November 24, 2014 | 1834 users online

Mascara - Rimmel - Magnif'Eyes Eye Magnifier Eye Opening

rated 3.3(232 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.3
  • 53% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.5
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 on 5/23/2008 1:41:00 AM More reviews by angeldemonhick

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I've got two words for you ladies...SPIDER LASHES!!!!!!!!!!!! Yes this is what you will gain when you use this mascara. FOr those who don't know your lashes have seperated and clung together and they look really wierd, not full. I bought this mascara today at walmart because it was on sale and even came with some fancy eye liner. $5, well i don't like it I did the first coat and was like oh god my eye lashes are screaming ka kaw!...lol what the heck, went for a second coat and could not believe the klump that was on my lashes. ewwww. SO to some it up you will gain...
SPIDER LASHES and KLUMPS. I am not buying rimmel ever again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 5/15/2008 9:45:00 AM More reviews by rupertlilly

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I must be in the minority with this product as I've seen very good results using it. It's not clumpy and does give my lashes both lenght and volume. It holds a curl and makes it look like I'm wearing false lashes. It also doesn't flake off. I really like it!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 5/12/2008 3:10:00 PM More reviews by bunnybee

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I own (and have tried) a ton of mascaras, and I keep reaching for this one. Ever since they've been coming out with those spikey plastic-bristle applicators, I've been trying them in every single brand. Rimmel's definitely does not come out as clean as the Cover Girl or Max Factor ones, which is probably why they also came out with the Exact Definition version of the Eye Magnifier. This version applies thicker, which is perfect for my outer lashes (I prefer CG's Multplying on my inner lashes, which keeps them nicely defined and curled). The Rimmel uncurls my outer lashes a bit, but I like that because I think it makes them stand out more. You have to work quickly and carefully to brush through the goopy-ish forumula a few times to prevent clumps, but the results are well worth it. :) Keep a metal eyelash comb on hand! continued >>

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 5/11/2008 2:51:00 PM More reviews by PoshMCRchick

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

This is HORRIBLE! It makes my eyelashes clumpy and cakey, and doesn't even do anything for volume or length!! It also flakes horribly! Plus, it made it very difficult to curl (I curl before mascara, but this took the curl right out, and I tried to curl again, and it made my eyelashes look like bent boards!)
My eyelashes are normally on the long side, so I just use a touch of mascara to pump them up (I normally use Great Lash, but I wanted to experiment)
The one thing I like about it is the separate applicator brush.... After I apply a DIFFERNT mascara, I use it to comb out any little clumps... Then my lashes look so full, natural, and soft! It is a fairly good price... But the mascara is definitely not worth it!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 5/5/2008 4:01:00 AM More reviews by ElleChick

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

As an "eye magnifier" this mascara works pretty well, but i don't think it really "fans out" the lashes. It really does curl and lift the lashes like it says it does. It doesn't give too much volume, but does provide length and it didn't clump or flake for me. It kinda ran out fast, but it was cheap so it was worth the price.
Edit: Tried this stuff again, forgot what it was like, it give REALLY bad spider legs but i do stand by what i said about it providing good length.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 4/29/2008 10:13:00 PM More reviews by DaffodilFields

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

What a disappointment! this is clump city! The wand is your typical comb like brush that every company seems to adore these days (I personally loathe them and wish they'd stick to regular brush wands). Would not repurchase. I'll probably end up tossing it. $7 down the drain. Ugh.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/18/2008 7:06:00 AM More reviews by solyacska

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

This is real love.


Everytime I repurchase Eye Magnifier I thank heavens for creating a HG mascara for me. This one transforms my pathetic (sparse, colorless, stick straight) lashes into those porn star looking ones.
The formulation is thicker than usual but it doesn't clump at all - thanks to the gorgeous plastic wand. It is slim,
separates well and is super easy to work with. This mascara is the best for sculpting shapeless and boring lashes! I usually curl both before and after applying mascara and this is the first product that didn't glue together my lashes when I curled after application. It dries hard (but not stiff) and keeps the curl better than anything I've ever tried. It also gives amazing length and stays put all day (even through rain and showers).
My major gripe is that the bristles start to break off the wand after a while. Even with half the bristles it works better than any other mascara though, and at this price I don't mind repurchasing every week if I have to anyway.


Last summer I had surgery and when I was already lying on the operating table to be anesthetized, the surgeon came close peeking at my eyes and exclaimed 'Oh my god, look at those gorgeous lashes??!!'. This is how much Eye Magnifier works.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 4/15/2008 7:45:00 PM More reviews by PinkMargarita

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Ugh, very clumpy mascara. The brush did not work well at all. Def did not "magnify" my eyelashes at all. Will not repurchase

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 4/12/2008 10:29:00 PM More reviews by dysphoricmango

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I bought this in brown to use on my bottom lashes. It clumps a bit more than I'd like, but it's a pretty good mascara that lengthens your lashes. Not sure if I'd repurchase. I might if I can't find anything better.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 4/11/2008 6:54:00 PM More reviews by heartxcontusion

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

this is the worst mascara I have ever used! The brush is hard goops the mascara onto your eye. Also, it irritated the crap out my contact lens wearing eyes. It made me eyes so red and near the base of my lashes it felt like I was being stabbed by something everytime I wore this out. I was constantly picking at my lashes because my eyes were so irritated. Also it looked like crap because my it gave me no volume or length and I had that weird 5 eyelashes thing going on.

Is this review helpful? Yes No