September 21, 2014 | 1805 users online

Primer/ Corrector - Smashbox - Photo Finish Light

rated 3.4(413 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.4
  • 54% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 12/26/2011 5:22:00 AM More reviews by ssoopphhi

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

A MUST HAVE PRODUCT FOR TEENS WITH OILY SKIN LOOKING TO CONTROL SHINE!

This primer is an amazing product available for a price that is expensive but worth it. Mine cost around $60 AU (I had to buy mine off eBay as its not available for purchase in AU), so im sure it costs a fraction of the price at retailing stores. I am a teen with very oil skin and quite a few pimples and I love this product. Its non greasy, it doesn't feel overly chemically, the texture is perfectly creamy and it leaves my skin feeling matte but refreshed/nourished, it truely does create the perfect canvas! Teamed with the perfect light weight, non pore clogging foundation this primer will truely shine and give you gorgeous radiant but non greasy skin! I will definitely be buying this product again and if your unsure you can pick up a sample for Sephora (at least I hear anyway)! Give this product a go, I promise you, you will adore it! xxx

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 12/18/2011 6:25:00 PM More reviews by LadyxBec

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral Hair: Red, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I quite like this - I have tried maybe 3-4 other primers, and this is by far my favourite so far. I did find at first that it did nothing for me, however a little trial and error and I worked out how to apply it correctly and we get along much better :)

The GOOD: leaves my skin feeling lovely and matt, doesn't break me out, the packaging is great, lasts a long time. It does prolong the life of my foundation, and make it go on more smoothly and easily.

The BAD: difficult to find & super expensive in Australia :(. Doesn't control oil as well as I'd like - by lunchtime my T-zone is oily and shiny.

Overall I would re-buy, as it's the best I've tried so far, but I am also looking around for something that better controls oil thoughout the day.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 12/3/2011 12:02:00 PM More reviews by jwannano

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have this product for about a year.. so I'm almost done with mine (I only use it as eye primer). I hate the packaging.. the cap doesn't help prevent air in. So, I have to take out the dry tip everytime before using the product... what a waste of primer. The product itself isn't the best, I prefer my urban decay primer potion. Overall, not going to repurchase this.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 11/20/2011 9:30:00 AM More reviews by judibean

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I am one of those unfortunate souls with large pores on my nose that need to be covered up every day. I bought this with high hopes, but alas, it was not meant to be. It does not cover up (or rather, fill in) the pores at all. When I use it and then put foundation on it, the foundation sinks into the pores, leaving that not-so-hot orange peel dimpled look. It works better on my cheeks, but that is not what I bought it for. I wish I had tried a sample first before buying a whole bottle. I will be trying next the Monistat chafing gel that everyone is raving about.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 11/12/2011 8:37:00 AM More reviews by redcloud75

Age: 36-43 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

I wanted to love this. I had heard great things about it from many friends who are happy with it, but this was dreadful for me. I found the texture to be just vile, like sticky velvet, and the product was difficult to distribute on my skin. My face did feel smooth and matte I have to admit but it felt as though -- and I guess I was -- wearing a mask that was floating on top of my skin. A very odd sensation. My skin did not feel comfortable and fresh but rather shellacked, which I guess is the point. Basically, if I were ever in a situation where my skin had to look absolutely flawless regardless of how creepy and uncomfortable it felt, I would endure this. On an average day in my life, however, why bother?

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/7/2011 6:10:00 PM More reviews by glitzypink

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

When I went in search of a primer I wanted it to give a smooth canvas for foundation, not feel heavy, control oil, and last all day. This primer does it all. It is expensive, which is it's only downfall... but for what it does, it's worth it. I have tried other smashbox primers and they didn't control oil, although they definitely give a smooth finish. I also have tried Urban Decay's primer "de-slick" I think it's called, and I was not impressed. The Smashbox Photo Finish Light primer is a definite must have for me. I'm so happy I found it because I'm doing my own makeup for my wedding coming up and this definitely gives me more confidence knowing my makeup will look great and last all night!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 9/20/2011 8:17:00 PM More reviews by Olom

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I was looking for an silicone-free primer at Sephora and a salesgirl recommended this (even though it's not silicone-free but it's supposedly good for oily skin) and I got a sample to try. I love the velvety texture it leaves on my face but I don't find that it keeps my foundation on my face any longer and my T-zone still gets really oily throughout the day.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/10/2011 2:38:00 PM More reviews by marciap81

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This primer is a MUST HAVE for combination oily skin. The ingredients are different from the regular clear primer that Smashbox has and I have found that this one does not break me out. It provides a matte finish after you apply your moisturizer and keeps makeup at bay throughout the day. The makeup doesn't seep into skin because the primer is like a barrier so makeup lasts longer. It does what it says and is great... expensive but it works!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/30/2011 12:02:00 AM More reviews by cuyugang0322

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I purchased this as an impulse buy on my way to the Sephora register. The $17 sample size was perfect to try and make a decent judgment. I have been using this product for 2 months and can confidently say that it has made a permanent step in my foundation routine. I still have plenty of product left over even though the sample size is just 0.5 fluid oz. I found that it only takes a small amount to cover the areas that I can be oily (forehead, nose, and chin).
My routine is as follows: proactiv repairing treatment on my chin and forehead, then proactiv oil-free moisturizer, then SMASHBOX Photo Finish Light Primer (oil-free). Then i stipple my Mac Pro longwear foundation over. The primer allows for a much smoother application of the foundation. It does aid in controlling my oilies as well. It provides a smooth canvas for my foundation.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/15/2011 12:27:00 AM More reviews by Lindz27

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

My skintype: OILY and Acne-prone.
Pros:
-DOESNT cause breakouts!
-CONTROLS oily skin
-a little goes a long way
-light and non-greasy feeling
Cons:
-PRICEY

This primer does wonders for my very oily acne prone skin. It's worth the money!

Is this review helpful? Yes No