Estee Lauder Idealist Even Skintone Illuminator

3.0

130 reviews

42% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Dimethicone, Isododecane, Cyclopentasiloxane, Polysilicone-11, Butylene Glycol, Ascorbyl Glucoside, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Gentiana Lutea (Gentian) Root Extract, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Bran Extract, Hydrolyzed Rice Bran Extract, Curcuma Longa (Turmeric) Root Extract, Citrus Grandis (Grapefruit) Peel Extract, Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Extract, Cucumis Sativus (Cucumber) Fruit Extract, Scutellaria Baicalensis Root Extract, Morus Bombycis (Mulberry) Root Extract, Trametes Versicolor Extract, Hordeum Vulgare (Barley) Extract, Salicylic Acid, Caffeine, Cholesterol, Acetyl Glucosamine, Squalane, Yeast Extract, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seedcake, Isohexadecane, PEG-6, Dimethoxytolyl Propylresorcinol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Propylene Glycol Dicaprate, Polysorbate 20, Glycyrrhetinic Acid, Polysorbate 80, Sodium Hyaluronate, Sodium Sulfite, Sodium Metabisulfite, Acrylamide/Sodium Acryloyldimethyltaurate Copolymer, Ammonium Acryloyldimethyltaurate/VP Copolymer, Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol, Potassium Sorbate, Di-C12-18 Alkyl Dimonium Chloride, Fragrance, Tromethamine, Tin Oxide, Sodium Hydroxide, Disodium EDTA, BHT, Phenoxyethanol, Linalool, Limonene, Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Bismuth Oxychloride, Carmine


on 7/29/2011 4:31:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is actually a great serum. This serum is not to slather over the face. use it in moderation. every other day or even once a week! less is more with this product. use it over your troubled areas.



on 7/27/2011 7:00:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I had high hopes for this product. I have a few red splotches on my face . I am fair skinned with a pink undertone. I used this product as directed it made my face as slick as a oil slick and it broke me out. I will not buy this product again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/24/2011 10:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

If it sounds too good to be true...it probably is. This product promised so much but really they are empty promises.


I'll admit I only used about 4-5 weeks and maybe I need to use it much longer for the desired results, but what I see so far is nothing to brag about. When swatched on my hand, I saw beautiful glow it created. It makes your skin look luminous alright. For a very short time! It's quite temporary, in an hour or two there is no trace of glow left in my opinion. It reduces red skin a little bit. I used to have quite red skin, possibly rosacea I'm not sure. But my skin looked more irritated on my cheeks a year ago than it does now. The redness has calmed down. But I credit that more to my choices of skincare over this product. It helps a little bit but that's it, if you have severe redness this won't work wonders. My pores don't really shrink (which I don't really expect most products to do anyway...) and I can't say much for lines...overall it makes my skin feel smooth but not super hydrated like a moisturizer would provide. My acne scars weren't really reduced or lightened by using this. I did have quite an acne break out on my jaw, but I don't know if it was because of this or my tinted moisturizer.


It just proved to be an extra step added in my skincare. It made my skin feel nice but was it worth paying over $60 for 1 oz of an slightly mediocre product? ...Nah. It was a nice experience and the product does have very elegant and sleek packaging, but I will most likely not repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/9/2011 4:38:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

If I use this in the morning my face looks greasy so I've tended to use it in the evening instead (and I have normal/dry mature skin to begin with). It's OK and there was a smooth clearness to my skin when I first started using it but then I developed a spot right on my cheek...
I reckon it might work really well for someone with drier skin than mine, but I'm sticking to my Perfectionist CP serum which I find awesome.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I got a two-week sample of this and had amazing hopes for it.
Broke.me.out. BADLY.
Back to Idealist Pore Minimizer which for me is the perfect primer.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 7/6/2011 12:06:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I was really hoping this would work for me because I have fair skin prone to breakouts around 'that time' and the spots take FOREVER to fade from my skin. I have recently switched to all-natural skin care with great results, so I was a little worried to try this as the ingredients aren't all natural but I gave it a shot anyway. For the first few days I really liked it and it did give me a healthy glow. When I woke up the in the morning I thought my skin tone looked great, very even and healthy, and my pores did appear smaller. It worked well under makeup and gave a subtle brightening effect although the amount of shimmer was a bit alarming at first. However, after about a week I started getting more and more pimples and blocked pores, including an acne cyst on my cheek which I very rarely get. I figured it was just because I was camping the week before and not doing my regular skin care routine so I kept using it, but after about 2 weeks of waking up almost daily to a new blemish I had enough and stopped using it. It felt like a vicious cycle - the product was causing the very red marks from acne that I was trying to get rid of. The rest of my skin around the blemishes looked really even and radiant though, and I do think it helped fade the spots a bit more quickly than normal but I have stopped using it and gone back to my all-natural routine. Since I stopped, I haven't had any more breakouts and my pores have cleared up. I guess I'd say if you are not sensitive/prone to breakouts it should work great, but if you are sensitive it may cause blemishes.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 7/4/2011 4:09:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I REALLY wanted to like this product. :( The EL lady told me I shouldn't be using my ANR twice a day (I did this as Idealist and other such serums keep breaking me out). So I decided to try this. I was assured it was lighter than the original Idealist and was less likely to break me out. Well I liked the way it felt on my skin, and how it made it look. Idealist would break me out within 2 day of use. This, I used for a month. But started getting more and more spots (which my sensitive skin is very prone to) and so many blackheads!! I've stopped using, and given it to my mom (who loves it btw). A week and half later (and a couple of face masks) my skin is starting to look less clogged. Think I will stick to my ANR for day use.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/2/2011 5:19:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Aug 07th 2011 update:

I bought this product "right" after I see the advertisment from EL website around late-May this year. The product sound too good to be true but I was looking for a good day serum at the point, so I give it a try.


After 2 months usage. (Mainly just day time!) I find the serum very drying and mediocre. It used to broke my face slightly, few people mentioned the same problem, but I figured its possible because the serum "dry-out" my skin. (Yes, when your skin dehyrated you can have acne problem too!)


In order to solve my dry-skin issue with this serum, I change my other skin care products to Lancome Blanc Expert day cream, (Also whitening product, but VERY Very hydrated!) Blanc Expert Toner and the facial wash for maxium hydration... this finally calm my skin and stop my acne issue with this serum! **But that end up making me purchase more and more products**


The biggest problem with the Idealist even skintone serum is... this dry mine... and my other friend's skin out! My hair-stylist also bought this product and she complain this dry her skin out horribly, she had to quit this product and wear a very rich cream in order to get her usual skin moisture back! (Genefique Nutric from Lancome if you're curious)



Although this serum suppose to function like a whitening product. But in my opinion, it act exactly like EL Idealism porn refine to me....the only differences is Idealist Even Skintone give a "Fake" shimmering glow on my skin!


I have very very fair skin, but with redness undertone and few small scars, this product help out none of the problems I have, it might be because I haven't been trying for long. But I truely doubt with continue use its going to make any differences! I also don't like the shimmering glowing effect right after I apply it. Afterall, a skin-care with redundant shimmering chemical or dyes won't benefit your skin at all, it can only be irritate to sensitive skin. Its not a foundation/concealer or teinted moisturizer. The shimmering effect also make me wonder is that the fake illuminator/brightening result they try to trick you?



I truely want to love this product, the EL counter ran out 30ml at the time, so I purchased a 50ml larger size. It cost 100$CND in Canada. That's even more expensive then EL's Advance night repair. (93$CND 50ml in Canada)


EL make the legendary wonderful advance night repair serum, (ANR from EL is amazing, I will probably use it for my entire life if they don't use cheap filter when they reformula it) but sadly this whitening serum upset my skin so much. There are still so much product left, I might finish it while the weather is still hot and humid. (Definitely a big NO no during cold-dryer season!)


But for now on, I won't repurchase and I will not recommand this product if you have dryer or acne prone skin!


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

As other misfortunates have said, I really wanted to like this product but unfortunately it broke me out along with the night repair synchronized recovery complex.

The bottle was pretty and I liked the effect that the light reflecting particles had on my skin but sadly I have had to cease using it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I was very torn in my decision to get this product or not. I had heard a lot of good things and some bad. It was also pricey at $46.50 for 1oz. I saw it had won some awards too so i decided to buy it. Its a pale yellow serum-gel that smells like sweet sweet citrus. I will say i can defiantly tell a difference in the evenness of my skin short term and long term. I have a scar/ deep wrinkle in my forehead. It has made a dramatic difference in a month and a half.and seems to have made that problem area a lot less noticeable. The best thing is shrinking my pores. I have huge pores and this is the best result from anything i have tried for that issue. One of the most important ingredients is silicone which fills them in temporarily but gives your face an amazing even look. My makeup goes on flawless because my skin is so soft and smooth. It also includes some antioxidants and whiting agents. There is so much its used for its worth the money. I think it is a miracle product and would recommend purchasing! A little goes a long way and i love the container, pumps are more sanitary. Try it out!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Sudocrem
139 Reviews
Lemon Juice
399 Reviews
Calamine Lotion
61 Reviews
Back to Top