October 22, 2014 | 1702 users online

Treatments (Face) - Estee Lauder - Idealist Even Skintone Illuminator



image 0

rated 3.0(126 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.0
  • 41% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.9
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 on 7/9/2011 2:06:00 PM More reviews by greeneyedannie

Age: 36-43 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I got a two-week sample of this and had amazing hopes for it.
Broke.me.out. BADLY.
Back to Idealist Pore Minimizer which for me is the perfect primer.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 7/6/2011 12:06:00 AM More reviews by prettylights

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I was really hoping this would work for me because I have fair skin prone to breakouts around 'that time' and the spots take FOREVER to fade from my skin. I have recently switched to all-natural skin care with great results, so I was a little worried to try this as the ingredients aren't all natural but I gave it a shot anyway. For the first few days I really liked it and it did give me a healthy glow. When I woke up the in the morning I thought my skin tone looked great, very even and healthy, and my pores did appear smaller. It worked well under makeup and gave a subtle brightening effect although the amount of shimmer was a bit alarming at first. However, after about a week I started getting more and more pimples and blocked pores, including an acne cyst on my cheek which I very rarely get. I figured it was just because I was camping the week before and not doing my regular skin care routine so I kept using it, but after about 2 weeks of waking up almost daily to a new blemish I had enough and stopped using it. It felt like a vicious cycle - the product was causing the very red marks from acne that I was trying to get rid of. The rest of my skin around the blemishes looked really even and radiant though, and I do think it helped fade the spots a bit more quickly than normal but I have stopped using it and gone back to my all-natural routine. Since I stopped, I haven't had any more breakouts and my pores have cleared up. I guess I'd say if you are not sensitive/prone to breakouts it should work great, but if you are sensitive it may cause blemishes.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 7/4/2011 4:09:00 AM More reviews by njl82

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I REALLY wanted to like this product. :( The EL lady told me I shouldn't be using my ANR twice a day (I did this as Idealist and other such serums keep breaking me out). So I decided to try this. I was assured it was lighter than the original Idealist and was less likely to break me out. Well I liked the way it felt on my skin, and how it made it look. Idealist would break me out within 2 day of use. This, I used for a month. But started getting more and more spots (which my sensitive skin is very prone to) and so many blackheads!! I've stopped using, and given it to my mom (who loves it btw). A week and half later (and a couple of face masks) my skin is starting to look less clogged. Think I will stick to my ANR for day use.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 7/2/2011 5:19:00 PM More reviews by chikorita23

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

Aug 07th 2011 update:

I bought this product "right" after I see the advertisment from EL website around late-May this year. The product sound too good to be true but I was looking for a good day serum at the point, so I give it a try.


After 2 months usage. (Mainly just day time!) I find the serum very drying and mediocre. It used to broke my face slightly, few people mentioned the same problem, but I figured its possible because the serum "dry-out" my skin. (Yes, when your skin dehyrated you can have acne problem too!)


In order to solve my dry-skin issue with this serum, I change my other skin care products to Lancome Blanc Expert day cream, (Also whitening product, but VERY Very hydrated!) Blanc Expert Toner and the facial wash for maxium hydration... this finally calm my skin and stop my acne issue with this serum! **But that end up making me purchase more and more products**


The biggest problem with the Idealist even skintone serum is... this dry mine... and my other friend's skin out! My hair-stylist also bought this product and she complain this dry her skin out horribly, she had to quit this product and wear a very rich cream in order to get her usual skin moisture back! (Genefique Nutric from Lancome if you're curious)



Although this serum suppose to function like a whitening product. But in my opinion, it act exactly like EL Idealism porn refine to me....the only differences is Idealist Even Skintone give a "Fake" shimmering glow on my skin!


I have very very fair skin, but with redness undertone and few small scars, this product help out none of the problems I have, it might be because I haven't been trying for long. But I truely doubt with continue use its going to make any differences! I also don't like the shimmering glowing effect right after I apply it. Afterall, a skin-care with redundant shimmering chemical or dyes won't benefit your skin at all, it can only be irritate to sensitive skin. Its not a foundation/concealer or teinted moisturizer. The shimmering effect also make me wonder is that the fake illuminator/brightening result they try to trick you?



I truely want to love this product, the EL counter ran out 30ml at the time, so I purchased a 50ml larger size. It cost 100$CND in Canada. That's even more expensive then EL's Advance night repair. (93$CND 50ml in Canada)


EL make the legendary wonderful advance night repair serum, (ANR from EL is amazing, I will probably use it for my entire life if they don't use cheap filter when they reformula it) but sadly this whitening serum upset my skin so much. There are still so much product left, I might finish it while the weather is still hot and humid. (Definitely a big NO no during cold-dryer season!)


But for now on, I won't repurchase and I will not recommand this product if you have dryer or acne prone skin!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 6/30/2011 9:42:00 AM More reviews by AlcoholicArtist

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

As other misfortunates have said, I really wanted to like this product but unfortunately it broke me out along with the night repair synchronized recovery complex.

The bottle was pretty and I liked the effect that the light reflecting particles had on my skin but sadly I have had to cease using it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/26/2011 3:39:00 PM More reviews by cosmetticjunki

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I was very torn in my decision to get this product or not. I had heard a lot of good things and some bad. It was also pricey at $46.50 for 1oz. I saw it had won some awards too so i decided to buy it. Its a pale yellow serum-gel that smells like sweet sweet citrus. I will say i can defiantly tell a difference in the evenness of my skin short term and long term. I have a scar/ deep wrinkle in my forehead. It has made a dramatic difference in a month and a half.and seems to have made that problem area a lot less noticeable. The best thing is shrinking my pores. I have huge pores and this is the best result from anything i have tried for that issue. One of the most important ingredients is silicone which fills them in temporarily but gives your face an amazing even look. My makeup goes on flawless because my skin is so soft and smooth. It also includes some antioxidants and whiting agents. There is so much its used for its worth the money. I think it is a miracle product and would recommend purchasing! A little goes a long way and i love the container, pumps are more sanitary. Try it out!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 6/24/2011 3:48:00 PM More reviews by brooke34

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I really wanted to like this product! I have great skin! I at best get 1 big nasty pimple a year, but never have break out issues. I am religious about moisturizing and have found a regime that works great for me! My only issue is uneven skin tone, so this product had me really excited! I bought the smaller bottle to start and listened to everything the sales associate had to say at the Dillards counter. She did her best to sell me the full skincare system but I just pointed to my face and said thanks but what I use now works great for me! I am in medical sales so I get trying to "up sell". I used as directed for 2 days and on the morning of the 3rd day I woke up to itchy, red, inflammed, dry patches and a full on break out of teenage proportions (I'm 34). I was mortified & pissed! I had a photo shoot coming up that week so a full on break out couldn't have been worse timing! I promptly returned the product only to deal with a very rude sales associate that insisted that there was no way I could have had an allergic reaction to Estee Lauder products because they were made from the highest quality ingredients (her words)! I smiled and pointed to my face and said well clearly I'm the exception so please refund me!
Unfortunately part of my experience was tainted by dealing with a rude sales associate. But the product itself was nicely packaged, smelled good and felt good going on. I hate that my skin didn't respond so nicely to it! I used Cetaphil RestoraDerm as a moisturizer for a week and it cleared everything up just in time to say cheese!
I work closely with a plastic surgeon that has a medi spa and she had previously suggested a retinol based compound that she will cater to me to soften and lighten the appearance of a surgical scar I have and said it would do double duty to even out my skin tone on my face as well. I think I'll be calling her to take advantage of that offer!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/23/2011 10:48:00 AM More reviews by feistyblonde

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I love this product! @saphiric you do need to moisturize over this product. I asked this when I went to the store and the consultant was very specific about moisturizing over the top of the Even Skintone Illiminator. The Cooling Eye Illuminator IS an eye moisturizer, but not the Even Skintone. I have issues with scars and some blotchiness. When I used this product, My skin was redder in the first few minutes but within a few minutes, everything EVENED out...it wasn't all to the lightest shade on my skin, but it wasn't red or dark like other parts of my skin. My foundation looked amazing. I use the DayWear Tinted Moisturizer and a little bit of Double Wear Mineral Rich Loose Powder and I'm all set. Fantastic! I will buy again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/21/2011 6:23:00 PM More reviews by Marysmacstyle

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I am very fair but I have a lot of red on my face across my cheeks and on the bridge of my nose (ppl always ask me if I'm sunburn!) so I usually pack on the foundation to cover it up. I've been using this about 3 wks and I cant believe the difference it has made in that redness!! Even the times where I would be red all day (mornings I took a showere: hot or cold didnt matter!) I get out the shower red put this and maybe an hour or 2 later it has calmed considerably! I tried the original Idealist and it was not for me, it contains silicone and I just dont prefer that. Also, I like that you can use this day and night unlike the original that is not recommended at night. I went from having to pack on the foundation to using a powder foundation! I'm so very very pleased!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 6/20/2011 5:04:00 PM More reviews by flauros

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I was very skeptical about the claims on this... I saw the ad in a magazine and was intrigued. I have now used this for 3 weeks and, I hate to say it, but I actually see a difference. My my scars are noticeably lighter. This hasn't stopped new breakouts but it's helped diminish the look of older ones on my chin and forehead. I haven't seen this do anything for redness however. I definitely give this two thumbs up though for healing my scars, I'll be buying the big bottle next time.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No