November 21, 2014 | 1659 users online

Foundations - Cover Girl - Natureluxe Liquid Silk Foundation ] [DISCONTINUED]

rated 3.5(459 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.5
  • 57% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
    Pin It

    Cover Girl's website suggests TRUBLEND LIQUID MAKEUP as a replacement to this product

    http://www.makeupalley.com/product/showreview.asp/ItemId=41479/TruBlend-Liquid-Makeup/Cover-Girl/Liquid

    rated 2 of 5 on 6/1/2012 3:53:00 AM More reviews by echiba

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

    This gives a wonderfully dewy finish that covers my large pores and gives a natural but polished look. I prefer light to medium coverage and this does the job, it cleans up imperfections but it is not full coverage as some of my deeper acne scars are still visible. The color match was good (aspen), and it blends and wears nicely, no fading or oxidizing.

    However for me, this product is just iffy as I have combination oily skin and a tendency to break out. Even when set with powder this makes my skin pretty oily midday, and I don't like to wear this daily because I think it makes my acne worse. Usually I have only a few zits a month, mostly hormonal, but when I wear this I get little tiny bumps and zits on my cheeks. After checking a comedogenic list, this product does contain sodium chloride (salt), which is not so acne friendly. I'm also very sensitive to smell, and I find the cucumber water scent to this to be yucky and fake smelling. If it didn't make me so oily or aggravate my acne, I would definitely give this product a five. So beware - the coverage is wonderful, but if you're oily or acne prone, be careful with this foundation.

    EDIT:
    I'm going from 4 to 2 lippies, it's just too greasy and it definitely makes my skin more breakout prone. Not worth it.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 5/27/2012 5:00:00 PM More reviews by pinkdazy30

    Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

    This is my favorite foundation! It is moisturizing, blends very easily and provides natural looking coverage. It hasn't caused any breakouts. The color matches well and the lasts throughout the day when set with a powder.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 4 of 5 on 5/19/2012 12:25:00 AM More reviews by NeonTiger9

    Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    I loved it! I have combination skin, with tendencies to break out but this product really helps cover redness and uneven skin tone. I use a concealer over it and it works together perfectly. It blends super easily so it doesn't actually look like you're wearing any foundation. It also has an SPF in it, which is awesome since most people tend to forget to put that on.
    The only con might be the price, I got it at Shoppers for around $15 I think, for a drugstore brand that's basically tinted moisturizer, it's a little pricey. But for me it's worth it, I'd buy it again!

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 5/15/2012 11:22:00 PM More reviews by tonk0022

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

    I've been searching for a new foundation ever since my favorite (L'Oreal Infallible) is no longer available in my city. I have very dry and very oily (combination) skin that looks really flakey in most foundations. Revlon Colorstay made my skin so dry it burned.
    I picked this up thinking it wouldn't be any good but also that it wouldn't hurt to try and I was seriously surprised. My face is sun-burnt and dry right now and I needed a very small amount to cover the redness. It also left no flakey patches. I love it. It's the perfect color for me as well.
    The only issue I have is the size...it's pretty small.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 2 of 5 on 5/14/2012 10:26:00 PM More reviews by chengbo

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    It looked flawless on my face and the coverage is great but cover girl always makes their products so pink. I got it in dune which is a good shade for me but my face looked so pink! and it left a gray mask on me, not a pretty look. Will not be buying this again, it was a waste of money.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 1 of 5 on 5/10/2012 12:55:00 AM More reviews by meganxloveee

    Age: 18 & Under Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

    I absolutely hate this foundation with a passion. The smell, some people like. I wouldn't mind it if it was a body spray or candle but for a foundation I find it appauling, especially since the product claims to be natural. (I figured it would be fragrance free due to it being a natural foundation.) I really wanted to love this foundation because I heard so many good things about it. Once I put the product on my face it didn't give much coverage at all and I generally just didn't like it from the point that I took the cap off the tube. That being said, I would not give this foundation any lippies if I could, but I do like that it is in a tube for sanitary reasons. If you can get past the smell ( I literally felt like I was painting perfume on my face. ) then kudos to you. Some people really do like the smell and I don't blame them by any means! I just don't like the smell for a foundation like I had said before. Also, it kind of burned when I put it on. Will not repurchase. I am left with a full tube of foundation that will go to waste.

    ++ I heard that the smell goes away the longer it is on.

    Hope I could help everyone!

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 4 of 5 on 5/6/2012 2:38:00 AM More reviews by princesssage

    Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

    Really good product. I love the natural/satin finish, medium coverage, and subtle glow this foundation gives. It's not great for oily skin, though, because of its sheen. It would be really good for dry skin, I think. A great drugstore find.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 3 of 5 on 5/5/2012 7:37:00 AM More reviews by elinabambi94

    Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Other Eyes: Blue

    I love this foundation. About 5 minutes after you apply it, once it's absorbed, it looks sooo nice and super natural. Even though it's a more light coverage foundation (I'd say light-to-medium coverage), it really does help to subdue any redness you have and even out your overall skin tone. I also don't know why anyone would have an issue with the scent. There's barely any smell at all! And it goes away after you apply it. Also, it does a pretty good job at containing the oil in your skin; I tend to get a little bit oily on my nose throughout the day when I wear foundation, and this makes my semi-oily skin a bit less noticeable.

    My only issue with this foundation is that it doesn't seem to last very long... Not more than about 5 hours. However, I don't wear primer, so I'm sure if you use a good primer, this foundation will last all day for you :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

    rated 4 of 5 on 5/4/2012 12:51:00 AM More reviews by Nursingstudent21

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

    This product is perfect if you are looking for light coverage! I have combination skin and hate cakey looking foundations... When I tried this it gavee a natural dewy look. It felt more like a tinted moisturizer than a foundation actually.... Overall I'd say its awesome for a natural feel/look but if your looking for more coverage this isn't for you

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 5/3/2012 4:32:00 PM More reviews by dbmiller

    Age: 30-35 Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

    I was very, very impressed with this product. I chose Sandstone because I am a NC25-30 and Buff Beige in Cover Girl foundations and it worked perfectly. It's yellow toned, which I need. The finish of this foundation reminds me of Maybelline Dream Liquid Mousse and Avon Magix, both very airbrushed looking. This lasted pretty well too. I love the SPF.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No