porcelain matte appearance that this foundation gives. A positive note though, the only good thing about this foundation is that Estee Lauder refunded my money!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/10/2010 6:04:00 PM More reviews by Jasminexxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse Eyes: Brown

It's time consuming and difficult to apply this foundation, which is probably the reason for most of the negative reviews.. however when you master the application of this foundation it gives a perfect, flawless finish. It's one of the best foundations I've ever used (and I've tried them all!). I'd give it more than 5 stars if I could.


* As a side note, I've noticed that when Estee Lauder and Mac (owned by Estee Lauder) foundation gets near my tear ducts, it makes my eyes water and sting for quite a while. I don't get this with any other foundation, has anyone else experienced this?

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/10/2010 1:24:00 PM More reviews by Gill222

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Love love love this foundation. The product is quality and has really good staying power. You can layer it on to build a full coverage and it's perfect for photos. This is a heavy duty foundation so I don't tend to wear it every day. It gives an overall matte finish and looks good on my dry sensitive skin. The only thing I don't like is the packaging (Standard Glass bottle) which is a little boaring and considering the overall price £24.50. I'd have liked something a little more glam.

Is this review helpful? Yes No