July 29, 2014 | 2001 users online

Shampoo - LUSH - BIG



image 0image 1

rated 3.9(446 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.9
  • 71% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.2
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 4/10/2011 11:22:00 PM More reviews by jezebeljunk

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I really love Lush's BIG shampoo. I do feel that, similarly to any Lush product, if you like all natural products you are far more likely to like the texture and smell of this product than if you are into mainstream hair products.

This lovely shampoo has large sea salt chunks in it, which I feel are the main feature of the product. I find Big particularly useful if my hair hasn't been washed in 3-4 days - it completely removes any greasiness. I don't know that I would use it on a daily basis. However, once a week is just perfect for me. It keeps the product special that way and thus I'm always exicted about the texture of the product and the results it provides. It makes my hair very soft and silky.

I do feel that the scent of the product is pretty strong. They could go a bit lighter on the essential oils and fragrance. The packaging is a little annoying because shower water often accumulates in my tub of it as I only have shower floor space in which to set the tub as I am spooning the product into my hand. However, I'm not really sure in what other way this product could be packaged.

I feel quite strongly that if you aren't into natural products then you really shouldn't spend your money on Lush items because you are going to be disappointed. You gotta be into essential oils and non-traditional textures to appreciate a Lush shampoo. Big is like $30, only comes in one size, and they don't sample it. However, if you dig all natural and handmade products, then this shampoo is the bee's knees and I highly recommend trying it for its innovation, creative texture, and excellent results.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/10/2011 2:53:00 PM More reviews by lapetitefaon

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I'm obsessed with this! I never even considered that I could have hair that looks this good! I have baby fine, thin, long blond hair. Big has created a 100% increase in volume! The shampoo has a nice lather and smells delicious. I normally don't spend this much on shampoo but since a little bit goes a long way I don't mind at all! My hair feels a bit straw like initially but once its all dry SO soft and shiny! A couple of friends even asked if I got a new haircut! I use LUSH's retread shampoo on my ends (growing out my color treated hair so the ends are prone to split) its a great combination. Couldn't be happier with a shampoo and I use it daily! LOVE!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/26/2011 1:17:00 AM More reviews by irene82

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I wanted to wait a few weeks of using this product before I made an actual review, so I have a more accurate experience with this, rather than reviewing something that I only used once.

While I am really in love with BIG, I don't suggest to use it every single day. 3 times a week should be ok, and should go hand in hand with a light conditioner. I use Lush's Veganese or American Cream.

Also, use a small amount. If you put too much product, I guarantee your hair is going feel like it's being stripped out of all the nutrients. I think some people mistake "vegan" or "all natural" as something they can pile on, but like most things, too much of a good thing is bad.

I literally take about 1/4 teaspoon (if not less) of this product and gently "scrub" it into my scalp, creating a lather. Keep your hair moisturized with the running water. I think this is the "secret".. is that you need a LOT of water for this to work properly. Your hair will feel squeeky clean and fresh. I follow with conditioner I mentioned above.

I'm asian, and my hair is fine, naturally straight and lies pretty flat. I usually avoid conditioner because it does not help the flatness of my hair and find that towards the end of the day, my scalp gets oily and just really gross. But everytime I use Big, my hair feels "fluffy" and clean and like I just gave myself a blow out. AMAZING. My hair stays fairly "big" the whole day.

Overall, I recommend this product to anyone with oily/fine/limp hair. Remember to use in moderation. Don't put too much!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 3/20/2011 12:10:00 AM More reviews by poreblaster2000

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

This worked great at adding volume to my fine flat hair, but unfortunately it caused more problems than it solved. It is soooooooooo very very drying and my fine hair couldn't handle it - it got very dry, brittle, felt like straw and I started getting horrible split ends. It also dried my scalp out too and it itched like crazy. I'm not sure I want to spend this much money on something I can only use once in a while, so I'm back on the hunt for my HG shampoo.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/19/2011 11:27:00 PM More reviews by hummiemd

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

My impressions:

- smells like cleaning detergent to me (not awful, just not like your "usual" shampoo)

- interesting to use (get a quarter sized amount in your palm, spread over both hands, massage onto scalp of wet hair until salt is dissolved, wet hair again to start lather, lather rest of hair and rinse)

- made my waist length hair bouncier and lifted at the roots; helped define the wave in my hair

- shampoo gets hair squeaky clean, literally (it worried me at first)

- hair doesn't get very oily/gross as quickly so every other day or every third day hair washing is doable

- a little goes a long way

- expensive, but in same price bracket as other "high end" shampoos

- packaging isn't great for product since salt crystals develop around rim and may hinder screwing shut (just watch out for this and clean accordingly)

- a good conditioner needed for ends of hair if used too frequently

Overall, I would buy this again. You may or may not love this, but that goes for all things in life.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/11/2011 1:37:00 PM More reviews by livingnextdoor

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

Although it might seem not the best idea to wash your hair with salt, this shampoo actually is really cool.
The salt in it may work as a scrub - to get rid of the skin flakes on a scalp.
I don't know exactly why, but it prevents hair from falling and gives volume to my hair.

I'm not a great fan of the smell - compared to other Lush aromas, it's a bit too usual, I would say, too perfumey, may be. But I don't dislike it.

As for con's - it does dry out your hair, if used daily - you do need to use it in turns with some milder shampoos, and you do need a good conditioner.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/9/2011 9:48:00 AM More reviews by Godiva18

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse Eyes: Brown

BIG is a combination of sea salt leave in hair volumizers with Lush shampoo! Whoever would think to put salt rocks in a soap? Genius!
It took some time for me to learn to love this product. The first time I smelled it I was apprehensive (to me it smells like cleaning supplies!), the first time I lathered I got no "lather," and the first time I used it I had grains of salt in my hair!
However, happy to say, this product is innovative and works well. :) Just have to get used to it! The slightest amount of product goes a looong way (belief the Lush salesman when they tell you that!) -- even if you have long hair! Concentrate that small amount on your roots -- just like any shampoo really, this will take the grease off AND get you more volume; use the remaining lather on the rest of your hair. Wet this product underwater a few times, it is not going to wash it off your head, it's going to "activate it" to a good lather :)
My hair gets good lift and is literally "squeaky" when I am done. No other way to explain it ^-^ if you tried it you know what I mean!
The only CON -- this is slightly drying, but so are most "volumizing" shampoos, it's how they work. I recommend using a mild conditioner to your ends (NOT the roots) after shampooing
(as for buying it again -- Maybe should be an option ;). The only time someone has told me "your hair looks huge" without any other product or teasing)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/5/2011 3:39:00 AM More reviews by GeekMe

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I have long hair, almost to my hips, and i really wanted to bring back some of the poof i had when my hair was shorter.
This products make my hair feel squiky clean, and i dont want to use any hair products in it after i have used this.
So after i have washed my hair in Big, i let it air dry (no towel) for about 3 hours and it leave my hair curly and it give my hair a tiny lift up with the roots. Its great. :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/5/2011 1:45:00 AM More reviews by vintagepeople

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

This shampoo is awesome. My hair is very fine and very thin, so I picked up this and the Veganese conditioner to try and get more volume. Now it's in seriously great condition, so soft, volumized and manageable, albeit less shiny. I'm not the biggest fan of the smell but I love the texture...the big particles and the scrubbing is kind of fun for me, lol. I bought the tub in October and I still have 2/3 left, so even if it's pricey it lasts for a long time (you don't need much product). Will buy this again and again. :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/24/2011 2:03:00 PM More reviews by dollymixxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

I use this more during the summer, since I like to use it without a conditioner. I find if I use this with a conditioner, I get no volume since it just gets weighed down. This tub lasted me a year, but i don't use it for every shampoo. Once a week in the summer, and special occasions only in the summer. I find it lightens hair too, people always ask me if i've changed my hair when I use it, so if you're worried about fading I don't reccomend this! Also makes hair really shiny.

Is this review helpful? Yes No