April 21, 2014 | 934 users online

Cleansers - Avene - Cleanance soapless gel cleanser for oily skin



image 0image 1

rated 4.0(331 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.0
  • 74% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.1
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/11/2011 9:25:00 AM More reviews by luxferi

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

My skin type: combination, extremely sensitive with mild rosacea on cheeks.

Ever since I discovered I have rosacea, I have been taking steps to overhaul my entire skincare range and threw out any known irritants, including my old cleanser. I wanted something that does not contain soap, no SLS and geared towards combination skin and because I was so impressed with Avene's Thermal Spring Water that calmed down the redness on my cheeks, I decided to buy this too. And I love it! The packaging is a good one, because the consistency is thick and honestly I do not need a lot to clean my entire face. I do double cleansing with an oil cleanser prior to using this though, so that may partly be the reason. The twist top allows for a controlled amount to be dispensed, and a pump would waste products, plus this is easier to travel with than a pump. That's just IMHO.

I have no breakouts, no adverse reactions of any kind, and between this and Avene Thermal Spring Water, my rosacea has calmed down tremendously. I'll buy this forever. :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/17/2011 5:33:00 PM More reviews by michullivan

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I have been using this product for about a year, and I love it! I have combination/oily skin, and this cleanser calms it down a bit. I love the packaging, it is so easy to travel with because of the lid. It is a gentle cleanser and my dermatologist recommended it to me, I won't use anything else!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 8/10/2011 1:51:00 PM More reviews by Icaria

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Not crasy about the bottle, a pump would be great. Both myself & my DD use it. No fanfare, this is a very good cleanser for combitation and/or oily skin and it's not overdrying. If only they could change the presentation.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 8/4/2011 5:21:00 PM More reviews by xxxxx2011

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This feels really nice when you first apply it, cleanses well, doesn't dry out my skin and leaves it soft. My problem with this product is that after I wash my face a couple of times, it starts to burn on my face. The "burning feeling" gets worst if I insist in using it, so I just had to stop using it! Then, I tried to use it like 1-2 times a week, but I still couldn't make it work. I still felt some mild stinging and I also got more pimples when I used this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/29/2011 2:48:00 PM More reviews by Tola1

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This cleanser leaves my skin feeling soft and smooth and it smells great. I have combination skin and this prodcut helps countrol the oil without drying out the rest of my skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 7/27/2011 4:33:00 PM More reviews by maquin22

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I was wary to try this since I have sensitive skin that leans more towards dry/dehydrated and this is geared to oily, blemish prone skin - but I am so glad I gave it a chance.

It is SLS free, which means it doesn't irritate or dry out my sensitive skin. It leaves my skin feeling soft and clean without any irriatation. Great find. I am really liking Avene products in general

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/10/2011 8:02:00 AM More reviews by ohsailor

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Medium Eyes: Blue

First purchased this product because it was one of the only UK cleansers that didn't contain SLS (sodium lauryl/laureth sulfate) which seems to be a constant aggravator for my acne (deduced after a lot of experimentation)
I bought it somewhat warily due to the price tag (Boots sell it for approx 8 which for a cleanser is quite pricey) but in desperation, I grabbed it from the shelf and tried it out.
And thank goodness I did.
Whilst I still suffer from acne, this is my absolute HG cleanser. It has calmed down the frequency and intensity of my spots so that they are not as inflamed.
I have been using this for around 4 years now (which for myself, as a now recovered cleanser junkie) is really saying something.
The only cons would be the price tag (I'm a fan of my bargains!) and the lid which can be tricky to open with wet hands in the showe.
Overall though, I adore it > no SLS, no soap, lovely smell, makes my face feel clean without any residue.
For me, no better cleanser available.

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/19/2011 6:16:00 PM More reviews by neelu12

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

This is the BEST face wash I have tried and I have tried sooo many. I have combination skin, and always find that face washes either make my skin too dry or too oily. But this one is perfect. I first tried it when I first came out with adult acne, and this really prevent my spots, without being too harsh. Its so gentle but not harsh, I love it! I also love the packaging, as its clear and no product gets wasted, not even a drop. IT lasts for ages to because you need a small amount for you whole face and neck. Just love!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/17/2011 12:07:00 PM More reviews by bali2

Age: 36-43 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

LOVE! I have sensitive, acne prone skin. This calms my skin while keeping it clear. I use Ponds Cold Cream to remove make up and follow up with this. I also use it in the morning. Skin feels soft and clean but not stripped. Won't use anything else.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/16/2011 2:23:00 PM More reviews by Mrpeanuts

Age: 19-24 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I have been using this product for over 5 years and its the only thing i keep going back to. I have combination skin and it works perfectly for me. I agree with one of the previous reviewers that the packaging needs an update because its troublesome turning the cap when both my hands are wet.

Is this review helpful? Yes No