October 21, 2014 | 1798 users online

Highlighters - BeneFit Cosmetics - High Beam [DISCONTINUED]

rated 4.1(1348 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.1
  • 73% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.5
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
    Pin It

    This product has been discontinued

    rated 5 of 5 on 3/21/2006 9:51:00 PM More reviews by hargrave

    Age: 30-35 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

    I tried this as part of Realness of Concealness kit (a great way to try several different products) and LOVE it. I was very surprised! I have very dark circles under my eyes and a bit of this really helps.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 3/13/2006 5:42:00 PM More reviews by Yakkoooew

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

    This was the very first department store cosmetic item I purchased back in my senior year of high school, I believe-- the girls at the Benefit counter just about tackled me down and looking back, they really talked down to me because they could tell I had never purchased anything high-end before. I felt sort of attacked and left the counter, but they had used High Beam under my eyes and I remember it made my eyes glow, and the blue tones under my eyes seemed to disappear. So I went back to that counter and bought just the High Beam-- I think it was only 16 or 18 dollars back then. I just about used my little jar until it was all dried up and crusty, LOL! I used to use it with Dr. Feelgood... do they still make that???

    Anyway, I tried HB again during a recent Benefit visit (different counter), planning on purchasing just Dallas, but the MA insisted I try HB again. Now, I stopped using HB years ago because I am so afraid of having shiny/oily skin. But something told me I should try it again because my skin is in sooo much better condition than it used to be (thank you, Pro-Activ!!!). Now that my skin is more naturally shine-free than it used to be, and doesn't get congested like it used to (acne runs in my family so I took Accutane in high school), High Beam is GORGEOUS on my skin!!!! What a wonderful multi-purpose product.... I love the little shimmers in it (more shimmer than I remember, yay!!), and I can use it not only under my eyes now along with concealer (or MAC Studio Lights in Tender Glow to keep that whole pink thing going), but on my brow bones, cheekbones, even in between my eyes!!

    I am surprised that Benefit hasn't updated the packaging yet-- a little pump bottle would be nice (like the new MAC Glimmershimmers) because I can see the product getting dirty very quickly, and the little brush tends to get gloppy... they haven't even updated the actual writing or anything at all on the product, which is surprising for Benefit. But I guess if it ain't broke, don't fix it, right? :o)

    Anyway, I wouldn't really suggest this for very oily-skinned gals for anything other than an under-eye highlighter, but for born-again good skin gals like me or drier-skinned gals, it is highly recommended!!!!
    continued >>

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 2/18/2006 3:38:00 AM More reviews by oneofakind

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

    I really love this highlighter, and makes you look so pretty with just a few calculated dabs of the brush. BUT I have very pale, almost see-through skin so this looks extremely fake if I wear it during the day. As soon as the sun goes down though I head straight for the high beam and voila! I look like a princess.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 1/22/2006 9:29:00 PM More reviews by NicoleCL

    Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

    Just got this in the 'realness of concealness' kit. I'd never used a highlighter before.

    What the heck was I thinking? This stuff is incredible! I put a bit on my cheekbones and the inner corner of my eyes before going out for my birthday dinner (I'm 37). Two different waitresses told me I had beautiful skin. Best birthday present I've gotten lately. I'll definitely be buying a full-sized bottle of this!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 1/22/2006 6:50:00 PM More reviews by Linab5

    Age: Unknown Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

    I got this in the Realness of Concealness kit. Great little kit by the way! Oh My. I knew I would not care for this but, I was sooooo wrong. All highlighters either make me feel greasy and dirty or else show all possible imperfections like pores and wrinkles. This shocked me! I will for sure be buying this full size and probably always have it. It is my HG highlighter for sure! I have combo skin and this looks good day or night with my Mineral MU or with my liquid foundations. Amazing stuff! Benefit has been quite a surprise to me. I am loving this line!

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 3 of 5 on 1/21/2006 11:40:00 PM More reviews by GRREAL

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

    Ive just gotten this recently and honestly forget i have it already. I guess i have alot of highlighting products and didn't find this one that special.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 1/21/2006 1:58:00 PM More reviews by Sarmouse

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    I had never thought of buying this before because in my past experiences with highlighters, they do nothing! However when Benefit ran the promo with this free and free shipping I decided to get it along with Dallas. I am so glad I did! I really like this on my fair skin. I only use it on my cheekbones and then top with blush. It makes my skin have a dewy, glowy appearance with fine shimmer when it hits the light just right. I also think it makes my cheekbones look more defined. I think the packaging is pretty good although the little brush thing is kind of annoying at times but I think if I ever run out that I would purchase on its own.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 1/19/2006 12:38:00 AM More reviews by smirkums

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    I first got to use this as a mini from the Realness of Concealness kit.
    This is absolutely fabulous at giving me a gorgeous glow. It just takes three little dabs along my cheekbones, esp. on top of my bronzer and/or blush.
    It's very blendable, a little goes a long way (otherwise you'll look like Mr. Freeze from Batman), and the very light pink tint can suit even my yellow-based Asian skin.
    Once I run out of this mini, I'm going right to Sephora to purchase a full-sized bottle!

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 1/13/2006 11:37:00 PM More reviews by nixxx

    Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

    i love this!! it gives me a healthy dewy glow. i just put a dot or 2 on the round part of my cheek and rub it in

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 4 of 5 on 1/13/2006 12:43:00 AM More reviews by ali253

    Age: 25-29 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

    As far as unique products and packaging go, Benefit is one of my favorite brands. High Beam is a liquid highlighter that comes in a nail polish type bottle- kudos for the unique packaging. I think this is a great product, but just not for me. It's a bit too highlighty (opalescent) for my oily skin. I will save this for a night out, not for everyday use.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No