October 1, 2014 | 1927 users online

Concealers - Maybelline - Instant Age Rewind Eraser Dark Circles

rated 3.8(510 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.8
  • 68% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.1
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 on 2/16/2014 12:31:00 PM More reviews by terrydeben

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I loved the original award-winning Instant Age Rewind under eye concealer. For the life of me, I can't imagine why they felt the need to change it. Not only is this version too dry and settles in my creases, I find it difficult to get the amount I want on the applicator. Maybelline, can we Rewind about 5 years, and bring back the old product?

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/15/2014 1:06:00 PM More reviews by OrangeUGlad

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

When I first got this concealer, I thought it was perfect. Covered up my dark circles well, nice texture, not too heavy, didn't crease too much, good staying power, the whole deal. I loved it. After about 3-4 months of using it, disaster struck. I was sitting in the car one morning and decided to pull down the mirror to check out my makeup. When I pulled the mirror down, this patchy oompa-loompa was looking back at me. My under eyes were caked with orange, and parts of my face that I had dabbed with the concealer to cover up scars and the like were all this really stark orange as well. I looked like I had tried to paint myself like a tiger but didn't quite know what a tiger looked like. I was horrified, and desperately tried to rub the concealer off, to no avail.

I thought that maybe it had oxidized, but turns out I bought the wrong shade. I guess I just never noticed because I didn't bother checking myself out in the natural light. It looked good under my yellowish/orange bathroom lights, I swear!

Overall, it's a good concealer for a good price. It wouldn't even budge when I deliberately tried to rub it off! It would have been awesome if it was in the right colour.
The shade wasn't right for me, but I'm sure the ladies (and gents) who can can find a good match can really rock this stuff.

Edit: Despite telling myself that I wouldn't, I went and got it in a different shade. It's pretty good. Actually it's awesome (this time I made sure to check myself out in some good ol' sunlight). I'm almost finished the tube and I would definitely repurchase! I layer it over a peach toned corrector and it works out pretty well. My complaint this time is that the packaging is iffy. I'm not a fan of the little sponge thing, it seems a little unhygienic. Dabbing it on your finger first is a good work around though.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 2/13/2014 11:17:00 PM More reviews by SHeust

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

I have this in the concealer + treatment formula in "neutralizer." It is a yellow-toned, fair shade concealer that works pretty well to cover dark areas around the eyes and even helps a little bit to minimize puffiness.

You get a generous quantity in the glass tube this comes in, and you twist up the concealer into a domed sponge applicator that makes it easy to apply and blend in. However, sometimes the sponge puts it on a little more thinly than I'd like. This is good stuff but I still prefer the Dream-Lumi concealer from Maybelline for the same purpose. Comparatively, the lumi applies thicker and has the nice brightening highlight effect. Plus I think that the treatment ingredients (ingredients? This isn't a recipe!) of this have dried out my eye area a bit.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/11/2014 3:58:00 AM More reviews by elicandytime

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is amazing Im on my third tube of this stuff and I've been hooked. I love the sponge tip applicator and it makes my dark circles vanish I never have to worry about it. It does crease a little so I put a primer underneath other than that it's perfect and lasts all day with a powder! I love this stuff!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/9/2014 5:00:00 AM More reviews by angelaslh

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

When i first used this i didn't like it because it creases so badly and settles into fine lines. I have since made it work by finding techniques that work for me and now it is part of my daily makeup routine. It has quite high coverage and i am able to use it for multiple things besides just under eye circles even though that's what its for. I like the facts that it highlights your undereye area while covering up dark circles at the same time. I think this product is great once you learn how to use it on your skin.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 2/7/2014 8:29:00 AM More reviews by lovelymallie

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Other, Coarse Eyes: Blue

*review for the concealer in light*

I have mixed feelings about this concealer.
I bought it way back in the summer, where my skin was more tanned. Now, the colour doesn't match me at all. It's not dark, but it's orange.
The colour range isn't amazing, so if you find your perfect match you must be lucky. :-)

The coverage however, is pretty amazing. It's deffintly full coverage, and covers everything from spots to dark circles.

However the thing one thing that I hate about this product, is how it creases and sets into dry patches and lines so badly. If your skin is dry, that might be a problem for you.

- Overall I see this concealer to be perfect if you have normal/oily skin without too many lines or wrinkles, and if you fit into the colourrange.
Since my skin is dry and pretty pale, it wasn't for me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 2/6/2014 1:59:00 PM More reviews by tswope57

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I looking for an inexpensive, everyday concealer to use. My 50+ skin is very good with some lines just beginning around my eyes. The undereye area is dry and if not using the right concealer and moisturizer can be flaky after makeup applied. The Maybelline Instant Age Rewind was ok, but was a little flaky upon application. I liked the sponge applicator and the color selection, but this was not suited to my dry skin. I will return to Lancome Effacernes (adding a bit of Olay serum for the winter months) as my undereye concealer.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 2/4/2014 10:57:00 AM More reviews by xxxPikadoodlexxx

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Green

This little product is a gift from God. I'm a huge drugstore makeup junkie but I tend to avoid hyped up products because I'm usually instantly disappointed in them. If it weren't for the $3 coupon in this weeks paper I never would have bought this but I'm glad I did. This little guy is holy grail worthy ten fold.

I have fair skin, warm undertone, lots of redness in my cheeks and deep set eyes with very dark purple undereye circles. I've been trying to find a concealer to do what Kim Kardashians concealer does for her- make her eyes pop. I also need something that will blend well with my foundations so I can layer this product over the redness in my cheeks. Then of course there is the issue of staying power, yada yada yada.... This concealer was a home run on everything.

This concealer is creamy, blendable, long lasting, full coverage, buildable... it's just amazing. It instantly brighthened up my eyes. It didn't crease or look greasy or chalky. It covered all, yes ladies, ALL of the redness in my cheeks with one application and my undereye circles disappeared with one swipe too. Above all else it looks more natural than any other concealer I have ever used... high end or drugstore.

I love the applicator. Whoever invented it is a frappin genius. I don't feel like I'm wasting product and it really does help blend the concealer. It also makes for a much quicker application when compared to my other two favorite drugstore concealers which both have that pen/brush type tip.

My only teeensy weensy complaint is that since it's so creamy you will need to set this with a powder if you have deep set eyes to avoid "raccoon eyes". This does seem to break down my mascara if the two come in contact with each other but a good matte powder fixes this problem. I don't have much in the way of creases or wrinkles around my eyes but I'd imagine if you did it would be a good idea to set this with powder to avoid creasing due to the creaminess of it. Powder isn't something I like to wear but it's totally worth it in this case.

I will be buying this forever and ever and ever. Unless this is discontinued (Please dear God, don't ever discontinue this Maybelline!) I don't think I'll ever buy another concealer again. Do yourselves a favor and give this a try if you haven't already.

Note: You might need to twist the applicator 20-30x the first time to get the product to start coming out...at first I thought mine was broken but I keep twisting and it eventually came out.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/3/2014 1:59:00 PM More reviews by OhAlejandra

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Love it! Really covers my under eye circles, and I have really dark purple tone under eye circles. Just dont like the packaging because it's hard to get the product out, but I will still repurchase because of how well it works.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/1/2014 8:32:00 PM More reviews by tresbelle15

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I was really impressed with this concealer. I have very purple under-eye circles, so finding something that conceals them well can be difficult. This has almost full coverage and gives my face a "smooth and flawless" look. The only thing I really dislike about it is its staying power... I've noticed that it wears off after about 5-8 hours. Otherwise, I really like this concealer. It's really lightweight, yet provides a super great coverage. It also doesn't have any noticeable scents.

Is this review helpful? Yes No