October 25, 2014 | 1158 users online

Fragrances - Thierry Mugler - Alien



image 0image 1

rated 3.7(343 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.7
  • 62% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.1
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 6/12/2011 7:43:00 PM More reviews by dioraddict84

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Blue

This is a really unique scent! I love the scent, it is very sensual and sexy. Notes include white amber in the base, woodsy notes in the heart, and sunny Indian jasmine in the top.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/6/2011 11:31:00 PM More reviews by JulietCapulet

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

One day, I was perusing my local Sephora when I saw a beautiful amethyst-like bottle that looked like it should have been from a fantasy video game instead of a make-up store. Of course, my natural inclination was to smell it, lovely, and then test it on myself, even lovelier. The scent was a perfect blend of sensory delight. The name of this perfume? Alien. Between the bottle, scent, and name, it may as well have had my own name etched into the side (I am extremely interested in aliens and UFOs). To this day, it's still really quite unlike anything I have ever come across before. At times, it seems like the ethereal and majestic aliens in contactee books from the 50's, and yet, there is something a bit darker and mysterious. There is somewhat of a metallic and gasoline smell, perhaps a deadlier alien waiting in the walls of a spaceship...

Regardless, the combination is interesting, and Alien makes me feel more myself than any other fragrance. I get more compliments on this than anything else I have ever worn, and several times I've been asked by guys what I am wearing because they want to get it for it for their wives or girlfriends.

Alien is definitely a very lasting and strong fragrance. I would almost compare it to Poison, not that they smell alike, but they are similar in that they are both very edgy spicy florals.

Despite how pretty the bottle is, the only thing I don't like are the gold plastic bits on the standard bottles which can break easily if you have a refillable bottle (so be careful). Other than that, the stones are very durable and visually appealing.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/30/2011 9:25:00 PM More reviews by Babydolly01

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I have to admit that I really dislike Thierry Mugler's fragrances. I'm really into sophisticated smelling perfumes but somehow I just cannot like Thierry mugler's fragrances. But when I smelled alien I was definitely extremely shocked that FINALLY there was a scent that I could luv! And alien was it. It's such a nice sweet smelling perfume and very sophisticated. And has none of that nasty smelling armpit smell like all the other Thierry Mugler perfumes. This is one of my top perfumes that I love next to juicy couture the first fragrance and bvlgari omnia amethyst. Definitely smell before purchasing because many people tend to say it smells like old lady which is not the case with me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 5/17/2011 3:23:00 AM More reviews by Dimanta

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I would rate it 1.5 just because I used to like this perfume, however, everytime I used it, I had huge head aches. It's really strong perfume, not for me. I wish it would be lighter.Everytime someone wear it, I can tell from far away - its liek poison. My friends hate this perfume.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 5/15/2011 12:07:00 AM More reviews by BrandyAlexander21

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I wanted to love this perfume. I thought it would be "the one" for me. When I smelled it in the store it was like something clicked and I knew I had to buy it. I purchased the gift set that included the body wash and lotion along with a medium sized perfume. The next day I took a shower and used the body wash, then after I dried off the lotion, and finally a few sprays of the perfume on my pulse points. I read that layering scents like with the body wash and lotion will make the perfume last longer. This was not the case for me. Less than an hour later and I could barely smell it at all, even family members didn't notice I was wearing anything. I tried this on a few different days and it was the same thing. I was so sad to have to take it back, the smell is so different and delicious, not to mention the gorgeous bottle.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/11/2011 6:41:00 AM More reviews by MaisieF

Age: 25-29 Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I LOVE this perfume. I'm a huge fan of strong perfumes, previously wearing Dolce & Gabbana, Amarige, Euphoria, Elle...and so on! This is my go-to perfume when I can't decide which perfume to buy. It sticks in my clothes, hair and lasts all day. I also like that you can buy refillable bottles of this stuff. Awesome.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 5/7/2011 11:54:00 AM More reviews by tinytapa

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I can't believe it - but I LOVE this fragrance! Initially, I was very wary - I received it as a gift and, upon sniffing the bottle, totally recoiled. There was no way I was going to put this on! It was too strong, and a bit "old". But, I did and I have fallen in love - it does something wonderful with my body chemistry and comes out smelling nothing like it does in the bottle. On me, Alien is a conundrum - soft but bold, sweet but spicy, demure but sexy. It has delicate Jasmine notes, but is also woodsy (amber notes, I think?). Vanilla also comes through on me, with a soft powder scent. When I wear it, I feel feminine and vixen-y. It's very long-wearing, and clings nicely to my hair, scarves and clothes. I deducted one lippy because I do find it a bit strong, and I need to be very careful about applying it sparingly. Normally I'm a fruity-scent kind of girl, but this is a big exception. (By the way, I have the Eau de Parfum, not the Eau de Toilette.) I daresay it's my new signature scent!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 4/20/2011 8:09:00 PM More reviews by saban

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

It's smells like old lady on me. Way too nauseating for me to wear.

I tried a spritz on my wrist and figured I would tough it out to see the dry down only to be disappointed by a powdery old lady smell.

Not good.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/3/2011 4:20:00 AM More reviews by giggle7658

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

This is my favorite fragrance right now, usually fragrances give me a headache but I love this fragrance. If you like vanillas I would definatly go test it at the mall spritz some on and wear it around to see if you want to purchase. I just got a very small purse size bottle because I just refilled my Angel star. I love both fragrances but Alien is my favorite right now!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 4/1/2011 11:13:00 AM More reviews by greydovefeatherwing

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Dark, Cool Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I can't stand it. There's something in this perfume, I think its the "solar accord" this chemical synthesis that just KILLS me! This "solar accord" note appears in many "modern" fragrances, and I don't know what it is, but it intensely irritates me! I really think perfumers are synthesizing chemicals that target a specific segment of the population to annoy, while intensely attracting others, because I just have a very strong, visceral reaction to this, and I know a few other people who feel the same. I think that the test subjects who hate it must have a certain genetic makeup that others who love it don't. Perhaps the segment of the population who are alien/human hybrids love this scent ...It makes me very, very angry, irritable and unsettled when I smell this note.

UPDATE: I take it back Haha! I guess I really like this! I see how it could be overwhelming, but spritzed once on my arm it gave a really nice aura of unique modern femininity. There's something in here that reminds me of Serge Lutens Sarassins and its not just the jasmine...DUH! Its something a little dark, violent and disturbing hovering around the edges. I keep getting twinges of a slight headache wanting to start...and I only sprayed it once. I like it, but its something that has to be applied verrrrrrrrrrrrryyyyyyyy ....LIGHTLY! There's a shrilly screaming alien in there too.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No